We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feeling...”
Review of Planters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Planters Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling...”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good points of this place:

Easy parking-ample public parking close by.
Atm, shops and amenities are within short walking distance.
Toiletries were provided
Huge room and king size bed (we stayed at the premium room)
Modern decor

Negative points:
No coffee and tea facilities in our room (we were expecting them with the price we paid)
Very dissapointing breakfast ( wasnt expecting much but there were only fried mee hoon and kuey teow)
Stained bedsheets- yellow spots (mind you we paid for the premium room).
Grainy bed covers- there were sand like particles.

Overall, i might stay here again if there were discounts. I have such mixed feelings about this hotel but i would still recommend the premium room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
11
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Planter's Inn while on holiday in the Cameron Highlands. Upon check-in, the female receptionist was friendly and informative. We entered our room briefly that afternoon to drop off our baggage and quickly left to explore the town for what was left of that day. When we returned to the hotel around 11pm, we were in for a bit of a shock. The room was ice cold in the evening (no heater available) and tiny bugs (looked like large ants with wings) had infested the room. We cleaned up the room and climbed into bed. After laying in bed for about 5 minutes, my skin felt itchy. I turned on the lights and inspected the bedsheets. The sheets had all sorts of (seemingly new and not set-in) stains on them, and the feeling of grime was present. After inspection, we were fairly sure these sheets had not been washed in quite some time. We complained to the front desk and asked the staff member working to replace the sheets with clean ones. He did so grudgingly, but made sure to let us know how bothersome we were. He neglected to also change the pillow cases, and when I asked him to do so, he sighed audibly and stomped out of the room, later returning with new pillowcases. We would not recommend staying at this hotel - if even the dirty bedsheets were an oversight, the room itself was overpriced and night staff was unbearably rude.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room first - check that the sheets have been cleaned, are free of bed bugs and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starseed35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went there with my husband.overall,we thought that the room concept was just nice.what made us frustrated most is there is no telephone and wireless inside room as stated in the website.what makes thing worst is,we believed that the bedsheet and pillows has been a long time not changed.in contrast,we did satisfied with the location which was near by foodstall and groceries.in fact,it was close to the bus station.the rest,we thought that the hotel management could improve from time to time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shah-carmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

They need to improve as most other places need to in Cameron Highlands, we booked eight Mentigi guesthouse but could not reach because of the flooded road so booked planters hotel as a last minute resort. The building from outside appeared nice and clean. They charged us 180 MYR per night for a queen dulexe.

Location is excellent. Bed is the main problem when you sleep on the bed and it just dips in, showing sings of age. Rooms and bed sheets not vey clean. No ironing board, no heating in the rooms. And almost no room service...... I would not recommend this was by far the worst hotel I stayed in my trip. Breakfast is a joke 2 pcs of bread with tea that's it. For an egg pay extra 4 MYR ,,,, and it goes on.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fahad-Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi Pakistan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We happened to find this hotel while returning from the tour of Rose Centre since the tour operator's shop was located near by.

The hotel is strategically placed in the commercial hub of Tanah Rata town. Intercity Bus Station is just in front of the hotel and there are plenty of eateries, fast food joints, convenient stores and travel booths around the hotel.

We were looking for a place to eat before returning to our hotel 'Century Pines Resort' and we stopped to check the restaurant located on the ground floor of The Planters. It was a well placed restaurant and the Day's Menu looked interesting as it was offering Indian Food. I ordered Kashmiri Murgh whereas my husband ordered some meat dish. The owner of the restaurant was a Kashmiri Pakistani married to a South Indian. The owner himself took our order and introduced himself and informed us that the food is cooked by him and his wife.

Our order was served within 20 minutes by a local girl, accompanied with steamped rice, chapati, dal, salad and pickles. The servings were very large and enough for 4 persons.We devoured the food which was cooked to perfection.

After we finished our meal, we were informed by the owner that the restaurant is part of the hotel and he offered to show us premises. It had a tiny reception next door, elevator was available to go up, the rooms were o.k. but the hotel does not quality for 'star' rating. It may be considered as a first class hotel. The charges on the brochure were high comparing to the standard.

Once returned from there, we checked the hoatel rates on the Booking.Com which were 35% lesser than the ones mentioned on the brochure.

Since we did not stay there, we could not give our first hand experince about the accommodation but two thimbs up for the restaurant.

Would definitely eat there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NasreenAshrafGhori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here in mid-August for one night. We were able to call in advance and book a room with two twin beds and on-suite bathroom. The lady on the phone was very pleasant and helpful. She was the same person who greeted us at reception when we arrived, and she was quite nice.
We unloaded our bag and went out for dinner without inspecting the room.
Upon our return, we noticed that both beds were very dirty - it appeared as if the sheets had not been changed in weeks. One bed actually had sheets that felt grimey, and both were visually dirty (top sheets and bottom). The rooms also smelled musty.
We requested new sheets from the night time receptionist and he seemed irritated that he had to come up and change the sheets.
Neither of us slept well because we felt disgusting in the beds.
It was very expensive here, and I am sure there are other accomidations that are nicer at a much more resonable price. The room was also very small - not worth 250MYR
Do NOT stay here!

This being said, the location was decent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Empidonax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A few week before i go cameron highland, i called up a few times to the hotel and got hang up before i asked all my questions and not friendly tones too. Well, because this is the only new hotel i can find in cameron, i decided to walk in and book when i arrived.

The hotel is really new, and thats about all i can tell for the good thing. the bathroom is really well maintained but not the bedroom. so i decided to upgrade to premium which was kept slightly better and cleaner.

The hotel is owned by indian and manage by his wife, which i gt to know why the hotel was so not customer friendly. She was there talkig out loud on the phone and neglect my presence. The hotel manager was away and i have to wait at the counter. I was placed in a room where the whole floor is under constructions and when we walked in the room, the workers are still in the bathroom repairing... so my whole family has to move again to my upgraded room.

The only satisfying thing is the housekeeper who greets us and always smiling.

Later on that day, i found a few more new hotels, so i strongly not recommend staying here until u have no choice.

Some other newer hotels such as iris house resort and de ferns.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryTheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.5 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.7 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Arundina Cameron Highlands
Arundina Cameron Highlands
#4 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Hotel

Property: Planters Hotel
Address: 44-A Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Planters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Tanah Rata town.Soft lighting, chic furnishing and classical decor proves an ambiance for relaxation. The hotel is also ideal choice for business travelers or leisure guests.Spacious and comfortable rooms with modern facilities to make your highlands holiday memorable. The hotel has 39 rooms with s combination of 5 categories namely the Premier,Deluxe, Twin, Triple and Family, each catering to the individual needs of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Planters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing