We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique B&B- we will be returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Ranked #1 of 5 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique B&B- we will be returning!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in room 2 which was lovely- light & bright and well decorated. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was great with walk in monsoon shower and complementary L'occitane toiletries (always a nice touch!) and plenty of mirrors for us both to get ready for the wedding we were attending that afternoon. The room overlooks the road (not noisy at all) and has two windows with shutters to block out all the light- for those who wish to sleep in :)

The staff were all extremely friendly and very helpful during our short stay- organising for chilled beers to be in our room for when we returned that evening in case the bar was closed. We also arranged an early check in a couple of days before we were due to arrive- with no issues at all. We ate twice during our stay at The Bell- a light lunch of Prawn skewers & stone baked Prosciutto & mushroom pizza which was delicious. The breakfast the following morning was great- fresh juices, fruit, pastries & yogurts to start, followed by a choice of cooked breakfast options & plenty of tea & coffee. We were a little disappointed that we could not enjoy an evening meal there as we had alternative plans- but will be returning soon to sample the main meals & extensive wine list!

All in all we were extremely impressed by The Bell & will be returning to both the restaurant & the B&B again in the near future.

Room Tip: Room number too was well located- a couple of reviews mention noise issues in the ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Scot_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We always try to go the extra mile and we are very pleased to hear you appreciated that. The whole team look forward to having you here again for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    92
    27
    16
    4
See reviews for
65
274
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Bell twice now, first a family stay and then a couples stay, and loved in both times! We have been extremely lucky with the weather when visiting. even though I loved sitting on the terrace in the sun with Pimms and a good book, it would also be just as lovely sitting in front of the fire with some red wine :)Beautifully decorated rooms and common areas, comfortable beds and duvets (which is a rarity in England). The location is good for Bicester village or daytrips to Oxford, Blenheim, Woodstock etc (you would need a car though). The staff is service minded and friendly. Also the restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced!!! Wonderful place and I will probably come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_31Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent experience from booking to checking out. A lovely location handy for Oxford, Bicester Village and a stones throw the A34 and M40. Beautifully designed bedrooms and public rooms, relaxing theme, welcoming staff excellent beer and reasonably priced wine. Loved the open kitchen where its possible to see the excellent food being prepared - very accessible menu, with tempting daily specials. Lovely breakfast with a focus on the fresh breads which are made in house. Don't hesitate to book, its not the cheapest but neither should it be - effortless quality like this requires investment, to sample it as a customer is a rare delight.

Room Tip: Can't imagine anyone being disappointed with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelawtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted a hotel for the night not too far away from Oxford and boy did we choose the right place!
Well furnished, clean, spacious rooms. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food was lovely and I thought it was great value for money. We hope to be regulars :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guytom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were travelling from the North to Oxford, we were stuck on the A34 when we saw the Bell Inn brown sign.
What a great find!! We were made very welcome even though we hadn't booked, the menu was explained. It was no problem for me to order a small meal.
The food was gorgeous, We both had fish goujons with a chilli source + ice cream for dessert and coffee.
Staff were fantastic, very helpful without being intrusive.
We would love to stay and sample their bedrooms next time we are this way.
Many, many thanks for this "Oasis" off page A34

Room Tip: It was about 2 miles off the A34......keep going it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and ate here for two. A first class experience in pretty much every way. We were in room 5 in Bell Cottage which was nicely appointed although the roll top bath would not suit everyone. The room is compact and the bed only 4ft 6ins but we found it comfortable although the ability to get ventilation is restricted by it being on the ground floor adjacent to the patio from which noise can emanate on a warm evening. A certain amount of traffic noise arises in the mornings.The food is outstandingly good and the extensive menu is supplemented by a fair few daily specials. The cold breakfast buffet was a bit limited but made up for by freshly cooked full English and eggs any style you want. The staff are all friendly and efficient and any minor problems are soon righted. Niggles include nasty, if new, metal patio seats which are noisy and not pretty, and you need to watch out for a few low beams or suffer the consequences!
These are minor in the overall scheme of things and I would still thoroughly recommend The Bell.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We do appreciate your feedback and we are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you have mentioned, room 5 has indeed a standard double bed and low beamed ceilings. It is only one of our two standard double rooms. We have four fabulous executive bedrooms with a super-king size bed. The next time you would like to stay with us again, just give us a call and we will ensure that you can experience the luxury of The Bell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've first went to The Bell in February 2010 (I reviewed it but I can't find the review?), and it was excellent. The rooms were great value (£75), the breakfast was excellent and aloof with variety (they had a fruit tray on our table).

We've been several times since then (my girlfriends parents came down to visit a couple of times a year), but unfortunately its been getting slightly worse every time. The prices have been increasing steadily to a point where an average price is hitting £130-£150 (which is getting onto posh hotel prices). This has been compounded by the breakfasts getting slightly worse. The fruit tray on the table turned 'buffet style' where we had to pick from the middle, then went to a couple of pieces of fruit, to a point where they just had some pineapple in a bowl. The full breakfasts as well have just not had the 'appeal' of before.

Saying that, the rooms are great, comfortable and clean, and the showers are fantastic.

I think that the Bell is a great place, when it does it right its a wonderful spot. The evening meals (although the portion sizes have reduced a little bit) is still one of the best places to eat in Oxford. However, to stay here DBB would cost you a little more than £200 for two of you, and that is a little expensive.The Bell was a great place when you compared it to other guest houses around York, and even against compatible hotels at the time . However, now the prices have gone up a little bit, its struggled to give that 'bit extra'.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are excellent, some of the smaller rooms are quite over priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChecklistCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidlington
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
224 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
717 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,052 reviews
8.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Property: The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Address: 11 Oxford Road, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell at Hampton Poyle 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bell at Hampton Poyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Hotel Kidlington
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing