We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Europe meets Asia with a great big tick”
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahanda Kanda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Europe meets Asia with a great big tick”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came with great intentions of doing the lake trip to Cinnamon and Bird Islands but the lure of the wrap around verandah of Tea and Garden Rooms was just too much. KK is a dreamy place to hang out for a couple of days, either at the start of an adventure around Sri Lanka or before you head to the airport for wherever. From the garlands of flowers upon arrival to the Ipod stand in the bedrooms, the thickest mattress protectors ever, and the fantastic views either across to Koggola Lake or jungle, KK is a winner.

One of our party did a bike trip around the lake and played cricket with the local lads; others went for morning strolls in the nearby villages and others stayed verandah or pool side.

The rooms are spacious with an eclectic mix of Europe meets Asian furnishings - which works well.

All in all, a good place to hangout before heading to Galle Fort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    47
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
314
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It feels like this hotel is the embodiment of a dream - a fantasy come true for a man with a vision to create a little heaven on a hill.

I know it's a big call, but this really is a special place and once in a while, you owe it to yourself to splurge...

And splurge we did, with the Dubu suite, a Balinese villa transported to Sri Lanka and adapted to create a lovely free-standing home overlooking the tea plantation. Either side is an open air bathroom with sunken stone shower (hard to explain, but really nicely done). And out front, a private semi-circular pool wrapped around a tree and some decking to while away the warm afternoons.

Back up the hill at the main hotel, there's another pool (why bother when you have your own) and some great food which isn't nearly as expensive as you'd expect. Staff are attentive at all times and you are really made to feel welcome and cared for at all times of day.

While a fair way out of Galle, it's an easy tuk-tuk ride or take the local's bus and see how the locals get around - lots of fun!

Room Tip: Splash out and stay at Dubu - it's heaven on earth!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nancy T.
We spent 2 amazingly relaxed and happy days at KK just after Christmas this year, decompressing from a hard house move. It was simply wonderful! We had decided on a do-as-little-as-possible holiday, and just enjoy the hotel. Friends had told us about its beautiful setting, and special ambience, and all was as good as expected, marked by Breakfast was interspersed with preening peacocks! We will try to stay longer on our next visit, because we are certainly intending to go again!

Room Tip: All the 7 rooms are large and beautifully appointed, with wonderful views and a beautiful deck outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent two happy nights at this lovely 7 bedroom boutique. It is located in wonderful tropical surroundings with great views and all sorts of birds to be seen. The rooms are excellent and there is a lovely large drawing room type of reception area and just next door a similar dining area. The swimming pool is large and overlooks the gardens. I can recommend KK to anyone who wants a quiet time in spectacular countryside

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights over New Years.

The hotel is a beautiful spot perched on top of the hills behind the main beaches of Galle with a view of the forests and a river. It's different from the traditional beach experience in Galle, but in a magical way as you are transported away once you enter the property.
The menu is planned daily, and the proprietor, George, is always present and fussing about his guests' comfort.
Exceptionally for a boutique hotel of this side, the staff is impeccably trained and ready to go out of their way to help.
If you can't stay here it is worth a visit as a lunch spot or even better, a sunset drink and dinner (views....!)
Only drawback is that being a pretty open property, you will encounter the local insects in and around your room. So if the thought of a lizard on your roof scares you, other more strerile, and less beautiful, locations are a better bet.

Strongly recommend the bicycle tour from the hotel for your own little piece of serendipity.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a lovely and very unusual hotel with detached big bedrooms spread around a beautiful central open air lounge and restaurant all set in the lush Sri Lanka jungle. It was relaxed, fun, and had good unobtrusive service and very good food. It's major asset is the warm bonhomie of its somewhat eccentric owner, george,who imparted warmth,wisdom,charm and humour and he made our stay very special. The 90 minute bike ride through the paddy fields to the beach is must do, one of our best days.

Room Tip: My daughter loved mango suite with its lovely balcony and stunning jungle views with peacocks and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

i was at the this wonderful boutique hotel with some guests who came from a china media team and found it to be an extraordinarily beautiful hotel for high end honeymooners or nature lovers to hide away and get that exotic rest that u well deserve. i would call this experience a paradise bliss in srilanka.

Room Tip: the peacock room appealed to me but best is for u to go and select the beautiful rooms for yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angulugaha
2.6 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
6.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
10.3 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.6 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Property: Kahanda Kanda
Address: | Kahanda Kanda, Angulugaha 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kahanda Kanda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing