We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“~ A relaxing stay ~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“~ A relaxing stay ~”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading all the reviews here for this hotel, i tried my luck by checking-in on 19 Dec for a night. The check-in/out processes were smooth. The deluxe room is located at the fifth floor of the new wing. The room was charged at RM290 inclusive of tax and breakfast. The wind was cool and strong as I opened the sliding door to enjoy the view from the balcony by sitting on the armchair in the room.

The room is spacious. TV, minibar, celling fan, writing desk, complimentary bottled water, tea/coffee-making facility, wardrobe, slippers, toiletries are provided. Standing shower, bathtub and toilet with washing basin in the spacious attached bathroom. I found a small stained mark on the comforter, some tiny dark spots on the curtain, a used straw below the bed and a spoilt side lamp next to the bed. Other than those, the rest were fine. Other facilities include mini library, playing rooms, convenience shop and laundry service at the ground floor.

The reasons i chose this hotel were for the quiet location and the nice greenery view. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as we went to Sg Palas Boh Tea plantation for the tea experience. It was a relaxing stay for me in this hotel.

Room Tip: ~ Get a room (higher floor) at new wing for the nice view ~
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xin-Fang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    184
    218
    69
    58
See reviews for
160
229
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had a short 3days/2nights stay during the busy end December period. Was given a family room (superior room, I think). Only had 3 single beds available in the room, which was no problem for my family, as there were only 3 of us. Heard many "horror stories" about the hotel, but I think some are quite exaggerated. The room was reasonably clean, no funny smells/odors. Had a nice view of the garden from the balcony. Outside the room door, we had a great view of the koi pond. Very relaxing to hear the waterfall sounds. Only bad encounter was with the toilet, which refused to flush. Good thing was, the maintenance guy responded quickly to our complaint and fixed the problem in a jiffy. The flush broke down again the next day, but again the maintenance guy managed to fix it in less than 5 mins. Overall, the customer service at the hotel can be considered good.

The location of the hotel was quite convenient, as it was a short 10 min walk from the Tanah Rata town, where there are many good places to eat - many choices of cuisine, such as asian, western, indian, steamboat, fusion etc.

The hotel was also a short drive away from Brinchang, where you can find the many markets, butterfly farms, strawberry farms, cactus farms etc.

Note: 1. there is no swimming pool or gym in the hotel; 2. we did not eat at the hotel restaurants as there were plenty of food outlets nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The only positive was that the laundry service after our hike was fast.

Negatives:
- Rooms smell. We changed rooms due to the smell of the first one.
- Shower was only luke warm, not pleasant. Only about a quarter of the shower head allowed water to come out.
- Sink faucet was the same, barely worked.
- Toilet became clogged.
- Walls were mouldy.
- Ceilings covered in Mould.
- Carpets stained.
- Bedding was stained. I didn't want to allow the bedding to touch my face as it was so gross.
- Food in restaurant had to be sent back twice as it was ice cold. Then 4 members of staff had a verbal argument in the restaurant because every patron there had complained about the service and the food.
- Reception staff had no idea about area attractions. We asked questions about one of the biggest tourist attractions (BOH plantation) but staff couldn't answer. It's the BIGGEST attraction there!
- Breakfast was very unpleasant. Food wasn't stocked, dead bugs on the floor, rude staff, coffee not fit for drinking.
- Website says there is a fitness center and squash court; there is neither of these things.
- Noises happening through the night.

The entire experience was so unpleasant, we left early. We didn't have the free (disgusting) breakfast but rather went into Tanah Rata. It was better to pay for breakfast than to eat here.

The hotel looks nice from the outside but they have not done any upkeep. They should either close half and refurbish the rest or mark the prices down for backpackers. The price they are charging is ridiculous given how terrible this hotel is. Do yourself a favour and DON'T STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of these rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Opinions_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Location is fantastic! We were here on wednesday, the day where the night market at brinchang is open. Only 5km away from here. As well, tanah rata town is just few meters down the road. Other than that, was ok. Should bring your tracksuit and shoes for breeze walking and jog in the morning. Very fresh. Looking forward to come back here in future ^.^

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s'pore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Generally an ok experience. Since we were driving we find the location good as we could drive out and visit food outlets and shops at Tanah Rata. Rooms are clean except for curtains which were mouldy.:( the scenery is wonderful. Breakfast was a disappointment. Food and drinks not replenish. Under staffed? Hope hotel can improve.:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It is a kind of simple hotel but clean. The rooms are large, as well as the bathrooms. The furniture and decor are dated but not dilapidated. The public areas are very spacious but with the furniture scattered at random. So, the result is not cosy.

The hotel is on the top of a steep hill, about 15 minute walking distance from the town. It is located in a residencial neibhourhood without shops, cafés or restaurants nearby. The rooms facing the back of the hotel have a wonderful view over the hills covered with forest.

The breakfast is very poor.

Room Tip: A room facing the back of the hotel because of the nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in a big room with 2 beds. At night, there was an power outage. It lasted almost 3 hours. Luckily, the staff brought us candles and matches. Even the street lights were off. We heard it was a major outage in the whole Cameroon Highlands. During the outage, there was no TV and light. We got to see the starry night very clearly.

There is a fish pond on the ground floor. You can buy some fish food to feed them. There is a laundry room where you can wash your own clothing.

Breakfast tasted ok.

The location is way off the main streets and markets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnthoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.6 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.3 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands

Property: Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Address: Jalan Gereja, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands is a 238 room low rise tudor style boutique hotel situated on a hill in the town of Tanah Rata. Surrounded by elegantly sculptured gardens reminiscent of the Old English countryside set in a lush tropical rainforest as background, it is the prefect place to refresh, relax and rejuvenate from the concrete jungle of most cities. The hotel blends tradition with modern comfort for discerning travelers with personalized services from friendly staff. LOCATION The Hotel is ideally located at 1800 meters above sea levels surrounded by lush tropical forest with a birds eye view of the panoramic town of Tanag Rata. It is a 8 minute stroll to the town of Tanah Rata. ACCESSIBILITY We are easily accessible via the North-South Highway (trough Tapah exit),the Simpang Pulai new access road and the Gua Musang new access road. Three and a half hours drive from Kuala Lumpur or just one and a half hours drive from Ipoh city. Taxis and coaches are also available from all major cities within Malaysia to Cameron Highlands. GUEST ROOMS Our 238 rooms and suites were designed with your comfort in mind with rooms and suites ranging from 320 square feet to 860 square feet. With its sleek interiors, we have managed to include in a full range of amenities which include IDD, mini bar,LCD TV with inhouse movies, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and attached private balcony. Our choice of rooms range from Superior (320 sq.Ft), deluxe (430 sq.Ft),to Deluxe Family Rooms. Our suites range from Superior Suites to Deluxe Suites and Presidential Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cameron Highlands
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing