We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lazy Otter(Stretham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
62
60
29
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
60
29
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmile drive homegood selection of alesfull english breakfastvisiting elythe rooms were nicewhitebaitnewmarket racesely areaeggs benedicttea and coffeebreakfast was includednice breakfaststayed nightsnight stayan evening mealchurch clock
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 177 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2010

A very nice pub restaurant in a lovely village. Not too far to get into Ely which is a great place to look round with enough shops, pubs and a pretty riverside. The Red Lion has a pleasant comfy bar area with a decent restaurant. The rooms were very modern and clean. Overall for the £30 we paid, it was a fantastic bargain. My main impression was how friendly the people were.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at the Red Lion for one night in August 09 and were really pleased with the rooms. They have recently been updated and are really modern, clean and comfortable (see photos). We had breakfast the next morning which was an excellent standard and well worth the £7 extra. We didn't eat at the pub in the evening, but did have a few drinks later on. It is a really friendly,cosy and modern pub. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

A group of seven of us stopped at The Red Lion last summer for my 40th. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't dine in the evening owing to other arrangements in Ely but sampled the delights of the bar earlier in the evening and late into the night. Staff were friendly and breakfast was first rate. A thoroughly good place and VERY sensibly priced indeed. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thorntonmothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

I have to disagree slightly with this post. What the reviewer did not point out was that they stayed overnight on a Sunday evening. The cooking goes from 12 noon until 8pm on a Sunday. All other times (I stayed on a Wednesday evening) the restaurant is available from 7pm until 9pm for first orders, and remains open until they have finished their meal. Pretty much like any normal restaurant to be honest.

I found the room exceptionally clean, with a village style and was more than adequate. All rooms had ceiling fans, and it was extremely quiet.

The staff were more than helpful, anything I needed they were able to assist, and double checked that I was happy with the answer.

My only criticism would be that during hot weather / late evenings, the beer garden is situated directly next to the accommodation space, and whilst I am sure that the staff would encourage them to leave soon after closing, people were still around until midnight. However, closing the windows and putting the fan on meant it did not really concern me greatly.

All rooms are non smoking, and the food was very very good. Incidentally, if you have a tomtom, just put in the village of stretham, because the postcode will take you to Ely! Its the correct postcode its tomtoms fault, also new roads mean that they are not on it either!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier-Irwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We booked the Red Lion on the Late Rooms website and chose it because it was close to Ely where we planned to visit the following day. We arrived at the pub at 8.05pm and checked in. We dumped our bags and came down to the bar for a drink and a look at the menu. It was then we were informed that the restaurant closed for new orders at 8pm. It would have been nice if we'd been told that when we arrived as we could probably have gone straight in. There were still people in the restaurant when we returned some 3 hours later. We did ask if there were any other places to eat but were told that there was only a fish and chip shop in the village.

Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. We had a hospitality tray for making tea, coffee and hot chocolate and there was a trouser press , hairdryer and TV. The bathroom was quite small and had a shower cubicle rather than a bath. We encountered a problem with the hot water the following morning when it suddenly stopped and went cold. We later found out that we weren't alone and just about everyone else had had the same thing happen.

My husband had the cooked breakfast and said it was very tasty and filling.

2  Thank ChampagnePaulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews