We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday at a lovely Gite.”
other travelers have booked this property
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2 Cosy bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
191 reviews
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2
Cosy bedroom
Stylish Gite
Modern Bathrooms with a twist
Secret Garden Cottage twin room - Time for bed
Another lovely bedroom
Private dining
Nearby Grottes - Stunning
Short stroll to the boulangerie in Ferrals
Nearby Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ferrals-les-Corbieres, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 191 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Kieran S
2 reviews
“Lovely holiday at a lovely Gite.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in one of the upper gites with a family we traveled with in the other. We had an absolutely fantastic experience all week. The host had extensive local knowledge and made us feel welcome whilst giving us the space to enjoy ourselves. We enjoyed some of her many recommendations including the beautiful town of Lagrasse , river swimming (and picnic), kayaking and great local restaurants (which she booked for us!)

The gites are absolutely lovely, with privacy being maintained by the surrounding wall and trees, which made it ideal for us with a travelling party of two families as we could enjoy the swimming pool and grounds securely.

There were a number of little touches that enhanced experience, like wi-fi, beach towels provided for the swimming pool, and the loan of bucket and spade for the beach.

Overall a fantastic holiday in a wonderful location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure and comfortable gites.
Liked least: Really can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thank you Kieran et al... Lovely to meet you all and look forward to meeting you all again one day xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittycatf...
Charente-Maritime, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All round brilliant time, great host and wonderful accommodation x”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had such a wonderful time at Maison de la Roche - not only was the accommodation really welcoming, stylish decorated and full of everything you need - but Honor was a fabulous host - welcoming, open and full of good local knowledge of where to go and what to see. We very much enjoyed a day at Ribaute, a quick trip to Carcassonne and Narbonne and dinner out and about in the local villages. Lazy time by the pool was also fabulous. Book swap, toys for younger children, pool accessories, BBQ's and even picnic baskets are all provided for you to make your stay easy and totally relaxed. Highly recommend to all. The family dog Bob was a huge hit, very gentle and friendly x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review . It was lovely to meet you and look forward to you coming back!! xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillihah...
Derby,UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“2 weeks was not enough”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We've had lots of great holidays in France but this year's trip was outstanding, thanks to our wonderful gite accommodation - Maison de la Roche - owned and run by the lovely Honor.

Situated between Carcassonne and Narbonne, you've got lovely places to visit, easy access to the coast, fascinating heritage sites nearby and the beautiful countryside of Cathar Country to enjoy plus great wine, delicious food and a good chance of great weather. We enjoyed the lot! However, coming "home" each day to Maison de la Roche was a pleasure in itself. In fact, some days we didn't even bother going out at all! The three gites have been attractively designed and furnished, they are well appointed and very comfortable. In the unlikely event that something you need is missing from the gite, Honor will lend you her own (eg we fancied using a cafetiere rather than the gite's coffee machine so Honor gave us hers to use for the duration of our stay). All the gites are spacious and airey. We stayed in Upper Gite 2 and had the added enjoyment of the lovely view across to the hills.

The outdoor facilities are fabulous, with the pool area being the highlight. It's in a lovely position where both sun and shade is achieved throughout the day, so anyone can enjoy relaxing there. Great seating areas throughout the rest of the garden mean that you can find peace and quiet even if the pool is in use by noisy children!

Children are very welcome at Maison de la Roche, it's very safe and enclosed - rather like a beautiful, private oasis to be discovered behind the high walls and gates that enclose the grounds. There are lots of play things for them to enjoy while the adults relax. We were lucky enough to enjoy the company of the two families staying in the other gites during our 2 week stay. The old adage of "arrive as strangers, leave as friends" certainly held true. Honor organised a fabulous wine-tasting and tapas evening for all the adults one evening which was brilliant fun and definitely contributed to the sociability we enjoyed at MdlR.

I liked Honor from the moment I spoke to her on the phone when I was considering making the reservation. To be honest, after that first phone call, I wasn't going to book anywhere else! She's friendly, approachable, helpful and a mine of information about the local area, restaurants etc. And she's a terrific on-site presence at MdlR as it's also her home. I wish I lived there. 2 weeks was far too short!

All in all, I can't recommend this place highly enough. Summer 2016 - it was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Gosh how lovely of you to write this..I am very touched. Thank you and I am so glad you made the most of everything but after all that the wine tour day and the cooking day ..I hope you have left something to come back for !! xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwalters1...
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a week with our 8 and 5 year old, and what a treat. The accommodation was fantastic, and the location perfect for a mixture of sight seeing at major towns (Carcassone) as well as visiting the many picturesque towns and villages in the region. We would highly recommend for families willing to travel round the region.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you Graham and Abigail for choosing MdlR for your holidays. The children were missed by their new best friends!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeM32
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had an excellent week at Maison De La Roche, in Gite 2, with our two children (7 and 4). Honor is very helpful and a fantastic source of information on the best places to go. We loved La Voile Blanche beach club at Gruissan, river swimming at Ribaute, driving through gorgeous empty countryside to places like Arques and Rennes-Le-Chateau, and a fun night out at Chez Bembe in the village. The pool was a bit cold at first but heated up, and lovely spot to hang out by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thanks Diane it was lovely to meet you all. And glad you enjoyed the recommendations. Enjoy your second week
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
506kirsty...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place to visit.”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our first ever holiday and we couldn't have picked a better place for it, Our gite provided us with a home away from home, being well equipped with everything we could possibly need as well as being spacious enough to more than comfortably house our family (with two very large teens).

Honor, our host, had an immense knowledge of the local area, and was on hand to advise us of local eateries and fabulous places to visit. We just couldn't fit it all in a week and we will be back to add more memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Loved having you and can't wait to see you again next year? Got some more to show you!! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely gite in beautiful area”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a week at Maison de la Roche. Honor was a lovely host. There when you needed get with lots of suggestions of where to eat and what to do (all excellent). She is determined to help you have a good time. The gite we stayed in was well equipped and comfortable. We did not have to bring anything. There was a cool bag and things for picnics, she supplied bath and beach towels and having Sky TV impressed our boys. You need a car but most things are nearby ie the beaches, Carcassone and Narbonne. We also went kayaking and visited Montpellier. We had a great holiday and if we return to the area would book to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely peaceful surroundings.
Liked least: The stairs up to the gite were steep
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you Patricia it was a delight to have you and meet your charming family . Look forward to welcoming you back one day soon . Honor xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing