We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, breezy cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lord's Cafe

The Lord's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Tanah Rata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quiet, breezy cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Tucked away upstairs, this unpretentious cafe serves some good scones and tea - a welcome beak after completing a morning walking the trails.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank stufnotstub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    107
    44
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for a snack”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Their food is pretty basic, and none of it was really amazing, but it was not bad either. The scones are OK, considering the types of baked goods you usually find in Malaysia. The best thing we tried here was probably the homemade hash brown, which was quite tasty. The portions are pretty small considering the price. They do offer a good selection of the local teas if you want to try them.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank laurayjosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The menu is not extensive, but what they have is tasty. We had scones in the afternoon and they are delicious. Later we got chicken pies to take home. They are small ( get more than one if you are making it your meal) but very inexpensive. Comfortable atmosphere upstairs and you have to look for the sign Lord's Cafe to know where to head back and up as it is on the second level. The staff was very kind and helpful ( we wanted to take away our chicken pies and they heated and packaged them).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lacking ambience, but a surprisingly decent scone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We've been traveling in Asia for 4 months or so now, and I've learned to have low expectations of cakes/pastries etc. because they just aren't the same here! But, I actually really liked the scone here (and the lemon earl grey tea). It was tasty with the butter and jam.

Can't say it was a lovely place to have tea. It's just ok...and what do they mean by 'self service'?? They have signs saying that all over the walls, but someone took our order and brought us tea...

Helpful?
Thank Puja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Service was good, but the food didn't live up to the hype. The jasmine tea did not taste like jasmine tea and had a weird taste. The cheesecake was fairy tasteless, had an unusual colour and a soft biscuit base (should be crispy, yet was limp).
Cream used on the scones was fake.
Crepes were nothing special, and partly tasteless.
However, the mango lassi was good.

Don't understand all the hype about it on tripadvisor... It really is nothing special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ookamismyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord's Cafe also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to The Lord's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing