We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Great Value for Money”
Review of Hotel De' La Ferns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De' La Ferns
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Great Value for Money”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is one of the most beautiful Hotel in the Cameron Highlands. The beauty comes from its location and the english style of construction. Once you enter the hotel you get a feeling of a typicsl english architechture.

The hotel is located on the main road but behind it is deep valley. One can get a beautiful view of the lush green valley from the balcony of the rooms. In the morning once the sun comes up it an amazing feeling with a little dew in the air.

The service and staff are too good. The staff is very helpful and they go out of the way to help you. I am strict vegeteraian and have a liking for India Cuisine. I requested the Restaurant Manager to prepare some good vegetarian indian dish which was not there in the menu. He ready agreed and served a good meal. I am really thankful to him.

The restaurant serves good malaysian food along with continental food. The central market / night market is not too far from the hotel.

The hotel has also tie up with a local tour operator who would take you around cameron highlands for a minimal cost.

You can also hire Taxi, which can be called for on demand and thus you need not venture out to look for one.

Right next to the hotel is a small restaurant which serves one of the best strawberry waffles I ever had.

The rooms are nice and beautiful and one could get a comfortable sleep. The hotel is also peacful and quiet. Thus giving you an even better expeience. The rooms are equipped with all modern amenities and its neat and clean also.

On the whole this a "Beautiful Hotel and a Great Value for Money"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarun1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    272
    125
    40
    17
See reviews for
194
170
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stay there for a nite in this hotel, a little disappointed because looking thru review, this hotel sounds great. Our room facing road side level 2, noisy traffic even in the midnight. Musty smells in the rooms even pillows. Breakfast spread not bad. Price a bit high.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We reach the hotel at about 2.30pm and the check in was fast and prompt. The room is clean & quite spacious. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

Food quality was okay and the food portion is quite large. Food selection during the breakfast buffet is quite wide

The only downside for my stay is that the room is a bit noisy especially during weekends because our room face the main road. Overall, it is a good experience staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Request room that doest not face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK2726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

After researching hotels in the Tanah Rata vicinity and trying to 'read between the lines' of the bewildering variations on hotel standards, we took a chance on Hotel de la Ferns and were delighted with our decision. The staff were welcoming and very attentive, the rooms really clean with comfortable beds, tea (the beautiful BOH brand) and coffee supplied. Breakfast had plenty of choices .. Asian and European .... and kept 'topped up'. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings, so really can't comment on other meals. The Manager Mohan Marappan (an extremely pleasant man) who always seemed to be 'on hand' , swiftly dealt with any problem or questions you had. Good value and definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were only moderately satisfied with this hotel, which is conveniently located between the golf course and Tanah Rata, within walking distance of both. The (Indian) owners seem to run it exclusively as a money-making venture and not as a service. The welcome letter in rooms begins ‘Dear valued guest’ and talks of ‘excellent facilities with warm hospitality’ ( but there was no information about what facilities are available apart from a rather tatty room service menu), and ‘personalised services...... where friendliness makes the difference’. During our two-night stay in a comfortable and clean triple room, we saw none of this warmth, except in the restaurant. There were no smiles from staff at the entrance and reception, no simple words of welcome, and no personal conversation initiated by staff - they seemed to be imitating their boss who walked around in rather an intimidating manner. If we asked a question, staff gave a quick functional answer and that was that. The whole staff, including the boss, need to be sent on a basic course in how to communicate effectively with hotel guests. In the restaurant, however, the atmosphere became far less chilly when the staff learned that it was my birthday, and they did go to a lot of trouble to decorate our dinner table (even with balloons!) and make us feel very welcome. We found all the food in the restaurant to be satisfactory or good, although breakfasts were fairly basic and juices of pretty poor quality – considering the prices we paid, which were higher than those for a 4-star hotel in KL. As for the room, although it was comfortable and we had a lovely view from a side window, there was very poor sound-proofing so we had to put up with considerable noise from traffic. Keeping the windows open meant a lot of noise; shutting them reduced the noise somewhat but resulted in lack of air as there is no air-conditioning. Overall, I would hesitate to call this a ‘boutique hotel’; it is more like a rather expensive mid-range tourist hotel, which potentially could be much better than it is at the moment. And to say (as they do in their brochure) that it is ‘an exquisitely designed English Tudor structure offering an exotic ambience’ would be something of a shock to King Henry VIII!

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not looking onto the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DesRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Great hotel for the price. Stayed with 2 year old. Clean and nice rooms, friendly staff, nice restaurant and view. After living in Malaysia for a year I have to say one of the best hotels for the price! It's close to the main road, but i didn't find this to be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desileika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

While researching hotels in Cameron Highlands, I was frustrated with the options available. A lot of reviews said the hotels were dirty. I ended up paying more than I wanted to spend and staying at Hotel de la Fern and it was worth every penny. The rooms are very nice and clean. The staff were very friendly with a nice welcoming lobby. Breakfast was pretty good with Asian and Western options. We had a car so it was easy for us to get around, but it is out of town if you are walking. All round a nice hotel in the Cameron Highlands.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guelph_Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.7 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.6 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#4 of 12 in Tanah Rata
142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De' La Ferns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De' La Ferns

Property: Hotel De' La Ferns
Address: Batu 39, Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De' La Ferns 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De' La Ferns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De' La Ferns Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing