We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit - love it - never disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Ranked #1 of 6 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed this weekend with some girl friends as part of a Bicester Village shopping trip.
This is the 3rd time I have stayed here and it is as good as always. We stayed in room 1 which was a fab room that overlooked the car park. It was an enormous room with a huge, huge bed and a lovely ensuite shower room.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were amazing. the staff are so accommodating and nothing is too much trouble.
We will definitely be going back for visit number 4.
I can't praise them highly enough

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are in the main hotel building and so are very handy to get to after dinner, both are g...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you very much ladies. It is always nice and a lot of fun when you are around. We look forward to another party!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for The Bell at Hampton Poyle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 481 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our son got married in Oxford in December last year. The wedding party stayed the night before at The Bell and we had the wedding reception there in the late afternoon and evening. All the staff were very friendly and the manageress,in particular, did everything she could to make the whole occasion go extremely well. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was really good and many of the guests commented that it was the best wedding reception food they had ever had. The atmosphere was perfect - a cosy country pub but with style and comfort. They managed to accommodate over 90 guests for a sit-down meal followed by a band and dancing until midnight. The rooms were very comfortable and well-appointed. Perfect setting for a winter wedding reception.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spurriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. The wedding was great fun and we all enjoyed it. We do hope the newly weds are doing well and we look forward to having you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and i stayed one night in room 5, lovely room nice furnishings however when we arrived the room was cold , the person showing us to our room did turn heater on but would have been nice to have a warm room to arrive too. We decided to have a soak in the lovely roll top bath only to realise when getting out that we had no towels except hand towels not great in a cold bathroom !
We had a drink at the bar and stood opposite open kitchen clearly the chef had forgotten it was open and could be seen eating whilst serving !
saying that the food could not be faulted, we had 3 courses and all excellent, I recommend the king prawn sharing starter.
My husband a head chef himself was impressed and enjoyed his meal too. the staff were friendly and attentive.
Nice touch being given fresh milk for tea/coffee in a flask
shame the room only had a double bed

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conormaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed with my wife in room 1 for 3 nights. The room is enormous, warm and light with excellent furniture and linen. The bed is queen sized, with ample sitting area and facilities. You are given fresh milk for your tea in the morning and the heating was easy to control, we had the windows open most nights whigh showed just how quiet the location is.The ensuite was the only let down, poor maintenance or build of the shower had a white silicon seal not doing its job, the shower tray looked as though it had dropped and left a gap along the two walls letting water stagnate out of site. The staff are fantastic as is the restaurant and breakfast. The restaurant is popular and is a must to book on fridays and saturdays. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the back, is warm, quiet and enormous
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here on two separate occasions in the last week, having previously stayed some months previously. Staff are lovely, really frienldy and helpful, the rooms are great too, on this occasion I was in room 3 first and subsequently in room 1 on the second visit. The furnishings and ambience in the rooms are really good, very comfortable, warm enough (in January) with very controllable radiators. Both rooms were very quiet indeed despite being next to the road, but Hampton Poyle is not a busy place.

Food in the restaurant was great on my summer visit (dinner), i only had time for a breakfast this time and it too was just right. I was able to order exactly what I wanted and it was cooked to order.

The only disappointment on both occasions this week was the smell in the bathrooms of both rooms, overpoweringly smelt of stagnant water, as if the u-bends in the sink or shower were not working. I did mention this to the staff after stay number one last week, and they re-booked me into a different room for the second stay.

Earlier in the year I stayed in one of the smaller ground floor cottage rooms, and did NOT have the same problem. Hopefully this is a transient issue that can be dealt with easily. That is the only reason I have rated the rooms as average, otherwise they would be Excellent.

I am sure The Bell will resolve the plumbing issue, I'd be happy to stay again as it is so close to our Kidlington office, could be an ideal venue for our clients and visiting staff

Room Tip: Ground floor cottages have very low ceilings and are a bit smaller, rooms 1 and 3 are a very good si...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to have such kind, returning guests. In regards to the plumbing issue you have mentioned - as you are well aware England saw one of it's record years with rainfall, and Hampton Poyle was by no means an exception! We apologise that this problem took a certain amount of time to fix, but it has been addressed and dealt with. We trust that this did not tarnish an otherwise enjoyable stay with us, and we would welcome your return! As you mentioned, your business is nearby and it would be a pleasure for us to discuss with you directly any way in which we can accommodate yourself, colleagues and clients for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had Sunday lunch at the Bell Inn and was disappointed with the food. We all have roast dinners which were served warm and the roast potatoes tasted stale!!! The quality of the meats was very good but it was such as shame the the food was not hotter. Puddings were really good and the restaurant looks lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank bambi1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

We appreciate you comments, and rest assured your feedback has been passed over to our Head Chef. Sunday lunch, as you can imagine, is one of our busiest sessions of the week, averaging at least 100 covers every week. We apologise that your lunchtime meal was not a first class experience, and thank-you for bringing this to our attention. As a small and busy place, we pride ourselves on top quality food and service. We provide a personal touch, and any problems that should arise are better dealt with at the time, so that we can ensure that every one of our customers leave well fed and fully satisfied with their dining experience here at The Bell. We hope you will not forget us, and our reassurance that your next meal here will not be found wanting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My first ever review on here.
Booked after finding the hotel website.
Stayed for one night on 31st December 2012.
Arrived for dinner at 6.30pm which was first class. A good choice of menu and such good value for money.
The service and attention to detail was first class.
Out into Oxford for the evening then back to the hotel. Had a great nights sleep in a small but lovely comfortable room.
Breakfast was lovely.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Will definitely be going back.
Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making it a great start to 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidlington
3.5 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,659 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
643 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
232 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Address: 11 Oxford Road, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range: $115 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell at Hampton Poyle 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bell at Hampton Poyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Hotel Kidlington
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing