We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jolly Boatman

The Jolly Boatman
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Kidlington
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: European, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Canal side pub/restaurant set alongside the beautiful Southern Oxford canal. Open everyday for breakfast from 10.00Am until 10.30Pm. Brand new decked and heated, covered canal side patio area. Roaring log fires in winter. Children, dogs always most welcome. Great selection of homemade dishes cooked to order using fresh local produce. Cask Marque quality real ales. Free newspapers, and WiFi.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Food quite good, good portions, reasonable menu. Sadly on the day we ate there it was very quiet and lacking in atmosphere. The waiter was quite intrusive, asking if we were alright every time he passed the table, and again when we paid the bill. Trying a bit too hard.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DawnET51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    81
    52
    24
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food, relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

There were six of us that came for dinner and we ordered a variety of items and they were all very yummy! I especially enjoyed the desserts and was so disappointed that we couldn't return again during our time in Oxfordshire.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLCDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Overpriced!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

There was 6 of us and two children that went here recently and we was the only one in there. I ordered a tuna wrap which was tasteless and very small. There was what can only be described as crumbs on the side for tortilla chips! They were obviously the end of the bag! For £7 it was no way worth it and my friend who had a duck wrap said the same. My husband ordered a baguette which was stale and very dry. Another friend ordered the fish and chips which was lovely, very fresh and large, but other than that a bad, felt very overpriced and everyone who served us looked miserable! We won't be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton le Woods, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An extremely warm welcome on 2 impromptu visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

A lovely atmosphere on 2 very busy evenings that we visited. The staff were extremely pleasant and obliging even though we had not made any reservations on either of our visits.

There was an excellent choice of food and it was delicious.

Would thoroughly recommend especially if you are on a barge holiday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Pretty location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome delicious food little expensive, staff very attentive. Lovely location for a summers day drink.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichelleAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Boatman also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Jolly Boatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing