We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced high tea!”

The Smokehouse Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Tanah Rata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced high tea!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice setting, and great tasting scones but our tea came out cold! A good stop on our walk but I think it is overpiced for what you get.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexytravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    121
    49
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“For ambience and colonial setup ... ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice colonial, floral setup and ambience ... perfect for relaxation and high tea ... sanctuary for photographers ..

Menu items are much on the pricey end by local standards ... approximately rm$30 per pax for tea, scon and sandwiches.

Will be back to chill again ...

Helpful?
Thank ChristopherK226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“RM70++ steak with lots of FAT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Order 3 main steaks and mix grill. For the money we paid, don't expect to be fatty chunk most of it. Chewvy too.

House red wine is fantastic. Service is great.

Shame the food is still a big let down. All these years been here, still using German type sausages. We need some proper English sausages.

After meal, we all are very thirsty on the way home. Guess MSG is widely used.

Helpful?
Thank Daymondyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed two nights. Restaurant prices are very expensive. Cost us the same to stay here as to eat here. But no other choice. Hotel is lovely old world feel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Overpriced High Tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We make a trip here to take some photos and have high tea. In our opinion, it is over-priced but it is a good experience to sit outdoor and enjoyed the scones & tea in the cool air.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khuen555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to The Smokehouse Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing