We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late summer break in La Giettaz”
Review of Chalet La Giettaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet La Giettaz
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Late summer break in La Giettaz”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is our second visit to Chalet La Giettaz having previously stayed for a winter break.
We had a lovely few days on our way up from Italy - the views into the valley from the apartments are beautiful, with the nearly La Giettaz village being just as inviting in the summer to stop for a beer in the local bar. The owner Chris took his usual care ensuring our breakfast basket was waiting for us every morning. There are some lovely walks to do in the summer- from a short 30 minute route to a nearby waterfall just outside of the village, to longer walks up to the Col (though these are not for the faint hearted!) and beyond. Heartly recommend a stay here in either season. -Phil, Sarah (& Bayley)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here for a week and cannot recommend it highly enough.
Excellent hosts, superb apartments and loads to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 471Dan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

What an excellent week we had! Chris was so very helpful throughout, giving us tips on where to walk and swim, as well as delivering fabulous baked goods from the local bakery Le refuge du nomade every morning. The apartment was excellent value, tastefully decorated, beautifully located (far from the madding crowd of busier resorts, which we loved) with spectacular views of the beautiful valley - we couldn't have asked for more! We swam in a local municipal pool fed by mountain streams with amazing views of Mont Blanc for the first two days, then walked in the mountains for the remaining time. Would recommend walking from Le Plan to Croisse Baulet; Col Des Aravis (via Blanchet); nearby Saint Nicolas-la-Chapelle up to D'ici au Sommet (very funky mountain bistro with stunning views of Mont Blanc). No need to bring a map, get an excellent tourist walking map from Chris, routes are signposted even in the most remote of places! The bar at nearby Saint Nicolas has an extensive range of local beers and don't miss out on the top quality hand made saucisson at the boulangerie on the main street at nearby Flumet. Reblochon from local producers was divine and look out for the cheese stall in La Giettaz on a Thursday. Have a good one!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandreatreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great place to stay to explore the snow, more importantly the rooms were immaculate. With the service from Chris and Miranda even better. We were very well looked after and Chris made sure we got some good skiing in, even with our lack of skills.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed here in Feb 2011. Immaculately clean. Spacious. Very good ammenities. Breakfast delivered every morning - croissants, pain au chocolat, baguette. The farm next door (100 yards away) makes cheese, including the local reblochon which is provided in the welcome package. The farm has a shop selling the cheese, which makes a great present to take home. The food available in the evenings is nothing special. The bar area could probably do with more seating. The spa is ok. Nice to have the sauna and jacuzzi. The proprietors are British, so no language barrier which we appreciated after a tiring day on the slopes. They are very knowledgeable and go out of their way to accomodate guests. Because it is wooden, it was quite noisy in the mornings when the eager beavers upstairs were heading out early. We heard everything...and that was before they started clumping about in their ski boots. The chalet is about a 10min drive to Le Plan where you ski out of. There is a free bus picks you up at a bus stop right outside the chalet. Le Plan is not the best ski area and there aren't very many amenities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanAngel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletLaGiettaz, Owner at Chalet La Giettaz, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback and for your comments about how helpful you found us and how lovely our Chalet is. We have always received glowing responses both on the feedback forms we provide at the Chalet and on tripadvisor, and we'd like to keep it this way, so we have given your comments our full consideration.

Our winter menu is one of simple, hearty, home-cooked meals made with fresh produce. Our chef has received many compliments this season and we have already a number of repeat bookings for catered stays in 2012 on the basis of guests' positive experiences this year.

As yet we've always had enough seating for our bar guests but we will of course address a need for additional seating should such a situation ever arise.

Although the apartments are completely self-contained, and we've never had any complaints before, there is inevitably some noise from other guests at busy times of the day. As we had some wonderful weather in February, many guests were eager to get out and make the most of the mountains. The vast majority of our guests leave their ski boots overnight on our boot-warming rack rather than taking them into apartments, however, so it was very unlucky for you to have heard them - we understand how it could be slightly annoying for people who want to spend the morning in bed rather than skiing.

Le Plan is a traditional little ski station with access to a vast ski area. It does only have a couple of restaurants, a snack bar, a ski hire shop, ski school and creche at the bottom and a lovely restaurant at the top, but this explains the absolutely queue-free lifts, empty pistes, friendly locals, and brilliant prices in comparison to the larger stations, e.g. Megeve, that the Le Plan lift is directly linked to - we like that all the stations within the 445km Evasion Mont Blanc that our guests can ski to are different from one another - some busy, some quiet - so it is a shame you didn't seem to find one that was your cup of tea.

We hope you appreciate that we have given your comments some thought, and we wish you all the best for your next holiday.

Miranda and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Lovely, clean and bright accomodation with amazing views and the most comfortable beds we've ever had on holiday ( they must have spent a fortune on mattressess and linen). Great spa area (sauna, hot tub and showers) that was really clean. Staff were excellent, very helpful and really knowledgeable and they've got an in house chef who cooked roast potatoes that were nearly as good as my mums. We also nearly had the pistes to ourselves ;-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riceandpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Just had a fantastic weekend skiing in France based in chalet La Giettaz that is located in the small village of La Giettaz; tucked just over the hill from La Clusaz and a short drive from Megeve.  With access to the huge Megeve ski area only a few kilometres away at Le Plan, we enjoyed fabulous skiing and clocked up huge ski mileage along the way on a variety of well prepared and challenging runs.  With countless other resorts within a 30 minute drive away, La Giettaz is a perfect base for those who enjoy a full variety of skiing and boarding.
 
Chalet La Giettaz itself is perched just above the village and presented us with panoramic views down the valley and the floodlit rock face at night.  Accommodation is hugely spacious compared to other French apartments and flats I have stayed in, and these well appointed flats cater for small and large groups alike.  We were a group of nine ageing, but hardened, skiers/boarders used to roughing it in low cost accommodation.  You can imagine our surprise when we were presented with apartments including Ipod docking stations, flat screen televisions, microwaves, dishwashers, fridge/freezers, cookers, and free Wi-Fi access.  For 9 guys, cooking equipment was substituted for eating out in the local restaurants (the three we frequented were excellent value and really good quality food and drink) or popping over the hill to La Clusaz where the nightlife is a bit more upbeat.  The village has limited shops but fresh bread from the Patisserie can be found close to a small store providing the essentials for breakfast and snacks.
 
With hot tub and sauna located just below the residents bar, and a friendly couple (Chris & Miranda) ready to welcome you to La Giettaz, this is the place to base yourself to fully explore the area.  Geneva is only 80 minutes away by car, which is essential to get the best out of the resort.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Giettaz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Flor'Alpes
Hotel Flor'Alpes
#1 of 2 in La Giettaz
37 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Destiere
La Destiere
#2 of 2 in La Giettaz
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Soleil d'Or
Hotel Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 2 in La Giettaz
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet La Giettaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet La Giettaz

Property: Chalet La Giettaz
Address: Route du Col des Aravis, 73590 La Giettaz, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > La Giettaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in La Giettaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet La Giettaz is a brand-new development of 10 self-contained boutique apartments, with private spa and bar complex, located in the picturesque Alpine village of La Giettaz, just a short drive from Megève, La Clusaz, Mont Blanc and the Chamonix Valley, and little more than 5 minutes on our private shuttle to the local ski lift - part of the 445km Evasion Mont Blanc domain. The surrounding area is a year-round natural playground with mountains, valleys, forests, rivers, lakes and waterfalls for you to explore, or simply to sit and gaze at from the comfort of the Chalet. Around every corner, fabulous views stretch across acres of magnificent scenery, under the imposing presence of Mont Blanc and an ever-changing landscape of colours and sounds.Situated in one large chalet, all of our spacious apartments benefit from spectacular views across the valley, and have been comfortably furnished with a touch of luxury to provide restful and welcoming accommodation in a beautiful mountain setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalet La Giettaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing