We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short family break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ben Lawers

Ben Lawers
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben Lawers
Sunset from Ben Lawers Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Ben Lawers
Sunset from Ben Lawers
Living area
Bedroom 1
The log cabins
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Elgin main square
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ash7Scotl...
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Log cabin”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely location & beautiful views, very peaceful. Buckie only 5 minutes away.
Ideal for couples a little small for a family of 4
Booked to visit family in Buckie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you very much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevmack5
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short family break”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cabin is siuated in a beautiful spot over looking the coast. It is clean and spacious enough for a family of 4 to run around in and Everything you need is provided. The only minor thing that lets it down is the shower, but if your not in a rush the bath works perfectly well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay.
We would love to see you come back and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailorboy...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Much smaaler than expected”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cabin was much smaller than we had expected and as the weather was bad we spent quite a lot of the holiday in the cabin. The raised thresholds at each door are a trip hazard especially as it is quite dark in the cabin. The sofa was uncomfortable and the tiny television made viewing difficult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The noise from the building work next door.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
Hi sailorboy99
So sorry you found it smaller than expected. We try to show the size using photos and a diagram.
We took over the cabins last year and are in the process of upgrading. The sofa is on the list!
We will look at your other comments to see what we can do.
Best wishes

The Forbes family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenq
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cabin in Lovely Location”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the Ben Lawers over the Easter weekend, arrived on the Friday night, very easy to find. First thing you will notice is the great views over the moray, we arrived at dark so when we seen these in the morning they were even more spectacular. The cabin itself has everything you would need its like a home from home, they even have wifi which was a surprise but always comes in handy. The only think i think that could make these better would be a wood burner although not sure if that would be possible as the whole thing is made of wood. The location is great you are still only about a 5 minute drive from Buckie which has a Tesco and loads of other shops, plus if you like your whiskey distilleries there are loads on your doorstep. Overall we would happily book here again. Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: Couch in living room area a bit uncomfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thanks for your positive review. It is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie761...
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect Retreat!”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ben Lawers had all the comforts of home and attention to detail. The views from the porch were breath taking! The cabin was comfy and clean and welcoming. It was convenient for exploring the Moray area. Local Buckie take out delivered to the cabin which was great. I would highly recommend Maryhill Log Cabins!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Privacy
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Thank you for a lovely review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st0rmy62
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arriving at the cabin, which is well placed on a hillside, the view was breathtaking. Was a home from home, clean, and tidy. Would love to see this place in the winter. Larger cities of Aberdeen and Inverness are not far away and I consider this place to be great for sightseeing I will return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the cabin
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveJBoyl...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cabin with amazing views over the Moray Firth”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I can't recommend this destination enough. The cabin was perfect: beautiful hillside location with an amazing view over the Moray Firth; every amenity required for a self-catering stay; cosy bedroom with super-efficient heating!

If the weather is clear then you'll be treated to some truly spectacular sunsets over the firth.

The lambs in the field in front of the cabin were very cute, too.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing