We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English tea”

The Smokehouse Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Tanah Rata
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“English tea”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Ordered coffee, tea and scones. Food was fairly good but the environment scores better. Beautiful gardens and lovely English decor inside

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyce0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    126
    49
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here, including cream tea. Positives: beautiful spot with a lovely front garden in which you can eat and relax (a rare thing in Malaysia!); nice food. Negatives: very pricey for Malaysia - on a par with English prices; the cream was whipped not clotted! (I doubt you can get hold of the real stuff here.)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good scones and strawberry jam”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My friends and I went there for afternoon tea and we were not disappointed. The scones were one of the best we have eaten and we loved the strawberry jam; bought a few bottles home to have some more! The ambiance at the Smokehouse is excellent and we took lots of photos at the garden and hotel itself. Definitely a worthwhile place to visit while at Cameron Highlands.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kok_Thong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely English cottage”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

no regret that I believed a friend's recommendation, feel like staying in England which much cheaper, weather is nice and cool in December. Breakfast is excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saonoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced high tea!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice setting, and great tasting scones but our tea came out cold! A good stop on our walk but I think it is overpiced for what you get.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexytravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to The Smokehouse Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing