We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorbike Hire in Cameron Highlands”

TJ Nur Travel and Tours
Ranked #2 of 8 Tours in Tanah Rata
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spend a beautiful day with two of TJs motorbikes in the Cameron Highlands. In general I would say this is a great thing to do - but DON'T HIRE AT TJ. This guy was just seeking a way to rip off our deposit and heavily insulted us, after a friendly complaint. Our problem was that we took the bikes around the whole region and he met us on a road that he did not want us to take. TJ allows customers to drive around only in a very limited area. Although no further damage was done to his bikes - that indeed were heavily damaged before (speedo and petrol meter broken) - he retained our deposit. After questioning why it should be forbidden to drive on an official road, he simply started insulting us. Comparing our experiences to his advertisement to his second business (TJ Lodge) where TJ advertises that customer satisfaction would be his highest aim makes me laugh. Especially as he mentions that this "customer satisfaction" would only apply to TJ Lodge. My conclusion: There are other places where you can hire better bikes in Tanah Rata - but don't go to TJ. He really does not deserve any customers.

8  Thank Julius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gunung brinchang"
in 6 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 3 reviews
"land rover"
in 6 reviews
"butterfly farm"
in 11 reviews
"half day tour"
in 17 reviews
"mossy forest"
in 20 reviews
"great tour"
in 5 reviews
"semi private tour"
in 2 reviews
"boh tea plantation"
in 5 reviews
"cameron highlands"
in 17 reviews
"ahmad"
in 12 reviews
"agencies"
in 4 reviews
"guide"
in 28 reviews
"stops"
in 4 reviews
"jeep"
in 3 reviews
"defender"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 69 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We rented a Scooter, to be free to see the attractions, we were interested in, and it was sure the best decision. You just can drive and stop anywhere. The distances are short and the Rent is a bargain: 5h cost 35 RM, whole Day 50 RM. 1 Liter Petrol 2 RM.
We rented a scooter from TJ's - the scoots are crap and in dangerous condition!!! Be Aware!!!
Right on the junction is another Rentalshop. The scoots looked much better but were all reserved

25  Thank Steffen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had four days in the Cameron highlands and wanted to cover all attractions, so decided to rent a motorbike. This was our best idea all trip! As we had the freedom to explore the highlands in our own time and at our own pace. Not only are the bikes cheap and easy to use (50baht for 10hours) but all the main sights are easily accessible from one major road. This was so much fun we did it again a second day. Hassle free, cheap, easy and friendly advice from great staff! Highly recommend.

6  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked a full day tour with TJ Nur from Tanah Rata. First part included visit to tea plantation (BOH), drive to Gunung Brinchang, walk through a mossy forest and visit at the butterfly garden. This part was very good and included short stop in the tea plantation, guided visit to the factory and free time at BOH tea estate for tea shopping and a cup of tea at their cafe. I posted reviews on other attractions - check them out and know what to expect. Overall, I rate the first half of the day 4 out of 5 and recommend. Then we had a mediocre lunch at Bunga Suria restaurant and continued sightseeing in other part of Cameron highlands. The second part included visit to bee farm and strawberry plantation (we found it very boring) and visit at the cottage of local tribesmen. This seems to be fun part - you shoot arrows from a bamboo stick aiming at a teddy bear. Your teacher is local Michael Jackson as he introduced himself. Then you can join "traditional" dance. The joke is that the house is right at the side of the main road through Cameron Highlands. Luckily at the end of this show we were taken to a small but picteresque waterfall.

It would be wise to finish our trip after the first part. Second half of the day was not worth our money. We also had a better guide in the morning. Overall opinion: mixed experiences.

4  Thank KrisD_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We're on a trip for seven months, We never had a terrible experience like this. We rented a motorbike for 5 hours, they told us about one street we couldn't take, you get a map but like all of us, we're in a strange country, so we made a mistake and went in the 'forbidden' street. Suddenly we were on the road that we couldn't go in, when we returned the boss Ahmad saw us. We apologized but he told us that we had to pay him our 50 RM. Afterwards, we brang the motorbike back. And the people were very rude. When we called Ahmad and told him that we didn't mean to break his rule, he told us that we had a very bad attitude and it's "his" country and a lot of other stuff. We never saw our money back. We hired a lot of motorbikes during our trip, and we never had an experience like this. We never get into problems with people, but Ahmad and his staff were VERY VERY unfriendly. they just want your money. SO TO EVERY TOURIST: DON'T HIRE A MOTORBIKE IN TJ TOURS AND DON'T GET A TOUR. The first thing you do wrong they will start yell at you and take all your money. We saw a lot of other tour operators who were very friendly. So you better check that out! He even mentioned to call the police. :) We're just backpacker students and wanted a little bit of loyalty.

22  Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ Nur Travel and Tours also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to TJ Nur Travel and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing