We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Indian restaurant in Tanah Rata”
Review of Kumar's

Kumar's
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Tanah Rata
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian restaurant in Tanah Rata”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been in Tanah Rata for about a week now and I have eaten at every Indian restaurant in town at least twice. I have eaten at Kumar's 9 times now (I just had dinner there), and it is definitely my favorite.

The staff crack me up. They are always smiling and joking. Sometimes the service is spotty, but if you wave one of them down they will quickly make up for it. They get distracted trying to bring in more customers walking by and sometimes forget about the customers already seated! However, I find it part of the quirky charm of this place.

The food has been consistently good. I am vegetarian, so I haven't tried any of the meat dishes, but the veggie dishes are consistently tasty. Portions are always generous, and the prices are very reasonable (I have never payed more than 7 RM, and have often left very full).

It is also a good spot to meet new friends. The place is consistently busy with other travelers, and seating is limited, so I have often been seated next to another solo person and sparked up a conversation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    117
    71
    32
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food, good entertainment”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ate there 2 times, both times food was fresh and tasty. Very reasonable prices. Entertaining staff, attentive and always a smile on their faces. Good lassis. Only suggestion: less sugar in the naan, was a bit too sweet for us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank a-million-miles-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Goog indian restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good indian food, fresh and tasty. Nice friendly staff.
Easy to find, on the main street of Tanah Rata city center.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Dirt cheap, delicious.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I don't know what went wrong with the previous reviewers, but we ate at Kumar's almost every day (yes, it was that good and cheap) and always got delicious food and friendly service at rock bottom prices. We also tried the Indian restaurant next door, but it just wasn't as good. Apparently the place can be hit and miss, but for us it always hit home! Kudos Kumar! Also, they serve beer, which not many of the restaurants do. Expensive beer or course, but beer nonetheless. The place is not for romance or special occasions, obviously, but for good food it's perfect.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosettaxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Naan is perfet else is just average”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been eating there like 5 times. Every time the naan bread was perfect but the rest of the dishes from disaster (claypot rice with chicken ) to average (butter chicken, or chicken korma). The place is not that clean but the staff is quite nice and if you think that something is wrong with your order you can tell them to replace it. You can sit either inside the smelly room or outside on the street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kumar's also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Kumar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing