We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and always with a smile ...”
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahanda Kanda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and always with a smile ...”
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Our three night stay in Kahanda Kanda was a very special one and one that we shall remember fondly. We almost forgot that the outside world existed and surrendered ourselves to the luxurious surroundings and service of the place. We slept in the most comfortable beds imaginable, dined like royalty, swam in the huge pool and gazed down over the tea plantations and river below. When we were feeling energetic we strolled around the estate, admiring the flora and fauna and even mustered some energy to get on the treadmill! Before dinner, we dabbled at chess while sipping our gin and tonics in the beautiful outside sitting room, stuffed full of carefully collected treasures. We so enjoyed chatting to the wonderful team of staff who work at the hotel who were always so accomodating and helpful ...... their smiles were totally genuine and we had the overwhelming impression that they all enjoyed being part of such a terrific set up. The owner, George, has clearly put a lot of time, effort and above all love into creating this place and is eager to ensure that it remains exclusive and special. We shall visit again, we hope, one day.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ZanySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    47
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
314
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire/Dorset border
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We arrived, exhausted, at midnight in a monsoon feeling terrible but the warmth of the welcome and the restorative drink revived us and was the beginning of our tremendous stay here. George and his staff could not have been more attentive and helpful, organising vans or tuk-tuks to take us to the cricket or the fort, or anywhere we wanted to go. We asked for a curry one evening and suddenly the whole dining room was transformed to low tables and cushions to sit on and a delicious meal. We left to travel around the country and came back to a villa close to KK for our last 4 nights and George even telephoned our new place to see if we wanted a lift out to a special place for New Year's Eve. I think that goes above and beyond the call of duty and his thoughtfulness was hugely appreciated even though we were old curmudgeons and stayed home. I hope we go back to Sri Lanka one day and KK will definitely be on our itinerary. Our two teenage boys loved your pool and the food and the tuk-tuk journies and we all enjoyed the peacefulness of the place away from the hubbub of Galle and the coast road.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget-Rodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We only spent a few days at Kahanda Kanda, but the beauty of the place made such an impression on me that I can recall every detail of its layout, every member of its staff, every piece of furniture in our lovely room. It is a place to savour. The love and talent that has gone into the design is visible even in the most minute detail. Everything about the villa exudes an expert's appreciation of taste and style--everything from the perfectly coordinated meals served in the open air dining room to the composition of the elegant guestrooms and the immaculate yellow umbrellas (which match the grand sculptural wall that runs from one end of the property to the other) waiting for you by every door in case of rain. You can spend your days at Kahanda Kanda touring a working tea plantation, going on a guided bike ride through the local countryside, travelling to a nearby beach, or just reading on your balcony or swimming in the enormous pool (all of these activities are coordinated for you by the staff, if you wish). Nights, you can sit in the lounge and chat with other guests, have expertly prepared cocktails and enjoy dinner at a beautifully set table overlooking a valley full of fireflies. Kahanda Kanda was truly a perfect visit for us. We could not have imagined a better experience.

  • Liked — The overall interior design.
  • Disliked — It is a little bit secluded--make arrangements to travel there before you set out to find it!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahdrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Savinien sur Charente, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Beautifully located on a bluff looking across the tea estate to Lake Koggolla in the distance, Kahanda Kanda offers the ultimate in discreet hideaways. It feels as though one is a personal guest of the owner, whose sense of style pervades the architecture, interiors and furnishings of the handful of villas that form KK. The food is excellent and the service immaculate. Well worth spending a few extra dollars on the Peacock Suite which comes with its own private terrace and not one but two outdoor bathrooms. The fireflies after dark are magical. Should you feel the need for a change of scene it is not far to Galle or to the magnificent beaches of the southern coast. We can't recommend KK highly enough.

  • Liked — Peace, calm, views, food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Langtang50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

We spent 4 days at KK as part of a 4-centre Sri Lankan holiday over Christmas. I can honestly say that if I had to choose only one to revisit, this would be it.

The place is extremely stylish and effectively laid out: the suite we were staying in (Mango) seemed very private, as did all the others. The 'communal' areas all had a feeling of luxury and space - as more people arrived it just enhanced the atmosphere rather than seeming more crowded.

Food and service were uniformly excellent. The range of the chef was impressive - Sri Lankan, Malay, English food all perfectly prepared. I loved the fruit crumble especially - a real English dessert with a local twist. George and his staff go to some pains to make you feel welcome but without seeming overbearing. It seems to me that the right balance has been struck to allow a luxurious and relaxing stay.

My one tiny gripe would be that both KK's and Red Dot's websites are a little bit coy about how far it is from Galle. It's half an hour by car. This isn't a problem, but the carefully-worded descriptions on the web are a little misleading. We were going into Galle each day to watch the cricket, and half an hour in the van each way was mildly irritating (but no more than mildly, I must add).

I'd be very keen to go back one day, maybe as part of a group hiring the whole place. I imagine that would be superb.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balhamtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bverly Hills, CA
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My stay at KK was truly an exquisite experience, from the meticulous and friendly service to the architecture and design.

What a pleasure. I have promised myself that I must return to this hidden paradise again and again. Next time with friends - to prove it actually exists.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2007

KK is in short a magnificent place with all the charm (and more) you would expect from a boutique hotel that does not come cheap. Apart from the location and property itself it is indeed the staff that makes a difference and where it really distingushes itselves from other luxurious resorts (and there are some of those in the neighborhoud as well).
We combined a stay at The Fortress with soem days at KK. An ideal combination since it provides you with the best of both worlds. Should you have to make a choice then KK is definately the one to pick.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelmLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angulugaha
2.6 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
6.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
10.3 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.6 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Property: Kahanda Kanda
Address: | Kahanda Kanda, Angulugaha 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kahanda Kanda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing