We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable a relaxing stay”
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bell Inn
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A comfortable a relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A very welcoming and comfortable inn to stay at. Very clean. Owners very obliging. Food is excellent: had a delicious, beautifully cooked evening meal and a great breakfast the next morning. We didn't need to have lunch. Guests are made to feel very relaxed, but cared for. An excellent place to stay if you want to explore the local sites. Excellent value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303NickB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
34
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found The Bell Inn via the internet and booked after reading reviews on trip adviser.Two night stay whilst visiting the area.We were not dissapointed friendly staff,friendly locals, excellent food, good beer,excellent room.The breakfasts could not have been fresher.
The food in the the evening was also excellent we had steaks but be warned they come with the biggist onion rings I have ever seen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slloydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My son and his now wife had their wedding catered for by Gary and his wife, whilst myself and family stayed in The Bell Inn.Food in the hotel and at the wedding was excellent and plentiful. The hotel was spotless and welcoming. Breakfast was enough to see you through the day, freshly prepared at our convenience. Really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.Other customers were travelling on to Southampton to join their cruise, so obviously an excellent stopping off place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent one night and wished I could have stayed more.

Located in the beautiful Wiltshire countryside near the town of Devizes this was a smashing find. £55.00 per night B&B in an 'olde worlde' pub (sorry) is decent enough value.

The rooms were clearly new (replacing the pub's skittle alley) and were spotless with everything you need for a relaxing night stay. Although my room was facing the road (and it isn't a busy one) I heard nothing; the double glazing blocked all sounds.

the pub itself - very nice. Good beers and good food.

The bar staff are very welcoming and friendly. The pub landlord is very friendly and will do whatever is needed to make your stay comfortable.

Wifi was not available in the bedrooms but is in the bar - we were allowed to use a part of the restaurant for the best access - how considerate is that!

I will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConvertedPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

this pub is on a great location for exploring the local area or working near by as I was. The staff were very plesent and polite. The food was good and very well presented, it was let down one night with under cooked fish but the staff delt with it promptly. The beer was excellent and the freshly cooked breakfasts brilliant.
Overall i would recommend this b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent food in a very comfy pub. The accommodation was wonderful - a very clean, tidy room with a good bed. Double glazed windows kept the room quiet and warm. Our host was very helpful friendly. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked The Bell on a whim for a getaway weekend and weren't disappointed. We had a very warm welcome from Gary even though we arrived when the bar was in full swing. Dinner on both evenings was delicious...melt in the mouth cod, and pork..and the local bacon,and sausages for breakfast were a treat,freshly cooked to personal requirements... It is located in a very Old English village, and we were delighted to see drifts of snow drops on a very pleasant walk to the side of the pub.If you want to find the pub using sat nav, we would recommend you use the village name as well as the postcode,or you may have more of a tour of the area than bargained for LOL! Would definitely recommend this Inn, and would visit again...even if it was to just stop by for lunch and a chat with Gary.

Room Tip: there are only 3 rooms to choose from,and they are all quite close to each other.The twin bedroom ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefii M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Cheverell
4.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
243 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
292 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
8.2 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: 57 High Street, Great Cheverell SN10 5TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Great Cheverell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Cheverell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Great Cheverell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing