We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best duck in England”

Kings Head Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kings Head Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Ivinghoe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $163
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best duck in England”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is one of the few restaurants that serves real Aylesbury Duck - the best in the country - so we pre-ordered to ensure there would be one and a half ready for the three of us. We chose our starters while drinking a gin and tonic sat in the smaller lounge with the huge open fire. Minature croissants filled with salmon kept us happy until Rocco moved us into the dining room to our preferred table in the corner.
The first course of scallops and crispy pork was a delight matched by the home baked bread and kitchen churned butter. Apple and calvados sorbet prepared us for the duck and as usual it pleased me immensely. Eating in China taught me the skin was the best part but Aylesbury Duck is special and the meat was magnificent.
This restaurant has kept all the good things of old fashioned english cooking and what is more nostalgic than a sweet trolley ? Damn health and safety, food hygiene officers etc various sweet delights wheeled in front of you are a joy to behold.
The kings Head may not be perfect ( there is no espresso just very good continous black coffee) but it is close. Ambience, service, food,wine list and location are all perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    99
    40
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First class experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The last visit was to celebrate New Year. The ambience was terrific,a fully booked event. The food was up to the usual high standard. The restaurant ws decorated for the event and so were the tables. The staff are very highly trained and consider your every need.George was in attendance as usual keeping a close eye on every detail. A good DJ created the perfect atmosphere and a good evening was enjoyed by all. Although the price of the drinks does increase the bill somewhat I would definitely hope to go again next year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiltonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were taken by dear friends as a New Year treat, they had been before and were impressed. Expecting canapes with the aperitif we were presented with a dish of dry salted mini crackers. Starters on the whole ok, scallops were the best, but the oxtail was unpleasantly salty. We had the lamb, duck between 2 and a fillet of beef, the duck was dry, lamb and beef ok although the green garnish under the lamb had been boiled to death. Desserts were delicious. Sadly no espresso available. Overall a pleasant place, the maitre George and the very young waiters were charming and helpful.
Our friends were disappointed with the food, I cant see us going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trudytheconjurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must for Gourmets”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Been here with family for Christmas lunch and it was just excellent.
The starter (Scallops) were delicious and so was the main course (Duck).
Wines and service were also great and professional.

The only minus is the reception and cloak room area which is not very welcoming. For an high class restaurant you expect more chic.

The food/service can easily keep up with the "Fat Duck" a must go for Gourmets!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelguide08186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, good value”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A group of us went to the restaurant for a Christmas meal. We were not disappointed. Home made canapés, butter and bread to start. Service and food was superb. What a fantastic selection of desserts! Can,t wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head Restaurant also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Mentmore, Aylesbury Vale
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Weston Turville, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Kings Head Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing