We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strawberry Park Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A little dated”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

You can not argue with the views here, set in the Cameron Highlands. It does feel like the resort is still stuck in the colonial times, with dated facilities and service.

Whilst the staff are friendly and helpful they are lacking in modern training as is the building lacking in modern facilities. All very nice but for the price in SE Asia needs to be better.....a little bit of resting upon the laurels of great views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    475
    239
    68
    44
See reviews for
367
357
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel rooms were large, restaurants and facilities were average, a bit dated and could use an upgrade. Service was poor and personnel were inattentive. Location was nice, away from the crowded town.
We enjoyed dinner at the Smokey Bear garden terrace restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xc_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Traveled with husband and 2 kids and booked 2 rooms. Resort is abit old. Actually, the rooms are quite big so a standard double bed room plus an extra bed should be sufficient for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. No adjoining rooms available, but we were lucky to get 2 rooms that were next to each other. View from balcony is very nice. Only a playground is available for kids but is still ok as at night we can lay on the wooden slides at the playground to glaze at the stars! Wonderful! Can never do that in Singapore. Resort is quite far from the main shopping area and you will need to take the resort shuttle service or taxi to town to visit weekends night market. Prices of day tour package at resorts are also slightly cheaper than the main tour agency from town. So check out the price and availability before signing up for the day tour packages. No free wifi and connection is bad. Very good place to disconnect from daily life and rejuvenation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LemonCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived at Strawberry park on the afternoon of 7 Dec 2012, we were hungry and we manage to get room service for some snack, the food were great!

The room were clean and cozy, a balcony with ha view of the mountain and watching sun raise. we really enjoy the cool weather and the peacefulness throughout the day. No wifi in the room even if you wish to pay for it. We feel it was a good arrangement as we are here to relax and forget about the gadgets.

The location is quite out of place and distant away from the busy town like Brinchang and Tanah Rata. We have to arrange for taxi to take us to where we want to go and it is not cheap. Couple with the holiday season, the jam was not very pleasant. But the steamboat dinner at Brinchang were great and a must to try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazyman1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Recently, in December 2012, my family and I stay in the hotel for 2 nights. When we checked in after lunch hour, there is no bathing and face towels, short of 1 pair of disposable slippers and 2 pillows. I called 4 times within the 4 hours period from the reception to housekeeping. The only answer I got from them was "coming". It was very frustrating and wasting of time on long waiting and unable to take a bath after the 10 hour journey from Singapore to Cameron Highlands. Later, I demanded to speak with the manager, he personally sent the request items to our room within 10 minutes time.

On the next day, there was no towels again and no replendish of tissue paper. In the evening, then we got the towels but no tissue paper. I asked one of the service staff at the corridor, he told me OK but never return with it. I have no choice but to go to the reception to ask for it. The hotel room and the reception area is quite a distant away.

The room is stuffy and stale and the pillows stink! There were pool of water at the stairways and the hotel is old and under maintenance. It is the lousiest hotel I ever stayed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chng758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the Strawberry park resort for 2 nights to look at the Cameron Highlands. We arrived late in the evening. When we entered the room it was really smelly. At first I thought I open a window. Later we saw it was the bed what was so dirty. It was yellow and brown. I ask for new ones. They brought it but the smell is really inside the matras and pillow.
The hotel is really overated. Much to expensive for what it is. It is NOT a 3 star resort at all. Poolwater is dirty, no wifi. One plus is that the staff is helpfull.
I would not recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: not at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KristienvanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Went there for a 2 nights stay with my gf on weekdays. Quiet place to relax and enjoy the hilltop scenery.
The room is very spacious, furnished with an old-looking cupboard and a dressing table but inside the room gets very cold even with all our windows closed.

Location is far away from the town areas. As it's high up in the mountains, definitely will need transport to travel up/down hill and getting around to places.

I like the breakfast buffet as there's a wide variety of food being offered. There's enough seats catered for everyone in the restaurant. We had a hearty meal before set off for the day.

Tv is not much utilized as only few channels are available and no clear reception.

WiFi is not free. :( Charge @ 10 rm/hr
Even Starbucks and other cafeterias in Tanah Rata can offer free WiFi access why can't we get WiFi access in our hotel room for free?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenhao84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
4.5 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
1.6 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
782 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Park Resort

Property: Strawberry Park Resort
Address: Lot 195 & 196, Jalan Strawberry Park, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strawberry Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STRAWBERRY PARK RESORT is located 6,000 feet above sea level in Cameron Highlands where the air is clear, cool and invigorating. The resort offers an extensive range of facilities, which includes 146 rooms, and suites, 6 Food & Beverage outlets and a variety of recreational facilities including an indoor swimming pool and a spa called Wild Orchidaceae Spa. It is a resort where holidays are forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Strawberry Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Park Hotel Cameron Highlands
Strawberry Park Cameron Highlands
Strawberry Park Resort Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing