We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Ranked #1 of 6 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My first ever review on here.
Booked after finding the hotel website.
Stayed for one night on 31st December 2012.
Arrived for dinner at 6.30pm which was first class. A good choice of menu and such good value for money.
The service and attention to detail was first class.
Out into Oxford for the evening then back to the hotel. Had a great nights sleep in a small but lovely comfortable room.
Breakfast was lovely.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Will definitely be going back.
Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making it a great start to 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for The Bell at Hampton Poyle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 481 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited for lunch 28 Dec 2012. Very disappointing. Soup miniscule. Venison very nearly inedible, and had to abandon it. Chef's reply was that "it sometimes comes out like that".

If so I suggest they should take it off the menu.

Sorry but food was truly unacceptable. Valid customer concerns were ignored.

Service was OK and staff pleasant, but let down by what they had to serve.

JS Oxford

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JamesRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

We appreciate you comments, and rest assured your feedback has been passed over to our Head Chef. Sunday lunch, as you can imagine, is one of our busiest sessions of the week, averaging at least 100 covers every week. We apologise that your lunchtime meal was not a first class experience, and thank-you for bringing this to our attention. As a small and busy place, we pride ourselves on top quality food and service. We provide a personal touch, and any problems that should arise are better dealt with at the time, so that we can ensure that every one of our customers leave well fed and fully satisfied with their dining experience here at The Bell. We hope you will not forget us, and our reassurance that your next meal here will not be found wanting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with a friend. Room beautiful, clean, fresh and super comfy big bed. Restaurant and bar staff very attentive and food just brilliant. Better than the parsonage in Oxford . The bathroom was super clean and huge open shower. Feather pillows - always a must and the bell delivered on all areas of service, quality and comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Although out in the sticks this small hotel/inn is a great find. The food is lovely, service excellent and rooms very well fitted out. Our room was spacious with a large comfy bed. The shower was excellent; I've seen 4/5 star hotels not as well kitted out as this room. the only minor criticism was that it was a little noisy being over the restaurant but being a small country hotel people were not eating late.

Room Tip: We had the best room in the hotel and it was lovely and spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed in The Bell at Hampton Poyle. Lovely staff and very welcoming. Beautiful room in a cottage attached to the main building with a lovely cosy cottage feel. Spotlessly clean with a really comfy bed with lots of character and plenty of little touches such as a deep roll top bath and L'Occitane bath oils. We had a gorgeous continental breakfast and Illy Coffee which is a rarity in a hotel. Last night my husband and I had a beautiful meal in the restaurant which was very good value for money. Tried the famous pizza and was not disappointed. Have just arrive home and booked a weekend for my niece and her fiancé next year. Chose this as a base for visiting nearby Oxford and I feel as though it was the right choice for us. Looking forward to visiting Oxford again next Summer and will definitely stay at The Bell again. Very happy and relaxed.

Room Tip: Ours was right net to the main building but could not hear a thing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind response, we appreciate your lovely comments. We look forward to having your niece and her fiancé later this year, and we also look forward to seeing you again. We are glad you nitced all the little things, in our experience it is these that matter most!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a fab hotel. We loved everything about it. The location is great, just a 10 minute bus journey into the city centre in a quiet little village. The Bell is gorgeous - the restaurant is decorated beautifully and the food amazing! The staff are so friendly and helpful. We stayed in room1 which was one of the nicest hotel rooms I have stayed in. Very large size and again well decorated. The bathroom was stunning - no bath but a wonderful walk in shower which was really powerful. There is nothing negative I can say about our stay and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 was great. We asked for a room with a bath but were told that they were slightly smaller so w...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zadadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed recently at the Bell . Found the room quite claustrophobic and this was the autumn - low beams I just managed to miss them and I am 5ft 9ins. Lovely bathroom with roll top bath.Evening meal made the visit great - well cooked Beef ...delicious .Would I return ? I loved the food but not so sure of the room . Expensive for what it was .

Room Tip: Room 6 a downstairs room with lowish beam
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jude16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidlington
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,660 reviews
3.5 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
643 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Address: 11 Oxford Road, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range: $118 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell at Hampton Poyle 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bell at Hampton Poyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Hotel Kidlington
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing