We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$30
View deal
Hotels.com
$30
View deal
Agoda.com
$25
View deal
Booking.com$28
Travelocity$30
Trip.com$33
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
491
159
21
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
491
159
21
9
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 685 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms and most important of all - really friendly and helpful staff! Jay gave us great recommendations and helped us with everything we asked for and even more! Our stay at Gerard’s place did our time in Tanah Rata perfect. Would recommend everyone to stay here and I am definitely staying here next time my roads will cross Cameron Higlands!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Sannasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to the Cameron Highlands as backpackers. We recommend to take a taxi from Tanah Rata center with big luggage as you need to walk up a hill for 10 minutes.
We have booked one room with shared bath in a 3 room apartment. It was clean and everything important was there. Our sleeping room was big enough, the bed was comfy. The shared living room and the terrace invited for a sit in with a very nice view to green hills and jungle.
We experienced a very warm and nice service from the owner of Gerard’s place, as she helped us to get our stuff to a laundry so we didn’t need to care about it at all. She was also very friendly in taking us with her to Tanah Rata, recommending us few hikes and restaurants and picked us up for the transfer to the bus station on our way back to Kuala Lumpur.

To see all the best of caneron highlands we recommend to book a taxi for 25ringit/hour at the bus station as it takes you wherever you want for a reasonable price. We visited the St. Palas tea Plantage and the Cameron Highlands Plantage. The St. Palas was the one with a better view but both places offered very nice views. Unfortunately we didn’t have the time to see the sunrise as it was also rainy during our visit but I can imagine that if there’s sun it would be an awesome experience for everyone especially photographers.

We also recommend the barracks cafe next to Gerard’s Place, try out their bowl which is a very nice and delicious meal offered in a bread bowl.

Long story short we had a very nice stay at Gerard’s Place and can recommend it to all backpackers. It is a good starting point for all tours with very friendly and helpful owners.

Cheers
Andrej & Theresa

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank andrejs_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

I can’t say enough great things about Gerard’s Place, where some coworkers and I stayed this month while in the Highlands for work.

The rooms themselves were super comfortable and very clean, plus our apartment had a nice spacious living area, kitchen and a balcony with a gorgeous view of the misty forest.

But the real reason to visit here is the hospitality of the owners. Jay, one half of the couple who runs the guesthouse, was an incredible person to know while staying in the area. Full of both passion for the Highlands and great advice on where to go and what to do, she was so accommodating and a real delight.

A real affordable gem. Thank you to Jay and family!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank Taylor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

We stayed at Gerard's Place for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The private room is comfortable and has everything you need; they basically feel like little house-shares, so you have a living room and amazing balcony view. Location is also great, it's a 10 minute walk from Tanah Rata, so nearby but far enough to get some peace and quiet. As everyone else has said, Jay is an absolutely lovely person - friendly, useful, and really does go the extra mile (she not only offered to both pick us up and drop us off at the bus station, but had brought us some veggie samosas for the trip!). Honestly don't think there's a better deal in Cameron Highlands, particularly at this kind of price

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Gerard's place for a two night stay in CH and we loved it. The room itself has everything you need and the communal area is very homely (between two private rooms sharing) and the view into the rainforest is amazing (pictured here)! The location is lovely as it is peaceful yet within walking distance to the main road (5-10 mins) of all the restaurants and cafes. We took torch but the walk has street lighting so was never an absolute necessity. We felt very safe.
We were given a recommendation for dinner and it was also excellent!
Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank fmblack21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews