We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, Intimate, Sumptious and Good value, Fantastic”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Lion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $7 - $26
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
uk
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Classy, Intimate, Sumptious and Good value, Fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This has to be the best pub in and around Cambridge. It has everything.

Those who have read my other reviews will realise that I can be extremely harsh, but I have to say, even before you sit down this place has the WOW factor and is exactly how a really good pub should be.

Last night I ate at another pub which had 5 star reviews from lots of people, this one has mainly 4 star reviews, but this place is a class above the other place and I must say its extremely hard to fault..

This pub is spacious and has a a great variety of furniture in different styles, it mixes old with contemporary and has funky lighting and lovely fresh and clean feel. This kind of pub is just not found in Cambridgeshire, its just too big and too classy. Its like going to a Hertfordshire pub, its just wonderful

There's a huge choice of wonderful tables to sit at whether you want formal dining or relaxed Gastro-pub style, The staff are wonderfully welcoming and extremely efficient.

When we sat down, we thought this place must have a weakness, maybe its the food, maybe its the service, but no, we just could not find anything to fault this place. It was a warm night and a door was open so there was the odd small fly, but it really didn't detract from the wonderful atmosphere and quality wine and food. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here, maybe it was a one off, but we will definitely be back to sample some more and give some more reviews

We paid £30 for two steaks and a bottle of wine, how good value is that (on a wednesday night)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    139
    96
    84
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Pleasant countryside setting”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a fab restaurant. There was lots of seating in or out, and we arrived early evening so missed the very busy spell after 2000. There is outside seating front and back and inside it was clean and light and making a very nice experience. Impressed at the prices given we had the two course for £12 service was quick, and the waiter charming. V v impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing anniversary meal!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Decided to dine here as we were contemplating booking for xmas, and boy! we are so glad we tried it out before booking! first served tepid soup, then had to wait at least an hour for the mains. It gets better! Roast was accompanied with the string ties still attached to the Pork, Roast potatoes were hardly roasted more like boiled. Beef had a long hair as an accompaniment. To top this all and what was the icing on the cake, after we mentioned this to the waitress, we were given a derisory £1.50 deducted from the £110.00 meal!!!! Needless to say, they will not be receiving our custom this christmas

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
“50th Birthday 'do' at the Red Lion”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having read other reviews we were slightly apprehensive, however my twin sister & I booked an area of the pub for about 40 people for a little celebration of our BIG Birthday. It was fabulous! Beautiful decor, a lovely warm welcome, bubbly given out on arrival, excellent buffet-style food (in fact, I'm still receiving compliments on the food and venue from our guests), and the staff were very accommodating of our wishes. So pleased, we went back the next day for lunch. We would thoroughly recommend The Red Lion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 422Bambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, lovely location, lovely staff, lovely food just shame there wasnt more of it!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went here with a relative who lives in Cambridge.
The location is lovely, Grantchester is a lovely village, well worth a visit.
Staff very welcoming and friendly.
We sat outside on the terrace as it was a nice evening, waitress very friendly and very attentive towards our 6 year old daughter, nothing was a problem.
Food looked and tasted lovely, but there wasn't enough of it.

Would definitely visit again but order a starter this time!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
 
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing