We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ben Vorlich

Ben Vorlich
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben Vorlich
Living area Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Ben Vorlich
Living area
Bedroom 1
View of Moray Firth
Bedroom 2
Portgordon at sunset
Kitchen
Bathroom
Springtime in Moray - lots of lambs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
berimar1
wick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed July 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Great time spent here with the grandchildren. Travelled around the area everyday so only really in the house morning and evening. Plenty to see and do in the area with all the beaches and museums to go to. The house had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Only down side was that the kitchen could do with an extractor fan of some sort in it. We cooked breakfast and evening meals in it so it got a little warm and cloudy in there. But all in all we would say it was a great stay.
Thanks to the owner and cleaner for making it a very pleasant stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to respond. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed December 29, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The cabin sits high above the town of Buckie with stunning views over Spey bay. The cabin is comfortable and well equipped and even when it was minus 4 we managed to stay snug inside.

There is no pub or restaurant nearby, very thin pickings in Buckie and the nearest good pub is the three Kings in Cullen. There is a large Tesco at the bottom of the hill so stock up and settle in for a good night.

The only negatives are the low pressure shower and in icy weather the track and road can be slippy, it is northern Scotland after all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2017
Hi, thanks very much for the review. The water pressure is because of the private water supply for which there is no simple solution.
I do hope that you could see your way to return one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Hi

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our cabins and ALL your comments have been noted.

I do hope that we may see your friends and family back again.
Stuart Forbes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
1 review
“Log Cabin”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great log cabin fully equipped , lots of room. Beautiful views . Only dissapointment was poor shower , no pressure. Otherwise great location .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review.
As the water comes from a private spring and the cabins are quite high on the hill, there is very little pressure to be had in the shower.
I do hope that you can come again.
I personally stayed there last week and agree with your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thank you very much for your positive review.
I do hope that we will see you back to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
demonice
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well below par”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely rural location but sadly that's where the compliments stop ... Sadly there was no mention of the construction next to the lodge which started early AM and the allotted space for parking is inadequate for heavy vehicles if it's damp or wet.

The legend itself is sufficiently furnished but lacking upkeep, the bed in one of the rooms was missing a few spars while the sofa looked & felt past its best.

The worst bit by far was cleanliness .... Shower head was wrapped in hairs, cooker & worktops very sticky of grease, oven badly needing cleaned & half eaten food still in the cupboards!! The views were quite nice though from the decking, not so much from inside as the windows were really crying out for a clean!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
Hi Demonice
I am so sorry you had difficulties.
If you can contact us with details of the dates of the booking we can try to sort out what went wrong: in particular, the cabin should have been spotless.

Best wishes

The Forbes family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian g
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved it”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

what a nice surprise when we arrived great views lovely place to stay a real home from home good value for money with wild life on your door

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Thank you Ian - we're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing