We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A European escape in South-East Asia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
Ranked #5 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A European escape in South-East Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We truly loved our stay here. The whole ambiance around and in inside the hotel (or probably more correctly country inn) was English country side – even the climate helped creating this feeling with quite warm days but cool nights. The garden is beautiful and especially in the evenings it smells like being in a European garden. After enjoying the garden we spent our evenings in front of the open fire in the bar, listening to music from the 30’s to 50’s. The whole place has a homely feeling and our suit was like a staying at a grandmother’s home – including being a bit worn down. Don’t expect a traditional 5-star facility though. There is e.g. no air condition, not that you really need one with English single glass windows and 16-18 degrees night temperatures. The bathroom was functional but it took a long time to get hot water. But this is charm and the price we have to pay to stay in England in Malaysia in a 75 year old hotel with plenty of history. The dinner was well cooked but a bit bland – but this is also what English food should be like, so it’s not really a complaint. The front desk staffs were professional but not very friendly and they were not at all interested in helping us explore the region or in any other way enhancing our stay. The restaurant staffs were a lot friendlier and especially the guy managing the bar shared a lot of interesting information – kudus to him! I will definitely go back to Cameron Highlands again, mainly because of the climate, and if the budget allows I will without doubt stay at the Smokehouse again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matjesill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    114
    59
    34
    33
See reviews for
85
161
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have had!
whilst travelling through Malaysia my husband and I booked one night stay here based on the reputation the hotel is supposed to have. What a mistake that was.
It was clear upon arrival that the staff did not think too highly of us and they were impolite. We were taken to our room which was away from he main building. There is no AC as it stays cool in the area (althought when we got there it was in the mid 20's!). There was also no fan, so to keep the room cool the windows had to be left open- cue lots of mosquito bites. Although there are bars over the bedroom windows (not the bathroom) I still felt very vulnerable as there was a path beneath the windows.
The room itself was unclean and old. The bedstead was broken, two of the lights did not work and when we pulled back the sheets to go to sleep we were greated by long dark hairs.... I'm blond and my hubby has short hair.
The bathroom was apparently doubling as an insects graveyard and there were hairs in the sink, bath and floor. There was no shower curtain so when the shower was turned on the floor flooded. Which brings me to the next point. When we got up in the morning we discovered there was no hot water. We rang reception and they sent some poor maid up who turned the taps on and off a few times, but this failed to help. When we mentioned this at check out the receptionist told us we should have let them the the night before and they would have fixed it, of course we didn't know until we got up to shower in the morning!
To be honest I could not have left the hotel soon enough. The staff were unhelpful and the overall feel of the hotel was of it being dirty. I have stayed in back-packer hostels for a quarter of the price that have been better.

Room Tip: If you want a good room Choose one at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dolly-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Decided to book a stay for a weekend getaway from the city after learning that the property has been refurbished. As with most hotels in smaller towns / cities, service is slow and staff are most probably not trained in hospitality. At check in we were given a form to fill out and we had to wait around eventhough we were the only guests at the time. The concierge, bartender, waiter is the same guy who's helpful & pleasant. Our room was in the main wing, overlooking the garden. Although quite close to the main road, it wasn't noisy at night but can be quite noisy in the day time especially the weekends when people come for tea or just to enjoy the gardens. The lights are very dim in the room although there is a big chandelier and some lamps. The bathroom is clean but looks old and the tub uninviting if you were planning on taking a bath. Fixtures are cheap and old. The waste paper basket was shockingly horrible, a really old bad quality plasticky one. Bad quality toiletries. At close to RM600 per night I was sorely disappointed. I know it's a very old property but surely there could be nicer touches in the room? All hotels in Camerons do not have air conditioning being in the highlands it's cool but this room has no fan and it can get pretty warm in the day time when the sun in shining. We have to open up the windows to let in fresh air and there are plenty of mosquitoes at night so remember to bring your repellents or citronella candles. Also it will be a good idea to bring candles if you're on a romantic getaway to use in the room, I find the lighting a little spooky, not romantic. Dinner is not very nice in terms of the food, it's English but the type you get like probably in the 80s and service can be slow. After dinner we proceeded to the bar and sat by the fireside to have a night cap. There are plenty of interesting English knick knacks to look at at the bar area next to the reception / front of restaurant. Breakfast is included in the hotel rate. You get to pick from a choice of 2 sets. Quite pleasant, again the food is retro.
I'm giving this 4 dots instead of 3 just because it's a quaint little property that you will not find anywhere else in Malaysia. But will I be back for another stay? Nah, once is enough.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellents!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlbug1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked this stay to celebrate my first anniversary with my boyfriend and i must say we were delighted! Initially i was worried after reading the mixed reviews from other people, but we are full of nothing but praise for this place!

Upon arrival, Ammu from the reception helped us with registration and also gave us a brochure for tours. She told us our room was not yet available (we arrived around 9am) and we could only check in around 12 noon. She served us our welcome drinks shortly after and we sat in the comfy main hall looking through the brochure and drinking tea. To our surprise, as we finished our tea, Ammu told us our room was prepared for us and we could now check in.

The room we stayed was 2 storeys above the main floor, the Eldgin room. The staff had very kindly bumped us to a suite in the main building instead of the deluxe room, which was lovely and very thoughtful of them! The room was beautiful and had lovely decor and ample space for both of us, though it was not incredibly large. The window in the room opened to a nice view of the garden below and of the golf course in a distance.

My boyfriend loved the gardens of the Smokehouse and we spent some time strolling about, exploring the place.
There seems to also be an extension to the left of the main building where the deluxe rooms are. There's a nice area with a traditional red telephone booth and some chairs where you can dine and have afternoon tea.

During the course of our stay, we had full english breakfast (included in the accomodation cost) and tea and scones. Breakfast, as other reviewers have said, was ample and very satisfying. Staff were friendly and polite, and food was served at an adequate pace- tea and cereals first, followed by breads and jam, then the main eggs and sausages, bacon. Tea and scones were slightly pricey but worth every single bit.

The only area of improvement i would suggest is on the amenities e.g. electricity and heating.
The hotel is old and this has clearly affected the amenities as well.

For water heating- the bath water was constantly hot and cold and it was difficult for us to take a proper bath or even a shower.
Also, during our stay, we experienced a blackout, but as we were doing nothing major at that time (just sitting on the bed watching the telly), and the light and electricity was promptly back on in about 5 minutes, we didn't quite mind it, but i imagine if another guest was in the middle of a shower, it might be quite distressing....

Room Tip: Guest who prefer a more rested sleep can consider to request NOT to get the glenee room as it seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrabbyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The "welcome" was rather appalling. We just wanted to have a drink in their nice lobby, but were told by rude staff in an almost impolite manner to sit outside. It was raining, and all they had outdoors was a kind of pavillion - certainly not the quaint feeling of Good Old England that one would expect from such a place. It looks to me like they own a beautiful property, but do not maintain it well. The service is poor. For example, their garden would be beautiful if they only looked after it more carefully.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RingoKringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Smokehouse hotel is just the right place to sit back and enjoy it's relaxing ambiance, fabulous gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chiasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

1.no greetings or smile from hotel staff
2. No welcome drink
3. We had some issues with reservation and were treated very rudely, they never showed any courtesy or offer any assistance to help resolve the issue which is within their jurisdiction.Only after much argument and our expression of displeasure.. They finally agreed reluctantly
4. Room was so small and congested with furniture
5. Room smells of mould and windows can't be opened unless you want mosquitoes to sleep with you
6. Sofa and carpets are old tired and smelly
7. No warm water for shower.. Its either hot scalding water or ice cold water which comes at low and high pressure.. Really terrible
8. Lizard poops scattered on balcony table and staircase
9. Slow wifi which disconnects easily
10. No thank you from any of the staff upon departure
11. Overall this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed and with the kind of money we paid for, it's really not worth a single cent

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cuti2_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
3.7 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.2 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.2 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strawberry Park Resort
Strawberry Park Resort
#2 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Property: Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
Address: by the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smokehouse Hotel And Restaurant By The Golf Course
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing