We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Guesthouse!”
Review of Twin Pines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Twin Pines
Ranked #21 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2008

This place was quite basic but the shower was hot and the price was right. If you are looking for posh luxury, stay at a resort. But if you need a comfortable, inexpensive, nice place to sleep while you're visiting the Cameron Highlands, this is it. It's just down the road (2 minute walk) from the main strip, so it's quiet. The cafe serves basic and very cheap food (4 Ringgit for a tuna sandwich) and the service is outstanding. Suresh is very hard working and will do everything he can to help you. We got chilly the first night so he brought us extra blankets on the second night and it was very comfortable. He booked a tour and set up our transportation to another part of Malaysia. They do have internet access for 3 Ringgit per hour - the computer is quite slow and old but it did the job! Someone has planted lots of flowers and shrubs in the garden so it's a beautiful place to sit and have your coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sistergolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2005

We stayed in the twin room, en-suite, at Twin Pines in August 2005. The room had a very damp, musty smell and made our clothes smell too. The shower was hot, but dripped constantly. This meant we got soaking every time we went into the bathroom as there was standing water on the ground. Also, when you went to the toilet you got dripped on since the shower was in such close proximity. The windows were of the slat-variety, which opened with a lever and there was a mosquito net on the outside. Linen is provided, but be warned- the blankets may never have been washed!!! The walls of the room were very thin, so you could hear conversations in the next room without even trying to listen! There is a TV room with cable, but the TV makes everything green! Also, it gets invaded by mosquitoes in the evening. The little cafe serves food at reasonable prices, we had breakfast there and it was fine. The staff pick you up in minibus from the express bus station in Tanah Rata, which is handy. Twin Pines is in a good location, close to the town. There is also a little garden where you can sit. Overall, it was a clean and basic place. It was cheap, so if you can stand the mustiness you may survive. The en-suite twin room cost us RM 40 for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Strawberry_Abb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AntjesOasis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Harald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sofie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.1 mi away
K R S Pines
K R S Pines
#18 of 28 in Tanah Rata
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 28 in Tanah Rata
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Highlanders
The Highlanders
#14 of 28 in Tanah Rata
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
#7 of 28 in Tanah Rata
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
TJ Lodge
TJ Lodge
#12 of 28 in Tanah Rata
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 28 in Tanah Rata
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Pines

Address: 2 Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $17 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Twin Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Twin Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Pines Hotel Cameron Highlands
Twin Pines Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing