We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pretty cafe with excellent service & food good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockpool Cafe

Rockpool Cafe
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Buckie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pretty cafe with excellent service & food good value for money”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have visited this cafe several times recently over the last two months and have recommended it to friends good quality food friendly service very clean and pretty surroundings

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DORIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review, We are really glad you enjoy coming to Rockpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    53
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are ever in the area I recommend that you visit the Rockpool cafe and I guarantee you will not be disappointed. I traveled with friends to visit this lovely cafe, The decor and atmosphere was lovely and the service was very friendly and inviting. The menu and specials board gave us such a variety to choose from and we were not disappointed with our choices.
The home made cupcakes all looked delicious so not only did we have some for pudding we also had to purchase some to take home. ( my favourates were the millionaire shortbread and the carrot cake cupcakes).
I will definitely be spreading the word about this fabulous cafe and am already planning my return visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a great review. Gad you enjoyed your time at Rockpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We cannot recommend this place enough!
The decor & atmosphere are lovely and the food cannot be faulted in any way.
We have eaten breakfast, lunch & dinner here and all have been a high standard.

Cooked breakfast/breakfast rolls are delicious. There is a good choice of lunch options on the menu not to mention the various different specials that change regularly - we have always been delighted with our choices. The homebakes are also well worth trying.
Most recently we went to the Valentines bistro night, this was nothing short of amazing. We took a bit of a risk in picking foods we wouldn't necessarily usually eat however we were not disappointed. The food (&table!) were presented beautifully & everything was full of flavour.

We are lucky that we live locally but can understand why people travel from further afield to visit. If ever passing that way don't pass the door - go in! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kikibee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for posting such a great review on Rockpool. we greatly appreciate you taking the time to do this and such positive feedback is fantastic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Really great place to eat -lunch or a quick tea and cake -can't recommend it enough,delicious homemade food and well worth a trip to this lovely town.The sticky toffee cupcake is fabulous!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review on Rockpool, really glad you enjoyed it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Fish for Miles......”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a real find, its not big and best to book ahead. Set in the Square of pretty Cullen this is the perfect place to stop for lunch or a coffee. You just have to try the fish; they serve the best fresh Scottish haddock, chips and mushy peas on 'newspaper', a lovely touch. There's always specials on the go (seafood and meat dishes). You must try the famous Cullen Skink, its delicious but unless you're ravenous just take a small bowl. The place is friendly, very clean and well ordered and good value. The menu is not extensive and is all freshly prepared and beautifully presented. The premises date back many years, its on two levels and has unusual large old curved windows; if the weather's cold keep and extra layer on just in case you're near the door.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Rockpool cafe, your feedback is extremely helpful and appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rockpool Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing