We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good cheap place for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good cheap place for a couple of nights”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

- Stayed here for a couple of days in two different rooms. Both rooms were ok: small, clean enough, beds reasonably comfi, very thin walls, no power plugs.
- Shared bathrooms are working just fine: most of the time hot water, enough facilities, cleaned daily, place to do and hang your laundry.
- Staff is helpful and friendly.
- Good location, near to the local market with some cheap breakfast options and fresh fruit/veggies. The bus stop is about 5 min away, close to hiking trails. But then Tanah Rata is small, so most hostels/hotels will be located well.
- Lots of communal sitting areas and a small garden.

If you are not expecting big luxeries, but just looking for a cheap, fair place to stay this place will do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window. They are located at the side of the building and give out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    58
    32
    45
See reviews for
5
72
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

It's difficult to find fault with this place, given the price. We paid rm50 for a double room with ensuite. Basic and fairly 'rustic', but clean. Rooms are damp, but this is just a fact of being in the highlands and not specific to this place. Good comfy outdoor common area under a roof, plus bar with a very small selection but acceptable prices (rm7 for a small Tiger). Would happily stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IlyaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The good things:

The guy in the reception area was hillarious. Funny, helpful, impossible not to like.
The jungle bar is such a great concept, with a fire going each night to heat up the backpackers. (If you are staying here and you are not a backpacker, you are doing it wrong.)

The ugly:

The rooms. We opted for the "luxury" option of a double with attached bathroom. If you look up unsexy in the dictionary, you will find a picture of our room. Mildew, fungus, mold, it had it all. The smell was... interesting, and stuck to our clothes for a good week after we left.

All in all, its a good place to stay if you are travelling on a budget, the people there are super nice, but the rooms are anything but. Would I recommend it to others? Absolutely not. Would I go there again? Uhm, yeah. I would, actually!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlend1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Idan is the most funny and helpful staff i have met during my stay in Malaysia. The jungle bar with a fire thats lit every evening is so cosy! Lots of good areas for reading, chilling og surfing (the internet). Hot showers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjartan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The double room we stayed in had a ceiling that didn't actually fit on, so we slept on a damp bed. It wasn't a great start.

However the reception guy was very helpful at explaining how to get to certain places and it was very cheap, plus it had its own bar.

The wifi only worked in the public sitting area but was very strong.

We liked the showers they were very powerful and very strong, and be careful they got rediculously hot!

You get what you pay for and for a cheap stay then sure, it's a good lodge.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The worst of the place:

- Bedbugs. We changed rooms (private/double bed) three times because of them, but all 3 rooms had bedbugs. Rooms 101, 103 and 105.

- Toxic bug spray: as they have this huge problem with bedbugs, they spray every day. After the first night I had serious problems breathing, irritation in nose and throat, and headache.

- Mold on some room ceilings. As I am allergic to mold (but they said there was no bedbugs in that room, so I considered it could be worth it), second morning I had everything that I already mentioned, plus fever, and lungs infection.

- No plugs in most of the rooms.

- Wifi really slow, and only available at the common areas.

- Toilet paper runs out in the evening (there is one single large roll), and they don't replace it until the next morning after 8am.

- Incorrect price. They found us when we just jumped off the minivan that drove us to Tanah Rata, and gave us a flyer with prices. When we arrived there, prices were 35 ringgit for a double, instead of 28 as listed on the flyer.

- Not very clean.

- Snake in the shower. Ok, it only happened once, but its common to see snakes in the area, and the hostel is at a hill side, and wide open, with no walls between the rooms and toilets and the outside, so any animal can come in easily.

The best of the place:

- Seems to be the cheapest place in the area.

- The common area is nice (but the chairs are made with fabric, so they look old, dirty and disgusting, but are comfortable)

- It's a good place to learn more about bedbugs: how they look like, how they behave, which is their favourite colour, what do they like to dress on sundays.

- We didn't hear any complains from people sleeping in the dorms. But you have to consider two things:

Bedbug bites can be confused with mosquito bites.

The stuff spray every day, and that make the bedbugs be less active. We spend two nights in room 105 -so it was recently sprayed only the first night- and second night we saw more bedbugs, they were more active, and we had more bites.

So... after being sick because of the toxic sprays and the mold, and not being able to sleep for four days because of the bedbugs (that ruined my visit to cameron highlands) I'll recommend you to prepare your visit to the area in advance to make it as short as possible and don't spend a fortune, and look for a clean place with no bedbugs where you can get a good rest.

Seems that a lot of accommodations in there have bedbugs. You can do a research (google: tanah rata bedbugs) and find reviews that list which places you should avoid. Some of the most expensive places have bedbugs too!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very good locality, though the rooms wasn't all that great it is fair enough for spending couple of days.. lot of restaurants around, jungle bar was really cool.. You can meet lot of people in the evening with just a beer in hand .. really cool place to spend your evenings... They arranged for a day trip to strawberry farm, short trek, etc.. Even if you are not able to get your bookings done, you can very well walk few steps and reach the main street.. 100s of tour agents will be waiting to help you..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhu_shankar_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.3 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
124 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)

Property: Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)
Address: No.9, Lorong Perdah, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Daniel's Lodge" or currently also known as Kang Travellers Lodge, is one of the pioneer for budget and backpackers accommodation establishment here in Cameron Highlands since 1995. Under the new management, the lodge now offers 16 rooms and 2 section of dormitory accommodation. Daniel's Lodge is the perfect choice for the budget traveller. Looking for budget hotel in Cameron Highlands? Look no more as this is a highly recommended accommodation to stay by Lonely Planet. "This is a popular laid-back party hostel in scruffy area just off the main road, there's a TV room, late bar, pool table and garden and some saggy sofas out the front." We are sure you would like the warmth and personal touch of the place. Unlike the star-rated hotels in Cameron Highlands, we may not be posh-posh, but we do provide the basic necessity of room and board. Perfect for the budget travelers as well as the many backpackers who want to see the world on a shoestring budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel`s Lodge) Hotel Tanah Rata
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge) Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing