We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lou Peyrol is excellent”
Review of Auberge Lou Peyrol

Auberge Lou Peyrol
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lou Peyrol is excellent”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This auberge serves wonderful meals, using local produce, always very busy and in some cases it is advisable to book a few days in advance. Have never been disappointed

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    18
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Simply stunning food served with great warmth by Fiona and her team. The duck heart starter was amazing, as was the duck with Asian crust. The rum baba Is also very much worth a try. Actually, we could have happily eaten a whole plate of the appetiser.
We ate here three times over our two weeks holiday and on our last night decided to buy one of the pieces of art on display inside. Fiona couldn’t have been more lovely in enabling us to buy this piece and we are very grateful for your help and assistance. We got it home safely and it looks fab. Thanks very much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattyandalistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, West Yorks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Little French Restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent a beautiful Summers evening eating on the terrace of this lovely little restaurant. Book well ahead as its very popular. We had the set menu and the food was interesting and delicious using fresh local ingredients. Some of the nicest food I have eaten in France.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Not what you would expect to find in such a tiny village (between Bergerac and Ste Alvere) but worth the detour. Limited but stellar menu - 37€, for three courses, choice of three dishes per course plus daily special and à la carte available. All were excellent - local fare but prepared with imagination and creativity to a high standard. Website gives an idea of food but foie gras poêlé, pork fillet with girolles and escargots, and the most fantastic chocolate dessert were my choices. Unusually for the region, chicken and cod (both excellent according to my companions) also featured. Excellent service and ambience- recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speckledjim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great if you like duck and are not vegetarian”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a family run restaurant with a duck menu. The menu is straightforward and the atmosphere is lovely. Personally I found the duck a bit undercooked but I am sure it was how it should be served only I found it a bit bloody.

We didnt book and were lucky to get a table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Lou Peyrol also viewed

 
Saint-Felix-de-Villadeix, Dordogne
Saint-Avit-Senieur, Dordogne
 
Sainte-Alvere, Dordogne
Couze-et-Saint-Front, Dordogne
 

Been to Auberge Lou Peyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing