We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De' La Ferns(Tanah Rata)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cameron Highlands Resort(Tanah Rata)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Brinchang Hotel(Brinchang)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Hotel Titiwangsa(Brinchang)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Strawberry Park Resort(Tanah Rata)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
103
129
68
38
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
129
68
38
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconespacked lunchold englishbeautiful englishenglish charmcameron highlandsbeef wellingtonafternoon teabeautiful gardenupon checking outmain buildingbritish styleboutique hotelcomplimentary breakfastgolf coursemorning breakfastmusty smell
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 374 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Located near to golf course in Cameron Highlands. Old building with English style building including the decoration and furniture in this hotel. While we waiting to get check in our room, they serve us with hot cup of tea/ coffee and slice of cake. Very nice. And the people who work there also very help full and friendly. We stay in one of the room at hilltop. The room very big, with king size bed. The bathroom so spacey with a good brand of amenities. And I think it's worthy to pay extra to get this type of service. The food also nice ..but very limited choice, example for breakfast, you only can choose 2 type of breakfast set. And it's bit pricey too. And it will take long hour to get your breakfast to be serve. But when you breakfast is serve you will be happy because they give you very big breakfast. We also had dinner in this hotel..as usual, its pricey but the food is delicious and they serve generously. All over I think this hotel have a lot a good reasons for us to come and stay. The inviting garden with lots a lots of flower. The scenery, the service, staff and the room.. So comfort... Hope I will come to stay in this hotel again..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The main building had a lot of lovely old-style furniture and much care was taken to ensure a classic English atmosphere. The gardens were very well maintained, and there were plenty of places to sit down and just enjoy the atmosphere.

Our room was great, although we had to walk quite a bit of stairs as it was right at the top. Thankfully, they had someone to help us lug our luggage up.

Breakfast was not bad, although a tad slow (the croissant and hash brown were excellent), we requested for an additional two hard-boiled eggs for our kid, and they were very kind to not charge us for it, much appreciated!

A few gripes:

Although clearly meant to be in keeping with the style of the rest of the place, having no air-cond meant that the room felt stuffy at night. Having the windows open invited mosquitoes in, and the mosquito repellent didn’t help. After a while, we had no choice but to request for a fan. Fortunately, the staff responded quickly, and for that, you have my gratitude.

Another hotel/accommodation was being built on the right of the Smokehouse, and it looked like one of those buildings that tries to have a look consistent with the surrounding area, but fails miserably simply by being too big and tall. It just looks ugly, and spoils the scenery of the Smokehouse.

Other than that, if you’re looking for a nice getaway, and not looking to do much activity, but simply relax, then this is a great place to go!

Room Tip: If stairs are not for you, make sure you ask for a lower level room when making your booking.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExecutorAzmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Check in, wait wait wait. Get into the room. Plenty of adapters. Room is old, furniture is old and the room smell funny. For 400plus per night,the room should meet at least 5star grade. No facilities and the breakfast sucks except the jam is nice. Nothing to shout about. If you like scone just visit it during tea time but please be warn is over price but taste is good. The room is not equip with fan or aircord. Only when ask, a fan is provided. Not recommended to stay. Service is poor. Not much of choice for breakfast n d taste is blend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chachinio30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Tucked away in the beautiful hills of Cameron - is the jewel of the highlands. There may be larger establishments in the area, but trust me - this one is worth waiting to be invited. Suggest - if you do not get reservations initially - as this is a 27 room boutique - wait to get confirmed and then visit Cameron.
What is nice here? What is - not? The inviting gardens with it's myriad plants and flowers, explosion of colours in your face - if you so may describe it, or the tastefully done up interiors, not flashy yet remniscent of the Raj and it's legacy, the wonderfully tucked in fireside by the bar, refreshed - yet discerningly furnished rooms, old world cuisine : cooked deliciously and served with great care, luxury amenities, can - do attitude of the staff and lastly - not the least - fantastic management by the resident manager Laura, Exec Chef Shanker and of course the general manager.
Our team was here recently for an offsite meet and we had the pleasure of being served by the best team of dedicated, tight and efficient service oriented minds in Malaysia.
Right from the front desk, to the tea and cookies welcome, to the one woman wonder during the lovely English breakfast services, to the two men who served us during our formal dinner, to the one bartender magician who helped us keep our spirits high by the fireside - this was a magical service experience.
To our minds - this is not a hotel - this is a pure case study in service. Kudos to the management and best regards to all the wonderful staff in Smokehouse. Do not leave and go away, be there to delight travellers form far and near. You people are a proud hall bearer of service culture for Malaysia. Well done, many of us will surely be back and we will gladly be your unpaid advertisers for many years to come. Keep up the great job!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandip_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Simply charming, cosy, boutique "Inn House" with the very English looks and ambience, in a nice cool temperate atmosphere. If we go up to the Cameron Highlands again, we won't stay anywhere else but the "Ye Ole Smokehouse". The grounds and garden are simply gorgeous!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M Tahir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews