We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWFUL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Brean B&B and Inns
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

I can honestly say that this is the worst place I've ever stayed in. I'm not particularly fussy but have travelled extensively and stayed at the old rectory as we couldn't get anywhere else at the time. We were showed into a motel style room and be aware, all the rooms can accomodate pets so the first thing was the doggy smell. The furniture was extremely tatty and the bedding wasn't crisp and clean as is advertised. We asked to be moved and were given the room next door. Someone had used the toilet in this room and it hadn't been flushed. Again the doggy smell was appartent, but we had nowhere else to go so had to stick it out. Breakfast was awful. It is advertised as a somerset breakfast - we had cheap sausages, and awful bargain basement potato croquets - the cheapest you could find. She must have a black dog herself as there was a black dog hair on my plate. Please don't think I'm anti dogs, I just don't want to sleep in the same bed as them or want to share my breakfast with them. As I mentioned, I'm not fussy and only want somewhere clean to sleep in and a decent breakfast where advertised. There are far better places to stay in the area and she charges top notch. I hope this review helps you chose a better place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyanydots666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    51
    35
    22
    33
See reviews for
60
108
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stourbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

Had a long weekend stay at The Old Rectory, could not fail on anything, breakfasts were good, accomodation was good, and service was very friendly. Whilst Brean is not the quietest of places, it is ideally located to travel to other areas in Somerset. Everything there is child friendly, garden is great for them to run around, and easily to keep an eye on them. Would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandbob675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

me and a few family members stayed here and we thought it was lovely clean and so so so comftable we all agreed we'd stay again, and the breakfast was gorgous. a definate winner.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayGALBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

The website makes it sound delightful but actually it was disgusting. When we arrived we
saw lots of dog poo in the garden. We waited at least 10 minutes before someone checked us in. When we entered our room, we were taken aback by the awful state of the room and the revolting smell. When we opened the window we could instantly smell tobacco smoke. Cupboard handles were falling off, we found old food in the cupboard and in the fridge. Also the dustbins had not been emptied. We had to clean the bathroom before we could use it because it was filthy.

It was the worst place we have ever stayed in. So much so, we left early after leaving our overcooked and inedible breakfast.
A LITTLE ADVICE TO THE COOK: Poached eggs should be poached for 4 minutes not 4 hours.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brean hotels

Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed at the old rectory as we were in Somerset on a golfing break . Our room was adequate although I wouldn't say particularly comfy. Two upright dining type chairs were the only available seating. Although the website states there is a guest lounge on arrival I asked about this and was told "we've done away with that to provide more seating in the dining area.

Our room was above the conservatory (dining room) which the owners had a dinner party for themselves and friends/family which meant I had to close the curtains early and not look out of the window as I looked straight in on them.

Breakfast was nothing special 1 rasher of bacon and some scrambled egg - we asked for bread instead of toast and recieved 1 slice each we asked for more tea - we are still waiting for that. We made an excuse and booked out the next morning and would not return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golferCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch Worcs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

What a fantastic weekend we had , Helen and her staff were wonderful nothing was to much trouble. We booked 8 rooms fri night sat night for our guests everyone said they were good value and the breakfast was FAB. so much choice. The gardens looked beautiful. Our wedding reception for 35 guests was held on the sat the food was superb, all the little extra touches made our day so very special, the children were made very welcome and the cream teas are to die for !. Recommend for small weddings and parties especially if you get the good weather so you can enjoy the gardens . Thank you Helen it was wonderful .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-avon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Enjoyed a two night break. Staff friendly and met other interesting travellers. Situated in a nice part of Brean. Near to shop and bus routes.
Rooms small, but adequate. Good English breakfast served in pleasant conservatory.
Would book again for a short break.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christineguest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brean
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#6 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Church Road, Brean, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea > Brean
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Rectory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Brean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing