We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, calm and competent staff”
Review of Cameronian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameronian Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
stuttgart
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very clean, calm and competent staff”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was the cleanest place we could find in Tanah Rata.
The owner is very nice and can give a lot of advice for hiking.
Breakfast is not included and a bit pricey for Malaysian standards (for Western standards still extremely cheap), but very good.
There are a couple of areas outside with chairs where you can sit, read, smoke, drink... .
The hotel has quite different rooms. We were in one of the cheaper rooms with bathroom inside. Which was small, but absolutely ok (hot shower, clean).
The hotel is in the very last corner of the city, which makes it very quiet but you're still in less than five minutes walk on the main road.
There's WLAN in the hotel, but not accessible from all rooms. Nevertheless, the rooms are basic but there are plenty of spaces to sit & chill outside the room that all have WLAN accessible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    75
    52
    23
    25
See reviews for
25
85
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

we had a double room with a shared bathroom, the price was 50 rm. it is comfortable and very clean. The location was good. It is a calm place to stay. They serve some food. The staff was nice with us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We planned to stay for a couple of nights.but we left after the first night.the room was dark and had iron bars infront of the windows.the room looked clean tafirst sight, but ther was hair all over my bed. The walls were so thin that we could hear every word from the other guests. The staff was very unfriendly, and sometimes just rude. 100 ringit is not a lot of money, but at least we expected the toiletpaper to be free. The even charge 1 ringit for a towel.and if you want to order something to eat, ther is seldom someone around to take the order. When we wanted to check out I had to spend at least 10 minutes to find someone. After I payed there was no thank you or bye bye.she did not even smile. So don't go there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilyuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Impeccably clean and modern, my boyfriend and I have not come across a nicer shared bathroom in our 4 months backpacking! The bedrooms are decent too, and the place is beautifully quiet.

...Which makes it such a shame about the service. Not only is it close to impossible to check-in/order food/book tours but when someone does bother to serve you (namely the lady) it is done so with clear resentment! You're left feeling like you've said or done something really terrible to her, but judging by the other reviews it's nothing personal. Clearly her heart's not in the job, but don't take it out on us!

Recommended if you're looking for a clean, quiet place to stay. Not so much if you're looking for a warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamason88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Quaint lil guesthouse located within walking distance from the main Tanah Rata town.

At RM100 per night for two, we got a nice, clean Queen-sized bed with an attached bathroom with hot shower. Very basic amenities (note that there are charges for towels & toilet papers), with free Wi-Fi. Oh, and there’s a small TV in our room (tho we didn’t test if its functional). Very nice garden terrace where you can sit and enjoy the fresh Cameronian air in the morning while having nice warm homemade scones (a must try!) or chat with other fellow backpackers in the night.

Only set back is that you can hear everything that happens from the room next door (like guest coming in and out, guest using the toilets, etc) so not so good for a light sleeper like me. Other than that, the no noise after 10pm helps in ensuring a peaceful and quiet night for guest at this place.

There’s also a car parking for those who drive.

Also, do flip thru the guestbook (at the front desk) for travel tips & advise from the guests of Cameronian Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathlynn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed 4 nights here, in a double room. With only one exception (family-run place - maybe the daughter?) all of the staff here were unfriendly, ineffective and unhelpful to us. They seem to think guests are a hassle and in the way of getting things done. We left with an impression that we should have sincerely apologized for ever staying there.

Locks on toilets and bathrooms are close to non-exsistent.

Tip for improvement: please buy showercurtains. Your guests will appreciate it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseFrosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked 2 rooms approximately 2 weeks before we came for 4 of us at rm85 each. When we arrived, we were told there was only 1 room (rm85) left, however there is a smaller one available at rm70 per night. It was quite small but we took it anyway as we do not want to trouble ourselves looking for others.

The place is really nice and clean. It has a cosy atmosphere where all the guests would sit on the balcony for leisure talks. It has this family feeling where everyone knows each other. The small room that we stayed was very basic. But nevertheless its still worth the cost. There was hot shower and wi-fi.

Distance to Tanah Rata is approximately 1.5 km but we have no trouble looking for meals out as we came with our motorcycles. This place only serves breakfirst and drinks and we missed the advertised home made scones as there were not available duringg our stay. I m a local and the other couple I brought were spanish tourists.

Acid

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abg_Acid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.5 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 27 in Tanah Rata
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 27 in Tanah Rata
569 reviews
3.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameronian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameronian Inn

Property: Cameronian Inn
Address: No.16, Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cameronian Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run guesthouse offering great location - short walking distance to the town center and bus station, homely atmosphere, clean and comfortable rooms with a spacious garden to laze and ample facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Cameronian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameronian Hotel Cameron Highlands
Cameronian Inn Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing