We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good country pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George of Spaldwick

The George of Spaldwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Spaldwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We was staying at the B&B over the road, and had see that they was a pub near by on there web page so booked to eat in the restaurant . My husband had the scalps with black pudding I had the goats cheese with caramelised onions, our mains where Cornish place with cursed potato and chorizo , withe fresh veg. The other main was sirloin stake home made chunky chips with mushroom with a sauce. All was excellent. Services was pretty good only thing that let them down was my late arrival of veg. This is NOT pub food but restaurant stranded, we found that it was good value for money and will be calling again when in the area. We had local bear with the meal and after and the bill was about £56

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bjdigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    110
    27
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
225 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ideal for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had Sunday lunch and found the food and service to be very good. Plenty to eat, but not so for all the deserts. Nice and quiet with great menu and drinks choices. Only issue is that they need to serve kids food at a more temperate temperature. What was delivered was far too hot. Lovely village to visit and a lovely restaurant to eat Sunday lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_from_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food if Willing To WAIT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We called at the George Both for lunch and also again in the evening for dinner.

The service at lunch time was attentive and quick my Prawn Sandwich with Side Salad was up there with best my wife was equally impressed with her Chicken and Bacon Salad.

We booked a table for 7 PM for dinner. The food was certainly of a high standard and that went some way towards the waits we endured. 45 minutes for starters and slightly longer for the mains. The waiting certainly took the edge of what would have been a five start review.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Legend_Lives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Plenty of atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had lunch here on our way to a wedding in the village. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We had a prawn sandwich with side salad and it was served with delicious chips. My friend had a continental platter which she said was excellent. Our 11 year old had the usual chicken nuggets and chips and peas - again very good the nuggets were a good size with plenty of chicken. All together a good start to an enjoyable day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Glad I called at The George.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staying in a local B & B for the night. Saw the sign for The George on the A14 thought I'd give it a try. A decent looking place with adequate parking at the rear. Front entrance to bar area was reasonably busy with bar meal seating area. Decided to go for the restaurant. Pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. Decor and furnishing suited to the age and character of the building.

Friendly welcome, good menu, great food and good service. Enjoyed a decent steak, cooked as requested with accompanying, chunky, fries. etc. Missed the starter but enjoyed a really good lemon tart pudding.

Well worth a visit. Good value and glad I called at The George. Above average fayre in a quality environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George of Spaldwick also viewed

Godmanchester, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The George of Spaldwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing