We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning decor, extremely friendly and helpful staff!”
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahanda Kanda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning decor, extremely friendly and helpful staff!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (end April) at the end of a week tour of Sri Lanka and had a fantastic stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We specifically asked if we could have Sri Lankan curry on our last night and were given a selection of different curries, all delicious! We had an enormous villa beautifully decorated as is the whole hotel. George the owner has exquisite taste and personally welcomes you to his home. Our only little gripe was the two outside showers. Whilst previous reviewers obviously loved them we found that in the hot and humid weather no sooner had we showered then you needed another one as the shower area was stifling hot. Shaving and putting makeup on (not at the same time) was extremely difficult due to the heat! Plus at times there were tiny ants all round the sinks! I have to say they looked stunning but for us an indoor bathroom was preferable! If you intend to go end April/May ask for a villa with an inside bathroom - or not?

Room Tip: As above decide if you would prefer an inside or outside bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimT755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    47
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
315
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed 3 lovely days and nites at KK. The setting is gorgeous..lush Sri Lankan countryside, in a tea plantation surrounded by gorgeous tropical gardens. We visited Galle a few times but found the country atmosphere at KK to be not as hectic as Galle and not as hot with gentle wafting breezes most of the day. Staff were very good in looking after all our needs and the dinner we had there also delicious. Loved the collection of dogs and Rosie the cat wondering throughout the hotel. The only slight negative (which will be fixed this month apparently) was the slightly murky pool which wasn't as inviting as it should have been.

Room Tip: Stayed in Tamarid and enjoyed the views of the country side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiDiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The very charming and enthusiastic George Cooper, has made a mini paradIse at Kahanda Kanda for us all to share, although briefly, unfortunately. As interesting as the Galle Fort area is, I feel that staying outside it gives you a more wide ranging experience of this little corner of the glorious island that is Sri Lanka. Some maintainence is required to the suites, pool and external walls, but they plan to close for a month from early May to attend to this - reinvesting in infrastructure is expensive, but essential to maintain the edge on competition, which I would think will grow now that stability has returned to the island. All the suites are generous in size, and full of interesting pieces which reflect the eclectic taste of George himself. Water pressure was poor during our stay, but the rains are very late, and I think this was the cause. As with all properties we have stayed in during this trip, the staff proved smiling and wonderfully helpful, the food delicious and the wine list good. Both the bar and dining salas are stunning, with fabulous vistas worth lingering over.
Should you desire a swim in the beautiful ocean waters, ask the staff to organise a trip to Why Beach, a private establishment right on the beach, with safe swimming, and a tiny, but excellent Italian restaurant to keep you supplied with Campari/ Pinot Grigio and fabulous seafood and pastas. We had dinner in town a couple of times and found the Lobster curry at The Fort Printers sensational, likewise the Sri Lankan Curry feast of ten curries and sambals at the beautiful Amangalla.
Last, but certainly not least, I must mention the sweetest (and chattiest!) tortoiseshell kitty, Rosie. She stole my heart, and knew it, so when she says hello, which she will, give her a pat from me please.

Room Tip: Peacock, Tamarind and Mango are closest to the pool/ dining area, but all have great locations and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizandAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for my daughter's wedding and it is an absolutely stunning hotel with fabulous surroundings being set on a tea plantation. Monkeys in the trees, mongoose in the garden, fantastic rooms, we had a double outside shower so we could shower under the stars!
Excellent service, lovely food, splendid pool and just everything was just perfect, including the weather.
George couldn't have been more helpful, and the attention to detail for the wedding itself was incredible. Everyone had a superb time and we were indeed sorry to leave.This is a fabulous place, where everything about it is 5 star and I would recommend this to anyone who wants an idyllic location.

Room Tip: They are all marvellous, but the Dubu suite has to be the most fantastic room I have ever seen in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterfin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

After a 9 hour flight and 2 hour drive, most of it spent trying to get out of Colombo, Kahanda Kanda was the perfect hotel for us. We had a beautifully appointed, secluded room.... the Hellaconia Suite. The food here was some of the best we tasted in Sri Lanka. A request for a cup of tea by the pool one grey afternoon was served with some fabulous, just baked as still warm, lemon cake. The attention to detail was impressive. Your room will be closed up around 5pm and the mosquito plug ins switched on.....
The host was charming and basically organised almost our whole stay in Sri Lanka. Two nights at KK, two at The Galle Fort Hotel and two at Why Beach plus recommending Leopard Safaris.
We were so impressed with Sri Lanka that my husband has just returned there to explore this beautiful country further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for four days of our honeymoon and it is everything you hope it might be and then a lot more, the location is staying the villas are amazingly the food is simply divine the service is five stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TommyHawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent our (shortened) honeymoon in KK and loved every single bit of it. The nicely designed suites, the outdoor shower, the breathtaking view from the gym, the freely roaming monkeys, the excellent food (we only dined outside once and regretted it), the amazing landscape, the warm and welcoming service and even the "jungle alarm clock" at 0530 in the morning (I am a light sleeper though).
We stayed in the Tea-suite, which is furthest away (with the exception of the Peacock suite if i am not mistaken) from the dining & reception area.
The whole compound breathes of relaxation and calmness. No children under 12 are allowed which adds to the welcoming silence (unfortunately this is the exact reason why we are not going to be allowed to KK for the next 12 years :-) ).
The KK is absolutely great for winding down, but can also serve as basis for excursions to the White-Tea-plantation or nearby Galle.
George & Crew - thanks for a truely memorable vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iguacu317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angulugaha
6.4 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
378 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,405 reviews
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#14 of 32 in Unawatuna
36 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
257 reviews
6.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Property: Kahanda Kanda
Address: | Kahanda Kanda, Angulugaha 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kahanda Kanda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing