We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boys day out!”
Review of Experience4x4 - CLOSED

Experience4x4
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fun self drive 4x4 activity for all the family. Follow us in one of our specially prepared 4x4 vehicles as we lead you around our Scottish themed off road track. You do all the driving, no instructor sat beside you, we are just there to give advice at the tricky bits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had always wanted to try this place after passing it several times whilst out running at scenic loch Duntelchig. We weren't at all disappointed as the owners, Malcolm and Fiona, have created a gem of a day out unlike anything i have done before. The course is much longer than you would expect and all the obstacles are well designed and varied. Despite neither of us having any experience you are let loose in your own vehicle straight away and follow the owners around on the first lap receiving instructions before attempting each obstacle. Our hosts were lovely and enthusiastic, with all instruction delivered with a joke and a smile. After the first lap we were deemed fit to try again unaided and by this point had already garnered the confidence to do so without worry. If anyone wants something fun to do in the Inverness area i would not hesitate in recommending this as i thought it good value for money and something most would enjoy. Cheers guys

2  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfmadnutter, Owner at Experience4x4, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thanks James for the fantastic review, we are delighted to hear that you both enjoyed yourselves so much, especially as it was your birthday! It is also good to receive such fantastic feedback about The Adventure Course and how it surpassed your expectations. Hope we see you again soon... or you see us from up there in the sky!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

120 - 124 of 160 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We live close by (40miles) and have been planning to visit with our own 4x4 for the last year. We were met by Fiona at the reception and we were quickly and efficiently signed in. After a quick introduction and a warm up by the wood burner we were out on the track.
The course is great! Plenty of challenges and variation throughout. Highlights have to be the see saw and the water run at the end.
We'll be back in 2 weeks time, visiting with some friends and I'm sure they'll love it too.

2  Thank eenomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfmadnutter, Owner at Experience4x4, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking time out to post a review! Looking forward to seeing you all again in December :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I chose to use one of their Land Rover discovery's and it was fantastic fun. You would maybe think the course would be quite simple so to cater to all levels of experience but that couldn't be further from the truth! The obstacles you have to navigate are very challenging which just adds to the excitement. The 'see-saw' was a firm favourite. As was' the 45s'. This is for anyone from the first time novice to the well experience off roader. Fiona and Malcolm were excellent hosts and I would recommend this to anyone. You are £60 per vehicle and you are driving for a good hour and a half. It is excellent value for money.

1  Thank NF1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfmadnutter, Owner at Experience4x4, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Delighted to know you enjoyed yourself so much...thanks for taking the trouble to write a review too. haste ye back! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My sister gave my husband and I a voucher for the introductory experience - best present! Fiona and Malcolm were really welcoming and the morning was great fun. Hadn't done much off road driving before but Malcolm's clear guidance kept things simple and we had a fantastic few hours. My sister and her husband have already pencilled it in for when they are visiting Inverness next. Fantastic experience, excellent set up and run by a great couple. A great present!

Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfmadnutter, Owner at Experience4x4, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you Laura for the lovely review. We try to ensure everyone has a great experience so it's a great reward to read the reviews. Looking forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited here in March this year didn't quite know what to expect as this was a 1st. Needn't have worried right from the start we were made to feel welcome and put at ease was a most enjoyable day made even more so by the snow!

The course was very good something for everyone quite challenging at times which was great.

Overall very professional and well run highly recommend. Tracy and Stuart McNee

Thank trctrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfmadnutter, Owner at Experience4x4, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you Tracy and Stuart for taking the time to write a lovely review about your visit to us...the snow did add to the 'experience' for all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Experience4x4 also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing