We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive cabin and gracious hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Eagle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chistochina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Eagle Lodge
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impressive cabin and gracious hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hermit's Roost for one night. It was well-appointed with plenty of local charm. We had a light-weight but very warm down comforter, which was helpful, as the temperature dropped precipitously at night. The cute wood-burning stove heated up the cabin pretty well, although my husband had to get up in the middle of the night to restart the fire. Although we did not use the bathhouse, I must say it was outstanding! The woodwork and the fresh smell of cedar (or spruce?) left a lasting impression on me. Check it out just for the heck of it:-)
Judy and her husband made us feel very welcome. We swapped stories at breakfast table, while enjoying pancakes, turkey bacon, and an egg prepared by Richard.

Room Tip: I liked the Hermit's Roost, although my husband found the bed a bit on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smyrnagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here this winter because my so was working in the town and there was no other lodging available. I have to admit I was worried but once I got there I was at ease. We drove in in the middle of the nigh in a snow storm and the owners had made everything very easy on us. They gave us plenty of wood and paper if we wanted to use the wood stove, there is also a space Hester that is more than sufficient. There is a kitchenette available in the grandma cabin and everything is very cute and clean!!!. The bed and pillows were super comfy. In the morning we were invited inside and served a delicous breakfast. I am still drooling over egg casserole. Very kind and friendly. I will stay here again if need be.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millea18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed at this roadhouse many times over the last 5 years and am always delighted by it charm and comforts. The owners have gone out of their way to make it an enjoyable Alaskan experience and I can not recomend it enough. It is by far the best value for the dollar between Canada and places in between. Of their 6 cabins my favorute is Hermits Roost but Grandmas Cabin is just as friendly and cosy as the name it carries. If you find yourself on the Tok Cutof and needing wonderful accomidations with gracious hosts and a good nights sleep you have found the right place. I have been there summer, fall, winter and spring with the idea of going there just to go there, it is just that lovely. Enjoy!

Room Tip: cabins are clean, nicest bath house I have ever seen and a glamping tent, how fun is that. If walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed a night at the Red Eagle Lodge in Chistochina by chance and were delighted by the place. We stayed in Grandma's Cabin - comfortable but preserving a lot of old Alaska features. Breakfast was great. And the rest of the place is fascinating. For the buildings, the owners have placed a lot of energy into authenticity, but for the facilities, such as the bathhouse, they've gone all out for whatever.

Make a point to find this place! It's between Tok and Glennallen. They're open year 'round.

I was there on business but I'd like to go back just because.

Room Tip: Grandma's cabin. But I'd sure like to try one of those tent cabins that they put up in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stopped at the Red Eagle Lodge by chance and where pleasantly surprised! The warm welcome, the awesome 'Grandmother's Cabin' and the wonderful breakfast! Don't stop there by chance, make sure you plan to stop there. It is absolutely worth it!!!
'Grandmother's Cabin' is unbeatable (except by the 'Goldrush Camp' probably) but we had a chance to look at all the cabins and we would stay in every one of them. They are lovely made and outfittet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sev15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just stayed in the campground and were invited to view the cabins...they are beautifully decorated. The BATHHOUSE washrooms were spacious and emaculate. Our next visit to Alaska will include a night in Grandma's cabin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyBill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had the chance to stay here because of a friend and WOW! This will now be a desination stop not just a place to stay while on the road. You get the most wonderfull inviting hosts with top class accomadations of any 5 star resort. You can make it as private or gather with other guests as you wish. The cabins are great along with the food and general service. Not to mention the fantastic unplanned bonfire where everyone gathered and shared food and roasted marshmellows just like when you were kids on a camping trip with the family. Don't go to the Princess Lodge and mortgage your house but go here and still have money to plan a second trip back.

Room Tip: you just need to decide if you want to be alone or stay with others like in a bunk bed dorm style ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaskabear99687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Eagle Lodge

Property: Red Eagle Lodge
Address: Mile 32.7 on the Tok Cutoff, HC01, Box 158, Chistochina, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Chistochina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chistochina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing