We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent cheap base for trekking”
Review of K R S Pines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
K R S Pines
Ranked #16 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Decent cheap base for trekking”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

You really can't complain about this place. The decor is a little tired and the facilities are very basic, but the rooms are spotlessly clean and the water's hot - just what you need if you're up here trekking for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    61
    69
    21
    9
See reviews for
12
65
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darjeeling
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

5-10 mins walk from bus station in a quiet location back from main road - shared clean large bathroom & double room was 40 ringet compared to others next door charging 70 - 80 ringet...reasonbly sized clean double room... the singles are very small though it did have an ensuite bathroom to make up for it.......I stayed on ground floor & received free wifi in the room, think it was G2?
Friendly staff & the young chap there sourced me an almost brand new & very safe geared scooter to tour the Highlands..... everybody advised you cant hire a scooter at Cameron Islands, its the best & only way to see the island - got great pictures exploring the tea fields & photographing tea workers & had the freedom of the Highlands & not stuck on a bus tour!
Thanks guys for making Cameron Highlands a truly memorable experience!

Room Tip: Ground floor = free wifi Obviously book in advance & the scooter as I believe there is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qiarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The advertisement on internet is totally misleading. We paid rm180 for a family room which has basically nothing.. Not even a TV set or aircondition. It gets pretty hot at night and we cant open the windows as there were a lot of mozzies. The beds were so hard and blankets worn out. It is also not safe as anyone could easily open our doors through the nako windows from outside. On my way out, i chatted with 2 other patrons. They were like us, misled by the online ad. We noticed that majority who stayed there are tourists. So please guys, there are many more better places within the same price range you could go. The Starbuck claimed below the hotel is perhaps a mile away. A total rip off

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zaleha2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

KRS Pines has a nice location a little of the main road of Tanah Rata. The place is quiet and clean. The shared bathrooms have warm water and toilet paper is provided. The rooms, however, are boxy and not very charming. Still a good choice at this price!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a room next to the restaurant ... Very noisy at all times of day , and you can definitely hear everything from other rooms even where the owners stay . Very annoying at night when staff sing , and carry on when everyones trying to sleep as it says no noise past 10? Everyones allowed a good time , but it just gets a bit annoying after a while. Not to mention their dogs start barking at early hours of the morning and no one tries to stop them or give them attention for them to stop very very loud for little dogs. Rooms are clean, but damp. Cold as well just because o the weather . Clean bathrooms as well. Recommend if they would do something about the noise !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Merpcicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights for 40 ringitt a night and out of the few places we looked at it was the cleanest and best for the money. We had read the reviews and thought that the noise wouldn't be a problem and it would just be people over reacting but it really does dampen your stay. The walls are so thin you can hear everything. The staff sit outside shouting and laughing and singing with no regard for guests. Also they have dogs in cages that constantly bark all night. It sounds like it wouldn't be a problem and we thought it would be fine but the noise kept us up all night every night. We were happy to leave to get a good nights sleep. The room also seemed a little damp and when we left some of our clothes felt damp. The room however was clean and the girl on reception really helpful. She gave us free wifi. Also the shared bathrooms are totally spotless and the showers are good and nice and hot. The location is a little further out than some but it's not a problem. It only takes five minutes or less to walk to the shops and resteraunts. Overall it's good value for money but the noise issue needs to be dealt with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Plus points:
- Clean facility
- Wifi very fast, only RM5 per stay
- Near to town, 5-minute walk

Cons points:
- Very thin room walls, can hear voices around. Dogs bark at night
- Limited parking space
- No room kettle, no room TV. They have a TV room per floor however (this hotel is a 2-storey hotel)

Overall is average, may consider for next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azhanmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.1 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cameronian Inn
Cameronian Inn
#8 of 27 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CH Travellers Inn
CH Travellers Inn
#7 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 20 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K R S Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K R S Pines

Property: K R S Pines
Address: No 7 Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — K R S Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your K R S Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krs Pines Hotel Cameron Highlands
K R S Pines Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing