We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Food”
Review of Rockpool Cafe

Rockpool Cafe
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Buckie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Was at Rockpool Cafe tonight for a Christmas meal - the food was lovely - every time we are there we cannot fault the food. If you haven't tried it - book a meal for Christmas

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it greatly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 410 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Rockpool is a creatively designed cafe that sets it apart from the usual more staid eateries in the North East. The surroundings seem to have a benign effect on the customers. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about their produce and the food, drink and service are excellent. I usually enjoy my coffee looking out on life passing by in Cullen Square with the occasional glance up to the sign on the wall that reminds me that 'Life is Good'. It always feels good when I am in the Rockpool. Hats off to all the team on a successful first year in business. Please consider opening on Mondays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pierce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

thank you for taking the time to post a review, customer feedback is so important to us and we are really glad you enjoy eating with us.
With regards to opening on Mondays, we are asked a lot about this but the demands of the business cause us to work extremely long hours 6 days and often nights a week and, with a family and a little boy, having one day off is so important to us.
thank you again for your loyal custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a week in Cullen in the October holidays with our children aged 11 and 9. Had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Rockpool over the week. Every time the food, people, service etc. was first class. Highlight was the themed dinner at the weekend. Unknown to us they had made up party boxes for the kids as it was Halloween, this really made the meal special before we had even started, especially as our daughters birthday is actually on Halloween. The food, wine and service on the night was out of this world and far, far better than you would expect. Would highly recommend whether you want a quick bite for breakfast or a very special meal.

Thank TheNursesCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a great review. we greatly appreciate feedback from our customers and its lovely to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your experience with us.
Hope to see you again if you are back up on holiday.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have holidayed in Moray Firth for many years and struggled to find good lunch venues. This cafe was an excellent find with delicious food. We enjoyed dressed crab with herb mayonnaise and new potatoes; smoked fish platter, traditional fish and chips. Food was nicely presented. Will definately return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RosieCFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

thanks very much for your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We read trip advisor reviews and chose this cafe for lunch recently. The Cullen Skink was delicious and almost a meal in itself. The main course choices are generous portions so I didn't manage all the chips that came with my scampi; I think I made a bad choice of main, the scampi reduced my score to 4 from 5 because I found it a bit bready. My other half tucked into battered fish and really enjoyed it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieCullen, Owner at Rockpool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to post a review on Rockpool. Glad you enjoyed lunch and apologies that the scampi was not to your liking. Although we havent had any other comments about our scampi, we have in fact recently changed our supplier. still local but from Fraserburgh. Hope you will visit again and try some of our other menu choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rockpool Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing