We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property
The cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage
The harbour The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The cottage
The harbour
The lounge
The double bedroom
The lounge with well stocked book case
The kitchen with door leading to the shower room
The kitchen with seating for four
The bathroom
The lounge with gas effect log burner
The double bedroom
The twin room with two single beds
Sunset at the harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
Picturesque Findochty harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
Overlooking Findochty from the war memorial
The small beach by the cottage, called the Crooked Hythe
The beach a short walk from the cottage
Aerial view of Findochty harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
The quirky colourful houses of Findochty  ©Paul Brown Photography
Findochty
The Crooked Hythe in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PaulaCamb...
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage in a very pretty village. We had excellent service from Clare and Steve when we were arranging our holiday and arrived in Findochty to find a beautifully presented, clean and comfortable house.
The cottage is just across the road from the beach, and you can walk for miles along the coast line - it's a beautiful, quiet and unspoilt part of the world. I would say you would need a car though to make the most of the area, and to get to some bigger shops ( although there is a small store in the village for the essentials ).
The cottage has everything you could want and was very cosy, just the right size for the four of us. A really nice touch was that the central heating had been set to come on a couple of times a day. We didn't need it as it wasn't cold at all while we were there, but it was lovely to get up to warm towels in the morning.
We weren't lucky enough to see any dolphins while we were there, although they had been spotted the week before. We hope to go back Findochty again soon so fingers crossed for next time. A visit to this coastline is highly recommended, as is a stay in this cottage in Duke Street.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfy home from home”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Fabulous wee cottage in a lovely location near two sandy beaches and great coast walks. Clare & Steve have provided all sorts of little extras that really make staying at Duke Street a home from home. The welcome pack is outstanding! The cottage is small but adequate and was fine for me, my husband and our 25 year old daughter. The only slight downside is the downstairs toilet but it's not a big problem. The decor is lovely and the cottage was beautifully clean. There is a great selection of books and wifi is available (essential nowadays!) though mobile phone signals were variable to say the least! A car is vital. If we go back to this area in future we will definitely stay at this cottage again. Thank you for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely quiet location
Liked least: Downstairs toilet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNinFife
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Had a great holiday in a home from home cottage. Everything has been thought of for a wonderful stay. Location is great for the beach and lots of coastal walks. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fisher196...
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Just the best”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This really is just the highlight of our trip so far. We have been renting self contained apartments, houses and had farm stays for the last 9 weeks, one a week. It was clean, bright, airy and has everything we needed and so much more. We loved coming home to the house everyday. The location was great and so peaceful. All we needed for a wonderful stay was at hand. We will be back for sure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazBroon
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Fantastic holiday cottage in a lovely little village, cottage situated with a beach at one end of the road 2 min walk and a small cove at the other end almost on the door step this was great for walking our wee dog.
The cottage itself is warm, cosy with beautiful furnishings, bedrooms are lovely and double room is very comfortable, it's immaculately clean throughout.
The cottage has everything you could possibly need while on holiday, booking process very easy.
Findochty is lovely with a well stocked shop, village pub, very friendly people, great coastal walks straight from the cottage. We would return, highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela s
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Honeymoon with a difference!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After our last visit to this exquisite holiday cottage, my partner and I decided to marry. Almost exactly 52 weeks later we returned as husband and wife. Clare and Steve bowled us over with their very kind and thoughtful welcome back (home) gestures. We found flowers, gifts and my favourite 'fizzy juice' waiting for us. This in addition to the usual getting started pack of bacon, eggs, bread etc.
The cottage itself was as pristine as ever and even boasted a fresh coat of paint in the kitchen. The bedding, towels etc were spotless and plentiful. We were able to cook some fabulous meals in the well stocked kitchen. With the dishwasher taking the pain out of the clear up!
It's was a different kind of honeymoon though as we were accompanied by our two little granddaughters.
The holiday cottage is ideally situated for visits to a multitude of superb beaches. Sandend and Cullen beings two of the best.
We were also blessed to see dolphins on 5 of our 7 days!!!
We will definitely be returning again next year - 4 in a row!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent value for money plus location.
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBERT T
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great wee cottage - ideal holiday house”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A lovely wee cottage, very well presented, decor and finishing excellent. The owners have done everything you could reasonably think of to make your stay enjoyable. A very nice welcome pack of eggs, bacon, bread, milk etc and the fresh bunch of flowers was a nice touch. The booking was easy and the owners kept us well advised throughout , friendly.
Parking outside the cottage. Village typical former fishing village - we had a nice meal at the Admiral pub and from the fish van (thursdays), good small supermarket and also a post office. A very good choice of golf courses nearby and lovely coastal walks. We had a very enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing