We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest people great pancakes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yong Teng Cafe

Yong Teng Cafe
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Tanah Rata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nicest people great pancakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to come here, so one morning before our full day hike we decided to try out the banana pancakes.
It was very busy, this place is owned by a mute couple, so we wrote down on the paper by the menus and handed in our order. Despite it being run by only 2 people we didn't have to wait too long for our order. The pancake was so yummy!
I would definitely recommend getting a pancake here and the coffee. :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Smallgirl_bigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    31
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch-- standard curry mee at an incredibly reasonable price. As is mentioned in other reviews, the standout is the warm and friendly service offered by the couple who run the restaurant. This makes a trip here worth it in itself, and touches your heart as an authentic Malaysian hospitality experience. Will be returning in the morning to try their famous pancakes!

Helpful?
Thank LJNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pancake and nice owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a very good experience at Yong Teng Cafe. We had a variety of their foods and liked it all. The pancakes were very special. Had them 2 mornings. Owners are very nice and accommodating. Banana-Apple was my favourite (with honey). I will admit my kids are very picky eaters but all found plenty they could enjoy. They moved back to stall 4 at Majlis and are not at the bus station any more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nsar996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Banana and Apple Pancakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Breakfast for a good hike afterwards. Banana pancakes or apple pancakes, very tasty and not expensive! The people who sell the food are really friendly! Just point on the pictures what you want to have. If you like it sweet, go for the Kopi.O Coffee with milk, it's actually condensed sweet milk and it goes well with the sweet pancakes! Not far from Father's Guesthouse.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vallemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend a pancake breakfast at Yong Teng”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The banana pancakes were very good ...... couple serving were very warm and welcoming ... .majlis daerah please repair and maintain the stalls .... did not try anything else on the menu but hot drinks were lukewarm and too sweet should be piping hot for a cold morning

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kd19642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yong Teng Cafe also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Yong Teng Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing