We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Bicester Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Ranked #1 of 5 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for Bicester Village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were recommended to this hotel by a friend for a great place to stay for a shopping trip planned at Bicester Village. From a positive note the arrival was dealt with very professionally and we were made to feel most welcome. We had upgraded to an Executive room and were informed this was the best room. It was very large, nicely furnished and very clean with lots of lighting. We had quoted a code when we booked the room which entitled us to a free bottle of Prosecco, a plus if you booked direct; unfortunately this did not appear in the room, however it was not until on the way home that we remembered it should have been there (I am sure they would have fixed straight away if we had of notified them whilst we were there) but a shame they had overlooked. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and they were very accommodating for Saturday night in creating two extra places at the table for our friends who wished to join us.. The food was ok but the service not great which posed a few frustrations. The main downside, however was the noise from the restaurant at the end of the evening. We were trying to get to sleep and it was rather noisy with people leaving then after the restaurant was closed there was rather a lot of scraping of chairs (not sure if this is when the cleaning was taking place). Unfortunately this was just too noisy for us and has put us off staying again; I am sure it is a lot quieter during the week. The Tea and Coffee tray in the room is well catered for all tastes, and toiletries provided in the bathroom (no shower cap though). Whilst I appreciate the staff have no control over people being noisy when leaving the establishment the remainder of the noises could have been avoided. Based on other hotels we have stayed in we did feel this was slightly over priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comment.

As you have mentioned the staff were accommodating but service was not good and free room upgrade but not satisfied, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not 100%.

Perhaps we should have been more clear about the prosecco. Customers with direct bookings should ask for the prosecco to a member of staff upon arrival or at the bar later on. Not everyone is entitled to a prosecco and it is hard to keep track of different room reservations.

On Saturday evening we serve around 100 covers and it is difficult to keep the noise down. However the staff are trying to inform noisy customers to keep noise to minimum, but as you have mentioned - we do not have the control over our customers (it is difficult to keep an eye out).
The noise could have been produced by the cleaners and this matter has been dealt with.

Please, accept our apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    92
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
62
264
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Brilliant place - dealt with a table for ten on a busy Saturday with extraordinary ease. No need to pre-book your food, staff were gracious and patient and our food arrived just at the right time (not too soon but not too late) and it was delicious. Good value too. Unlike other gastropubs it didn't leave you feeling ripped off at the end of it. Apparently the rooms are lovely too, but we didn't stay. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PutneyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Bell and hopefully next time you will enjoy the whole package with the overnight stay. Please, do not hesitate to give us a call for best rate available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This tucked away hotel just outside Oxford was excellent, the staff, room and food can only be described as excellent. The welcome was great and no problems, the room was modern, clean and well specced.
If you want a quiet out of the way place but handy for Oxford and within easy reach of the M40 this is it.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the road but you would never know, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gre66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a girls day out to Bicester village. This place is a great find and I am too reluctant to recommend it so that I can keep it a secret :-)
The staff the room the restaurant the service you could not fault any of it. Nothing was too much trouble; we even got a shopping discount voucher.
I highly recommend this place.
The restaurant deserves a review on its own, the food was superb the service was fantastic. If you need to be near oxford go to this hotel you will not regret it.
Henry the manager, come receptionist, come waiter, come everything else, deserves a special thank you for making our stay utterly delightful.
Thank you all at the Bell.

Room Tip: don't miss the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOEAOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We are very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay from top to bottom. I am especially pleased that my assistant manager Henry made it special for you. We hope to see you again soon as there is an endless supply of Bicester Village voucher at the reception here at the Bell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We chose this country inn from Trip Advisor and found yet another glorious welcoming place to stay. We splashed out on a bigger room and it was great..so clean with lovely rain shower and loads of hot water. L'Occitaine toiletries very welcome too... All peaceful and quiet. Very kind and friendly staff and a breakfast I can only describe as superb. Proper French yogurt , real bread for toast, cold and hot buffets , great apple juice and all with a smile.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Avoid the room over the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very pleased to hear you yet again had a lovely stay. It is always nice to hear that our hard work is noticed.
We look forward to having you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester U.K.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have just returned from my second visit to this hotel. Once again I have been impressed by the cleanliness, the service shown in the reception, the bar and the restaurant.

The hotel is situated in the most beautiful countryside and is well worth a visit.

The menu in the restaurant is extensive and reasonable priced as is the wine.

Can highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are allocated room 7 and you are nearly 6' tall, watch your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodders95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

One of the best pubs I have come across in Oxfordshire.
Filled with mingled cream and amber,
I will drain that glass again.
Such hilarious visions clamber
Through the chamber of my brain.
Steven Haken

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
What a joy reading your comment. We can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidlington
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
8.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.8 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Property: The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Address: 11 Oxford Road, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell at Hampton Poyle 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bell at Hampton Poyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Hotel Kidlington
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing