We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great wee cottage - ideal holiday house”
other travelers have booked this property
The cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage
The harbour The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The cottage
The harbour
The lounge
The double bedroom
The lounge with well stocked book case
The kitchen with door leading to the shower room
The kitchen with seating for four
The bathroom
The lounge with gas effect log burner
The double bedroom
The twin room with two single beds
Sunset at the harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
Picturesque Findochty harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
Overlooking Findochty from the war memorial
The small beach by the cottage, called the Crooked Hythe
The beach a short walk from the cottage
Aerial view of Findochty harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
The quirky colourful houses of Findochty  ©Paul Brown Photography
Findochty
The Crooked Hythe in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ROBERT T
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great wee cottage - ideal holiday house”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A lovely wee cottage, very well presented, decor and finishing excellent. The owners have done everything you could reasonably think of to make your stay enjoyable. A very nice welcome pack of eggs, bacon, bread, milk etc and the fresh bunch of flowers was a nice touch. The booking was easy and the owners kept us well advised throughout , friendly.
Parking outside the cottage. Village typical former fishing village - we had a nice meal at the Admiral pub and from the fish van (thursdays), good small supermarket and also a post office. A very good choice of golf courses nearby and lovely coastal walks. We had a very enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsandbo...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Efficient and professional admin from the owners made the booking process very easy. Information and directions were first class as we had not been in the area before. The cottage has been presented to a very high standard with a great attention to detail in the furnishings, fixtures and nicknacks which run with the 'sea/beach' theme. Good welcome pack and all household goods supplied. The accomodation layout is quirky due to the original Cottage and if there was a niggle it would be the need to walk through the kitchen to get to the toilet and shower. That said it did not detract from our enjoyment of the property in a winters week when the central heating and gas burner fire were greatly received. There is a great open space to the rear furnished with table, chairs and barbacue for the summer months. The locals are very friendly and The Admiral Hotel in the harbour serves great food. Great scenery and beaches all along the coast to satisfy families with children. Step back in time in this quaint harbour village and you won't be disappointed. We would highly recommend to our friends and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: immaculate condition and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi624
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday house!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were very pleased to arrive at such a beautifully renovated home away from home! The welcoming package of a few groceries and necessities was perfect. This was part 2 of our Scotland holiday and it was a lovely little place in a quiet and beautiful part of the country. Clare and Steve stopped in mid-week to make sure everything was OK and it was great to meet them and share some travel stories, as we had only corresponded by e-mail (from Canada). Loved every minute and would happily go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We enjoyed sitting on the little terrace patio where it was very private and peaceful.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela s
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A perfect, romantic hideaway!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We visited Findochty for a second time this summer. Once again we were struck by the high standard of care and attention paid throughout the cottage. Clare and Steve cater for your every need. From chilled wine in the fridge to towels for the beach!
Gerry and I spend a lot of time visiting Historic Scotland sites. We used the cottage as a base, visiting a new place of interest every day. Duff House is a must for a visit.
Our evenings were spent over quiet romantic meals. Some in local restaurants. Others cooked in the cottage's well equipped kitchen. (Great M&S in Elgin)
Spending time away in Findochty is always a truly magical experience. This time was extra special. The combination of peace and quiet and romantic moments led to our decision to marry as we left the cottage. We have already booked our return for next summer. This time for our Honeymoon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The romantic setting.
Liked least: Nothing negative to report!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathMille...
Wishaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another fantastic week!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How fast a year goes, but here we are back at Findochty Holiday Cottage for another fantastic holiday by the sea.
Waking up to the sound of the sea can do nothing else but make you kick back and relax, and that's what we did in the comfort of the best wee cottage on the East coast !
The cottage offers all the comfort and facilities you could need and has maintained it's quality and style. We will definitely be back and I would recommend this cottage and area to all my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility.
Liked least: The cloudy days!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGail D
Banknock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY COTTAGE”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I went to this stunning little cottage with my husband and our 12 year old daughter,we really could not have asked for a better holiday home,the welcome package on arrival was fantastic and very much enjoyed.
Right outside to the left of the cottage is a little beach where we spent many evenings with a bottle of wine watching for the dolphins,which we did see :),and to the right is another beach.
There was all you could ask for and more in this cottage,and we had a good few barbeques in the garden as we had fantastic weather,there are lots to do in the area and surrounding area's.
It is so good we are going to book a weeks surprise for my dads 60th birthday,and we will be returning ourself's next year.
We all loved this little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything,it was just perfect!
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwood2012
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic break in historic fishing village, accommodation perfect”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Look left, from the front door to the end of the street, and you see the sea.

Look right, to the other end, and you see the sea.

Directly opposite is another short quiet street ... and beyond that, the sea.

Rugged coastline is just yards away from this cottage, and if that's your thing then you really could not find a better spot.

We came here for a week's holiday, and also to catch up with family (we have roots in Findochty and Buckie so we know the area pretty well). The cottage looked great online but somehow, it was even better when we stepped inside - homely, comfortable, clean and perfectly finished, plus a very thoughtful welcome pack from the owners. Everything was taken care of, and that meant we could relax and enjoy our break! We felt lucky to have found it .

Findochty itself is a historic fishing village with a harbour, winding streets, a small convenience shop, a pub and Strathlene golf course right next door. You can get straight onto the coastal path and I recommend the walk to Portknockie and then on to Cullen. We enjoyed it, and the views - including Bow Fiddle Rock - are ace.

Best attractions? Well, the rocks score very highly if you want to watch the sea and all its moods (like us), or you have a young boy who wants to clamber (like our 7-year-old). The Whale and Dolphin Centre in Spey Bay is worth a trip, and you shouldn't leave without trying some fresh fish - go to Eat Mair Fish by the harbour in Buckie, and the Codfather (yes, really) fish and chip van when it comes to Findochty.

We can't recommend this holiday cottage highly enough. Clare and Steve are very friendly and we think they've thought of everything. When we go back to that part of Scotland, we'd love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: layout of cottage, location of cottage
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing