We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you have to try for yourself!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
Ranked #5 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2007

I had heard and read mixed reviews of the Smokehouse, so being a bit cautious I booked for only one night, giving myself options in the event it didn't met my expectations. I ended up staying four nights.

Who would of ever thought that in the tropics there would be a quaint Tudor Boutique Hotel nestled in the cool highlands of Malaysia.
The hotel is full of old world charm, from the typical English food (I recommend the Devonshire Tea in the beautiful gardens and the Beef Wellington) to the cozy Country English decor.

Contrary to what I had heard and read the room was clean, the mattress felt new, the linen was typically five star and the furniture in the room was newly upholstered. The service was excellent and the manager, Mrs Lee made time to sit with me and share some of the history of the hotel.

All in all it was refreshing to stay in a hotel with cozy old world charm, indulge in some wonderful cuisine and be in some slightly cooler weather. I am glad I stayed at The Smokehouse or I would have missed this wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank truekiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 360 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2007

I staid there with friends for a few days in July of 2006 on a long weekend trip from KL.

When you drive up to the hotel, you immediately feel of being transformed back to a small village in the South East of England. The Hotel is designed as historic Tudor Style country Inn embedded in a mature, lush garden of amazing flora. Each bedroom has an individual style, which makes the stay even more unique.
The property recently underwent some major upgrades and now has new linens, amenities, mattresses, pillows, dressing gowns and some new furniture installed in it.

When we arrived at 5:00pm after driving up from KL, we were greeted by the proprietor of the Hotel and were invited to have a traditional English Cream tea with amazing scones, marmalade and English Tea. What a treat ! After that, we unpacked in our rooms, which were neat and clean. I staid in the bedroom upstairs at the end of the hall with a separate bathroom.

In the evening, we had a traditional roast beef dinner, very English, which was excellent (well, I am from Bavaria) and after that a good whisky and drinks in the library. We made it a point to check out all the rooms and pictures on the wall as you easily can imagine the amazing guests, which must have stayed here over the decades.

The Breakfast in the morning was English with lot's of eggs, very delicious muffins and also croissants and even Eggs Benedict, if you wanted.

While not the swankiest place in Malaysia and in a way cozier class than a mass product like the ShangriLa, the SmokeHouse is a unique English Hotel in the middle of Malaysia not to be missed on your trip through South-East Asia

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mikepro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rotterdam, Holland
131
Reviewed January 20, 2006

Celebrating xmas last year at smokehouse was a total awful experience ever in our life. Travelled almost to most places in the world, either for businesss or holiday, we found this hotel is the worst. The building is an old colonial building. Well, it looks very nice in the website but not when you entered. We stayed at Ambleside. The room is smelly, damp, bed was cold, linens are yellowish, bathroom was not cleaned on the next day although the bed was made by the housekeeping. At night at the back of the room is very noisy from the water heater sound and may be from the kitchen as what been told. We ordered the Xmas dinner set- every course are bad. Perhap the worst and not worth spending money there. We ordered the Hot Sherried Consomme but it was tasteless. The Champagne Sherbet was bad. The champagne glass was full filled with ice and little drink was poured. So we cant figured out the taste and it tasteless too. We ordered the Roast beef with Yorkshire Pudding x 4 pax but the meats was raw and the yorkshire pudding was uncooked as well. The roast pork was served in small portion and three small pieces of cracklings. Though we stayed at the colonial era building but do not treat us like a barbarian. The waiters uniforms, ... very dirty.Especially at their sleeves. The food and beverage menu there , i think is the most expensive item ever priced in Malaysia but at the lowest quality ever in the world. We ate at the Putrajaya Shangrila on the day we arrived but the food there are much more presentable, fresh and tasty. Dinner at the Westin Kuala lumpur is the best food apart from Bon Ton Langkawi and Eastern & Oriental Penang.Even a night stay at Smokehouse hotel offered the same price of a night stay in eastern & oriental hotel in penang but give it a miss.

As a frequent travellers, we cant tolerate with this kind of owner attitude who cant accept changes on what the customers's need. All we want are :

- clean restaurant.
- never serve the customer with chipped plate.
- clean gents
- better price on food and accomodations
- do not overpriced the appalling food
- the bar area is very dirty. Cushion was torn and threadbare.
- The settee at the bar : the headrest and armrest was dirty and colour turned black.
- The staffs should light up the fireplace (both) as during the season it was very cold.
The bar staffs promised to light up the fireplace but never comeback.
- We asked many time for a heater in the room but never granted.
- Water was very rusty.
- Hot water problem.
- Cold water always dirty and cold
- Water flow very slow
- Restaurant' staffs are not well-trained with the menu. Their description on item ordered wasnt clear.
- Do not believe the website photoes - they are the cheater and sinner.
- the hotel is only rated as 1 star. It was featured at the entrance itself. One star logo was framed to indicate the standard of hotel. ( i guess the owner will pull the frame down if they read this and fool others as well)

The owner should be more professional when approaching the guest, as an owner, she never resembles good example to the employees. She was very rude, denying the restaurant that was smelly and leaking, wore pyjamas during daytime, grumpy at us when we told her, that the hotel need to revamp on linens and upholsteries. The hotel should be sold to other management who can really take care the quality of a hotel.

I think, smokehouse' complaint column hit the highest rate amongs the travellers, these email should goes to the local authorities and local bodies who take care about tourists and tourism industry. If Malaysia itself trying very hard promoting the country abroad, they should avoid this hotel from their list. We are not playing fool on this matter as we do not want things getting worst everytime the next tourist stayed there.

Just visit the smokehouse but do not stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
penang
112
Reviewed January 5, 2006

Short and simple quote :

- dirty gents
-leaking ceiling and old torn rug in the ladies restroom
- dirty uniform worn by the steward especially at the sleeves and button area.
- breakfast area was leaking on the floor and on the roof
- smelly restaurant
- shabby and torn living area at the bar.
- staff refuse to light up the fireplace.
- meals are appaling.
- room (elgin and warwick) leaking, dusty, smelly and overpriced.
- served cold breakfast.
- ugly and unprofessional owner.
- so much downgraded.
- pathway is very slippery.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kuala Lumpur
120
Reviewed May 29, 2005

Difficult to know where to start: I paid more than I would pay for a night in a 5 star hotel and got a smelly, dirty, threadbare room with bath taps that fell off when I used them and windows with no catches so you couldn’t close them. Everything including the bed was damp and musty smelling. In short the standard of the rooms and lounge/bar areas would be an outrage even if it cost one quarter of the price.
The thing that upsets me the most is the level of 'mis-selling' here. They bull themselves up in their Brochure/ website descriptions as being something really special - top level comfort. I can see a lot of people booking this hotel and being extremely disappointed. They must know the rooms are well below the standard anybody paying that sort of money would expect. I would be absolutely amazed if anyone stayed more than a night out of choice or actually came back for a second visit!

As other reviewers have said, the gardens really are very nice, & in fact they have gone out of their way to make the outside look as attractive as possible. Dont be fooled - enjoy looking at the gardens over the wall and if you really do think you want to stay there I would insist on looking at a room first.
I didn’t have an evening meal there, as the prices were more than I have paid anywhere in Malaysia & once I had seen the quality of the room and lounges I thought better of it. Breakfast having said that was not bad, as the staff do genuinely try to make up for the Hotels obvious failings.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tasikmalaya, Indonesia
18
Reviewed May 20, 2005

We just stayed at the Smoke House for five days and we had a marvellous time. We went there for rest and relaxation -- to escape our hectic schedules -- and we were not disappointed. The service was stupendous -- we were looked after at every turn. As other reviewers have said, indeed, the hotel itself is old and, in places, showing a bit of wear -- but, is that a surprise? We thought it to be a large part of the charm!! It took us back to (very nice) B&Bs we have stayed at in England and Wales. But, on the whole, it is very well kept and the owners take a great deal of pride in making sure its history and character are preserved (we spoke at length to them personally about this). The breakfasts were very good (as were all of the other meals); the jam and marmelade and the croissants alone are worth waiting for. But, we did NOT need to wait -- the service, at each and every meal, was extremely prompt, polite and efficient (and the food was delicious). Getting back to the tatter in certain places (not much, I must add), when speaking with the management (they were very friendly and welcoming -- like family, really), they assured us that, room by room, they are going through and trimming and tucking. We saw much evidence of that. But, once again, if you want new with shining chrome and aluminium, perhaps you shouldn't choose the Smoke House in the first place! It does not claim to be a new, flash hotel -- it is a place with a history, and sometimes the history shows through. But, not in any way unsatisfactorily (I liken some of the other more negative reviewers of the Smoke House at this site to persons who visit a Van Gogh museum and later complain that the paintings on display only depict scenes from 19th-century Europe!)

Thus, I would say, if you want a comfortable and charming time staying at a quaint but very comfortable English-style tradition-based hotel in the Camerons, you would be hard-pressed to find anyplace better than the Smoke House. It well lives up to its reputation, in our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2005

We have just come home from a few weeks in Malaysia, spending 3 nights and 4 days in the Cameron Highlands. Unfortunately we booked into the Olde Smokehouse. We have been all over the world and have stayed at a great variety of hotels. Some great - some not so good. The Smokehouse is clearly the worst we have ever stayed at. On the first day there my wife sprained her ankle badly while on a walk so we were unable to move to another hotel. Anywhere else would have been better. The Smokehouse is perhaps the most expensive hotel in the Cameron Highlands and is a disgrace. Here are a few of the things that are wrong with the Old Smokehouse :

1) the lobby furniture is not just threadbare but totally filthy and stinks ! So bad that once we realized we did not sit there ever.

2 ) the food served is appalling. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all bad. Not just bad but appalling. Food service staff try their best but are totally untrained and have no idea about hygiene.

3 ) the rooms haven't been redecorated in decades so things like bedspreads are disgustingly dirty.

4) the room doorknob was broken right off so it became a bit of a trick to close the room door. One of our windows was broken - a hole in it.

5 ) while the gardens are lovely and the outside of the hotel looks quite charming, do not be fooled. Ye Olde Smokehouse is a terrible hotel and the owners, who are milking it for all it's worth, should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank galiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
3.7 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.8 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.1 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Tanah Rata
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 13 in Tanah Rata
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: by the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $92 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smokehouse Hotel And Restaurant By The Golf Course
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing