We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star at its best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Planters Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 star at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

the price on weekend is higher as compared to the weekday. we book through booking.com which gives much cheaper price as compared to the hotel website..(difference of RM100 or about USD30).
On the hotel itself, I should say, you should expect it as a 3 star hotel. Carpeted, satellite plasma tv, hot water, enough space for you to move around and best of all is that it near to shops and place of attraction. On top of that, they have a very pleasant receptionist, free wifi and the hotel is newly refurbished.
As a conclusion, I would rate this hotel better than Equatorial Hotel Cameron Highland that is far more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faiz_conan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
11
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We checked in 18 december 2011 and when we were going to bed we realised that the bed was not. T proprly made.The sheets were dirty and at the lower part of the bed was dirt. In 2 beds.
As we complained to the receptionist (who was acting like a pro all along) we got new room to view. In total we checked 4 rooms and all 4 of them had dirty sheets.
In 2 of the rooms the "towel-mat" outside the bathrom was clearly used before and dirty.
At least one of the bathrooms were not cleaned properly.

I can stand alot from my hotels, I stay at cheap ones if I have to but when the beds are not clean, there's my limit!
We left the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lajke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

The room is quite musty, there were hairs on the pillow and cobwebs on the ceiling. Not what you would expect for the price of 150RM. TV in room but not much use if you speak only English.
I would recommend viewing before you pay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is more expensive on the weekend but good value on a weekday. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable with en suite bathrooms. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have a window. Prices are much higher at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Little pricey hotel, good location center of town. Premier room was spacious with big and clean bathroom. Some noise from the main street. Queen deluxe wasn't so good. Musty smell with some damp problems.
No refrigerator, no room service and no breakfast. I give 2.5 star.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwaig, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

PRO:
- Average price (180 RM for King Size bed)
- Large Room
- Excellent location
- Newly renovated / flat TV on room

CON:
- Sheets had not been changed, everything full of hair, we were not the only ones (other guests also complained), we had to change the sheets by ourselves.
- In general the room (and the building) had a dirty shining.
- No breakfast because cook was on holiday!??!
- Bathroom was poorly constructed and you easily flood everything during a regular shower.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

the hotel location is good but it's too noisy and having a sleepless night as our room is facing to the main street... it's hardly to get any wifi connection in the room as the network signal is very poor... hotel room is very clean and staff are friendly with a pleasant smile... ample public parking space is available around the hotel and it's free... defintely would come back to this hotel in the future as foods are easily available within a walking distance...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.5 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.6 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Hotel

Property: Planters Hotel
Address: 44-A Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Planters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Tanah Rata town.Soft lighting, chic furnishing and classical decor proves an ambiance for relaxation. The hotel is also ideal choice for business travelers or leisure guests.Spacious and comfortable rooms with modern facilities to make your highlands holiday memorable. The hotel has 39 rooms with s combination of 5 categories namely the Premier,Deluxe, Twin, Triple and Family, each catering to the individual needs of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Planters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing