We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Rupert Brooke

The Rupert Brooke
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 10/18
8:00 PM
Price range: $18 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Revitalised and reopened in October 2014, The Rupert Brooke is now a stylish pub and restaurant to be found in the pretty Cambridgeshire village of Grantchester, nestled alongside the river Cam, close to the centre of Cambridge. The Rupert Brooke is all about serving excellent food and drink. We use local produce and suppliers wherever possible and change our menus regularly to reflect seasonal changes and culinary inspiration of the kitchen. The Rupert Brooke is run by a team with a true passion for what they do - giving their visitors, tourists and locals alike, a truly enjoyable eating and drinking experience.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we walked through the door we were really impressed- stylish, tasteful decor and very welcoming staff. Not usually a gin drinker, but tempted by the gin menu- & we may be converts! We all ordered the roast beef & it was honestly the best we have had anywhere- everything faultless- best roasts potatoes,good Yorkshire pud and vegetables not over- cooked, as often happens. Service impeccable- thank you so much- we will definitely return (& thank you also for being patient with the fact we had 4 month old baby with us)x

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank georgeHertsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 480 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2019

We live locally and have seen the Rupert Brooke up-market itself. We took a friend and sat near the kitchen end. It was pretty off putting to see flies landing on the food waiting at the pass, and being dive bombed throughout our meal by one persistent fly.
From the rather limited menu we chose the veal Milanese, which turned out to be overly huge, rather tough and dry. The coffee machine “was broken” and the cafetière offered was also broken ie ceased up and took the waitress leaning on it to push the plunger down (and the coffee all over the table).
£100 for three of us with no wine. All in all an experience not to be repeated.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Absolutely brilliant meal here last night!! Came with my parents and sister and not a bad word could be said, highly recommended, great food and service!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Dolman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

On our Sunday Lunch visit to meet friends and having travelled down from Norwich and looking forward to this highly recommended restaurant.
I in particular received my main meal and it was not hot enough and would have thought the chef would have got this right especially as the place was not full . my other friends also commented on this on certain parts of the food but decided to carry on eating . The Yorkshire puddings were also overcooked and very crispy . If this restaurant was in Norwich it would not last very long if that's how they serve food.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank penetrated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

We used to visit this restaurant regularly as the food was superb, but on our last visit it definitely wasn’t up to standard. I had the pork escalope and it was bland and tough, and the sides it came with were very limited. The mousse I also had for dessert was tasteless. I’m not sure whether there is a new chef, but they should address the food quality in there now before people stop visiting. You can get a better meal at a cheaper cost elsewhere in the area.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Worldviews64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rupert Brooke also viewed

Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
 
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Rupert Brooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing