We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De' La Ferns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De' La Ferns
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We paid quite a lot for a quad room in this hotel, and I didn't think it was worth the money.

It's next to the main road, and a busy restaurant. The hotel did not have aircon so we had to have the windows opened, and it was so noisy with cars/buses revving up the slope; the chattering of restaurant workers and the clanging of dishes from the busy restaurant added to the noise pollution. We didn't have a good rest at all.

The toilet stained, and don't be fooled by the photo on the hotel website. The toilet in our quad room did not come with a separate shower area and a bathtub. The bathtub was where you take your shower!

The breakfast was low quality stuff. It's not in Tanah Rata town, so there was nothing nearby except the restaurant next door.

The only good things were the beds were quite comfy (although the pillows smelled), and the room was thickly carpeted.

Next time I think I would choose to stay in an apartment instead.

Room Tip: Choose one that does not face the main road. It's probably less noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZarasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    269
    124
    40
    17
See reviews for
191
168
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

i wasn't exactly sure what to expect before arriving at the hotel. There were several mixed reviews on a few online sites i checked... When I arrived and checked into the Junior Suite, all my worries were laid to rest. The room was large, clean - had nice balconies oversee-ing some fantastic cameron highlands scenery.

The little negatives - The bed was ok - a little hard for my liking and the soft was a little old. I also stopped by the hotel reception to ask for a map of the region and was a little shocked that the hotel charges RM4 for their maps. Folks heading to cameron highlands can easily find helpful maps online - should print and bring them along.

There were loads of parking - and the area looks pretty safe.


We took a lunch at the shops beside the hotel - I wouldn't recommend them. If you have a car .. do either drive up to Tanah Rata or Berinchang - where options are more abundant

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlust0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.

I couldnt get proper rest in this hotel, sadly the bed is catered for people liking hard surfaces. PillowS are your standard soft n hard type. Put it together with the rock hard bed, you have a dormitary bed like experience. I complained to the acting manager mr mohan who is kind enough to upgrade me but the bed n pillows to my discovery are the same across the board, even in a suite...!

Moving on... Some forummers here mentioned bout main road, just to add that all deluxe rooms are bound to get some sound produced by formula 1 drivers regardless of age and profession being the kerb of the road demands each driver to step on the throttle at full speed. This little entertainment ends around 1 am ish...

The rooms itself arent sound proof. So when kids go running along the corridor, u will hear it clearly. Or even your neighbor clOses the door, you'd know its dinner time cus you wont miss it! ^^

Strategically the hotel is also facing a direct hit frOm the nearby mosque speakers, so unless u can sleep like a pig, you'd know its time for a little pee stop in the wee hours^*^

Food wise, the hotel produces a decent fare. I'd rate it above average to which i hope they'd keep the standard.

Cleanliness could be improved with some flies and mosquito dead at my interjection of hunting them down before i sleep. Aint pest control a basic requirement for hotel management? Errrrr...

On summary, this is a hotel i'd avoid for i am a firm believer of money value must be on equiv par to the hotel experience. For 300 rm a night, this hotel is way off the charging mark. I'd rate it between the 100 to 135 region. But again, one mans fruit is anothers poison.

This hotel is quite strategic in terms of location. I'd recommend to heavy sleepers n maybe old people who sleeps well on hard surfaces.

I wont recommend to light sleepers on the hunt for a good nights sleep

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

De La ferns was a breath of fresh air, arrived there on for a one night leisure stay on the 14th, staff were very polite and kind..... Special mention to the reservation staff Mr. Mohan who was kind enough to inform the travelling time tips....... Reached early and the room was not ready but the staff put in their effort to get my room by 1.30pm..... Room was quite small but elegant.... Pillows were a let down though..... Should suggest a fan to be in the room as daytime can get a bit humid but still cool...... Right next door was a souvenir and steamboat shop with reasonable prices.... Hotel food price was ok as well........ Breakfast a bit limited..... Overall a very satisfying stay at a very satisfying hotel..... Thumbs up......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Booked Family Suite for 4 adults and 1 baby through Asia Travel. Room has 2 single beds and a lounge area in the living room and 1 double bed in the room; partitioned with a sliding door to provide more privacy. Baby cot was also given at no additional charge. Checking-in process was fast. I had called earlier before the trip to request for a room away from the road after reading reviews about the noise. The hotel reception was very helpful and reserved Room 210 (at the corner) for us which is half facing main road and balcony facing the country side. Room is very clean and nice interior. Buffet breakfast has a good spread of local and western food. We were seated outdoor while enjoying breakfast in the cooling morning. Location of the hotel is also very good, not in town area and only 5 mins drive away. For those who are not driving, there is a (halal) restaurant next door serving steamboat and western food. Steamboat is slightly more expensive than in Tanah Rata town. I personally prefer the restaurants in Tanah Rata town as there's more choices.

This hotel is highly recommended for family and couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We staying 2 nights in this hotel & we feel so comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good with varieties of western & local foods. The stuff are very friendly too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

No complaint abt the hotel, it's ideally located in between town center of Brihjang and Tanah Rata, minus the crowds. We put up two nites at the family suite, overall experience is satisfying.

P/S: the souvenir store right next to the hotel is insanely overpriced and the cashier's attitude is so awful that I won't even bother to go back even if they give their merchandise for free.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stannloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.7 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.6 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De' La Ferns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De' La Ferns

Property: Hotel De' La Ferns
Address: Batu 39, Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De' La Ferns 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De' La Ferns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De' La Ferns Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing