We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Backpackers Guesthouse”
Review of Cameronian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cameronian Inn
Ranked #6 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Quaint lil guesthouse located within walking distance from the main Tanah Rata town.

At RM100 per night for two, we got a nice, clean Queen-sized bed with an attached bathroom with hot shower. Very basic amenities (note that there are charges for towels & toilet papers), with free Wi-Fi. Oh, and there’s a small TV in our room (tho we didn’t test if its functional). Very nice garden terrace where you can sit and enjoy the fresh Cameronian air in the morning while having nice warm homemade scones (a must try!) or chat with other fellow backpackers in the night.

Only set back is that you can hear everything that happens from the room next door (like guest coming in and out, guest using the toilets, etc) so not so good for a light sleeper like me. Other than that, the no noise after 10pm helps in ensuring a peaceful and quiet night for guest at this place.

There’s also a car parking for those who drive.

Also, do flip thru the guestbook (at the front desk) for travel tips & advise from the guests of Cameronian Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathlynn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed 4 nights here, in a double room. With only one exception (family-run place - maybe the daughter?) all of the staff here were unfriendly, ineffective and unhelpful to us. They seem to think guests are a hassle and in the way of getting things done. We left with an impression that we should have sincerely apologized for ever staying there.

Locks on toilets and bathrooms are close to non-exsistent.

Tip for improvement: please buy showercurtains. Your guests will appreciate it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReiseFrosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked 2 rooms approximately 2 weeks before we came for 4 of us at rm85 each. When we arrived, we were told there was only 1 room (rm85) left, however there is a smaller one available at rm70 per night. It was quite small but we took it anyway as we do not want to trouble ourselves looking for others.

The place is really nice and clean. It has a cosy atmosphere where all the guests would sit on the balcony for leisure talks. It has this family feeling where everyone knows each other. The small room that we stayed was very basic. But nevertheless its still worth the cost. There was hot shower and wi-fi.

Distance to Tanah Rata is approximately 1.5 km but we have no trouble looking for meals out as we came with our motorcycles. This place only serves breakfirst and drinks and we missed the advertised home made scones as there were not available duringg our stay. I m a local and the other couple I brought were spanish tourists.

Acid

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abg_Acid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

sweet garden, nice rooms, clean and free wifi, what else do you need.
i highly recommend the 4bed dorm room. never had such a good dorm!
the breakfast is eat- and affortable. it is good placed (quiet and only 2 minutes to the "towncenter"). so it is a nice and quick walk to get to the restaurants and so on!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Lusaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Initially the place looked clean and friendly and we had a nice two days here at first. The third night we were woken by mosquito's and accidentally discovered some bedbugs in our bed (room #9).
In the morning upon checking out we informed the housekeeping about this; they told us they would take care of it and assured us that we needn't clean our backpacks or clothing.

Although they told told us they would clean the room, we have our doubts if they will do it proper enough, as we saw signs of previous bedbug-infestations.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BackpackersAzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and it was really value for the money.
the room was clean as well as the bathrooms outside on the floor.

the staff was friendly and we had a nice chat with the owner. he also offert us to drive us to the bus station.

if you stay there, you need to try the homemade scones with a cup of coffee. its a delicious snack and the sitting area gives you as well a good possibility to get in touch with other backpackers. it was a really nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wutschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed at the Cameronian Inn for two nights in the middle of April 2011. It's asmall, quiet guesthouse about 5mins walk from the main street. At first i was unsure as it seemed a bit too quiet for me (we were a group of 5 mid twenties to mid thirties), there wasn't anyone else about, but as the other gueshouses we'd tried were full, we took rooms in this one. It turned out to be quite a pleasant suprise; the guesthouse was basic but clean, with a lovely little terrace outside perfect for drinking a cold beer on, or trying one of their tasty scones.
Had a great sleep here, the rooms are cool and quiet - the inn has a "no noise" policy after 10pm which is good as is prevents the 18yr old boozy backpackers from staying here! You can also get a great cup of tea here which was welcomed by all our party.

The one thing I disliked about this guesthouse was the surly service from the family who run it. not once did I see them smile or look pleased to have our business. Infact I'd go as far as to call them rude at some points, tutting or kissing their teeth whenever we asked a question! If they dislike being guesthouse owners this much maybe they need to think of a new career!
Having said that you don't really see much of them, only to check in or check out so it's still worth staying in this little oasis :o)

Room Tip: Ignore the rude staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beckiboo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.1 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#4 of 13 in Tanah Rata
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#2 of 28 in Tanah Rata
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#3 of 28 in Tanah Rata
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameronian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameronian Inn

Address: No.16, Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $18 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cameronian Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run guesthouse offering great location - short walking distance to the town center and bus station, homely atmosphere, clean and comfortable rooms with a spacious garden to laze and ample facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cameronian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameronian Hotel Cameron Highlands
Cameronian Inn Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing