We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Switched”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Tokyo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Switched”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

I booked into Daniel's Lodge over the Chinese new year and discovered I had been moved to Kang's Hotel on the main road.
The hotel was clean with shared bathrooms and squat toilets.
40 ringgits for a double.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KuriTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    58
    32
    45
See reviews for
5
72
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

For RM80-100/night, we couldn't ask for more! the lodge is great for backpackers! *sorry, i forgot the exact price as my friends and I stayed there few months ago.LOL*

Me and my friends (total 4 persons) chose to stay at this lodge based on the reviews that we read in this website (TripAdvisor).

At first, we were a bit skeptical about the cleanliness as some people reviewed about the bed bug. In fact, the room was very clean and neat!
We booked single room with attached bathroom; consisting of one queen sized bed and one bunk bed. Daniel's lodge didn't provide any bathroom amenities but towels (extra towels were provided for free).

Other facilities: free wireless Internet, DVDs

The location is very strategic as restaurants, convenience store, banks are within walking distance. The staffs are very friendly and helpful.

In addition, we loved the fact that we got the opportunity to meet and hang out with fellow travellers/backpackers from other countries, such as Germany, Korea, England, Australia, and so on.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kintaherawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuching
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

In early November, i called the hotel to book a family room for one night. Then my family suggested to stay at Cameron Highland for 2 nights as the journey from Kuala Lumpur to the highland takes about 4 hours. Furthermore the road is winding. Thus, the following day, i called and booked for another night. The reply from the hotel management was "OK". However, when we reached there, we only had booking for one night. It happened that the second day was Friday and all the rooms(hotels and lodges) were fully booked. The staff asked me with whom did i booked the room. Well, how do i know? She did not mention her name as what most other hotel receptionist do. So, the staff said i was wrong for two reasons: First, i was unable to mention the receptionist's name and , second i did not pay the deposit. On the first place, i was not told to pay for the deposit ! I was angry and so did the staff. We argued for some time. I was angry not because i didn't get the booking for the second night. It was because the staff did not apologise and insisted that i , the customer was wrong! Throughout my two-day visit there, the staff did not apologise and pulled her long face.So, if your plan to visit Cameroon highlands especially over weekends, you must reconfirm your booking or else you may have ended up sleeping in your car or ....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiekuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Centrally situated in Tanah Rata, this lodge is friendly and welcoming. Accommodation is basic but clean - despite previous reviews about bedbugs, we did not encounter any problems. The shared amenities are well kept and the veranda and jungle bar are excellent places to relax. The staff are ever helpful and organised our tours and onward travel.

If you are on a budget, and are visiting the Cameron Highlands, we would strongly recommend Kang's as the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHappyChappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Pro:we booked its assocated hotel [so-called ],pick-up service & one day -tour l via internet , the reply was prompt .
The pick-up service was good from Penang & its van was new .
The local guide & the staffs were friendly ,helpful & courteous .
Con ; the hotel room was '' haunted'' with nasty smell. Dirty bed blankets with some bloody spots [dead mosquitoes] .I think that they do not change the new ones for each checkin .
The windows of room faced the street , that you may wake by the the traffic noise caused by motorbikes & lorries at mid- night .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

As previous reviews have stated, Kangs Lodge (Daniel's Lodge) has 2 premises, The lodge and the hotel. After reading reviews I booked a double room for 2 nights (weeks previous) for Daniels Lodge as the reviews for the hotel were not great. We arrived to be told that that the lodge was full and our booking had been moved to the hotel (oh no) and as it was the weekend in the highlands we were stuck (everything else was booked).
Being in the middle of town (Tana Rata) is the ONLY good thing about this hotel. When we entered the room the first thing that caught my eye was the mould... it was on the roof and a good amount covering the fabric bed head. Stains on the sheets and bed cover (some blood spots, no doubt from previous people being bitten as we would find out). The bed was scary and I am NO stranger to budget accommodation!! We chose to sleep on top of the covers with our towels underneath. Next morning we awoke to find Bed Bugs EVERYWHERE... in our bedding, on our pillows and on the bed head.

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in and we spent the last week of our trip covered in more than 100 bites with more that 20 on my face!!!!

The Lodge might be ok.... but if you get shifted to the Hotel.. REFUSE!!!
STAY AWAY, BEWARE!!! DIRTY, INFESTED, DANK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andie_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

While the state of the accomodation at Daniel's Lodge isnt the best but I would certainly consider it a great place to meet other travellers who are doing the same route in South East Asia.

If your not the fussiest of traveller you can look past the showers for example which were littered with bugs and the toilet facilities which smelt like they hadnt been cleaned in sometime. There is a choice of private rooms as well as the the 13 bed dorm which are upstairs and very cheap which did for the trick for me and my friend. (bare in mind you have to walk downstairs to use the bathroom/toilet)

The main plus for this place which i'm sure many have heard about is the evening donfire (and free bbq if your lucky - ask the owner at reception and he'll do it for you i'm sure!) they organise. Here you get a chance to drink and eat with other travellers at Daniels Lodge which was very useful for me as we ended up travelling with a few other people we met here into Thailand a few weeks later. The staff at Daniels Lodge were even happy for us to go to a nearby shop and buy out own spirits and mixers for cheap to bring back or the bonfire which was nice considering they have a bar inside the accomodation which i thought we would have been oblidged to use.

Daniels Lodge also organise a range of trips and tours of Cameron Highlands, i myself did a one day trek and visited a hill tribe village as well which is pretty much all there is to do in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchell916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.3 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)

Property: Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)
Address: No.9, Lorong Perdah, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Daniel's Lodge" or currently also known as Kang Travellers Lodge, is one of the pioneer for budget and backpackers accommodation establishment here in Cameron Highlands since 1995. Under the new management, the lodge now offers 16 rooms and 2 section of dormitory accommodation. Daniel's Lodge is the perfect choice for the budget traveller. Looking for budget hotel in Cameron Highlands? Look no more as this is a highly recommended accommodation to stay by Lonely Planet. "This is a popular laid-back party hostel in scruffy area just off the main road, there's a TV room, late bar, pool table and garden and some saggy sofas out the front." We are sure you would like the warmth and personal touch of the place. Unlike the star-rated hotels in Cameron Highlands, we may not be posh-posh, but we do provide the basic necessity of room and board. Perfect for the budget travelers as well as the many backpackers who want to see the world on a shoestring budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel`s Lodge) Hotel Tanah Rata
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge) Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing