We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby & dirty”
Review of Villa Dahlia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tanah Rata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Dahlia
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Shabby & dirty”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 nights stay here in a 1 bedroom apartment during our trip to Cameron Highlands. They did not have any unit available so we were offered a 2 bedroom unit instead. The apartment was very tired and it shows everywhere you looked. The house keeping was sub standard so you will find the apartment dirty, musky & to an extent, mouldy... the carpets has not been replaced nor has it been cleaned properly. None of the apartments come with a balcony and if you ended up with a unit that faces the main road, rest assured that you would not have much sleep either. I would not recommend this place nor would I stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
JB
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went there with my family in December 2012. The apartment looks very old and the sofa is really worn-out, looks like a 100 years-old furniture. Bad TV reception, no remote control for the TV and can’t even use the manual button. The spiral staircase was very narrow and creaky, definitely not suitable for older people or people with arthritis/knee problems. No place to hang your clothes and no mirror in the rooms and bathrooms. Some rooms did not even have a cupboard. Molds and holes on the ceiling - the inhalation of the mold or spores could lead to health problems for some people. Parking can be quite disappointing during holidays.
The pros:- beautiful view of the surrounding area (Cameron is beautiful), and the person-in-charge, Mala is quite friendly and helpful.
The management should seriously consider doing some maintenance - and some renovation, as it would definitely change the visitors experience from poor to great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imah_MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

i stayed at villa dahlia on 12-14 oct 2012..hmmm...reviews from travellers quite scary..i made a booked before read the comments..so i call mala (person in charge for this penthouse) to make sure those comments not happen to me...and she did it very well..:-)...what i read from previous reviews are not the same from what i experienced lately at penthouse with 4 bedrooms..the penthouse at 6th floor is very huge and comfortable..suitable for family gathering..the water heater is functional and everything was ok and of course the view also nice which is facing the golf field..Maybe the previous reviews was under different company..but my suggestion if u want to book this apartment better u contact a woman known as(MALA)..she is very nice and responsible for this penthouse..she make everything so perfect..and my little tiny comment to improve this penthouse are to provide towel ,soap and iron..then..definitely this penthouse will be a 5 star place..:-)

Room Tip: upper room facing main road very noisy with vehicles sound and clearly can hear from this room..not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AzreenaAbuBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in a 5-bedroom penthouse, 3 bedroom on the 2nd level and 2 bedrooms on the 1st. The spiral staircase was narrow and creaked when you use it. The apartment including furniture was old and carpets look worn and dirty. False walls also had holes the size of a basketball at different locations. The windows frames had grooves and you can hear the wind howling in a windy night. The grooves also resulted in leaks on the carpet by the window. Kitchen utensils and towels were only available on request and was old and dirty. We were there during a public holiday and there was not enough car parks. The re was also serious traffic jam between Tanah Rata and Brinchang as a result. The only saving grace was that the kids had enough space to run about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Y L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Bangi, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Went to Cameron Highlands for a family vacation and rented the 4 rooms penthouse apartment with 3 bathrooms. The apartment was cosy and comfortable and the rooms were spacious and clean. Definitely value for money. Situated between Tanah Rata town and Brinchang town so can easily travel to all the tourist spots. Suitable for families with cooking facilities and fridge. Only problem was parking - not enough parking area in the apartment vicinity so have to park outside, sometimes even beside the main road.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels and toiletries. If you plan to cook, I suggest bringing your own pots/pans and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rezariemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

No internet / wi-fi as stated in their advertisment.
No room service, I had to collect their dirty towels at ground floor.
The hot water heater was not repaired.

Other things are OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wotalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Overall damn smelly apartments, badly maintained and damn noisy until way late to the nite until 2am!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunkmate1663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.5 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.7 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iris Apartment @ Iris House Resort
1.6 mi away
Strawberry Park Resort
Strawberry Park Resort
#2 of 12 in Tanah Rata
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dahlia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dahlia

Property: Villa Dahlia
Address: Lot 214 Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tanah Rata
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Villa Dahlia Hotel Cameron Highlands
Villa Dahlia Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing