We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven amongst vineyards”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Maison de la Roche
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Maison de la Roche
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden Sightseeing or Relaxing today. You decide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
178 reviews
Welcome to Maison de la Roche
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Sightseeing or Relaxing today. You decide
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2
Cosy bedroom
Stylish Gite
Ok Relaxing it is then
Modern Bathrooms with a twist
Secret Garden Cottage twin room - Time for bed
Another lovely bedroom
Private dining
Nearby Grottes - Stunning
Short stroll to the boulangerie in Ferrals
Nearby Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ferrals-les-Corbieres, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 178 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
SaraD1980...
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A haven amongst vineyards”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Maison de la Roche was a welcoming and beautifully designed holiday destination. Four of us stayed in Secret Garden Cottage and loved the simple, open plan downstairs layout complete with stunning lampshades and curvaceous central staircase! Upstairs we had 2 bedrooms of a good size with adequate storage and our two girls (10 and 13) appreciated their quirky porthole window and Cath Kidston-style bed linen!
The pool area was really tranquil with comfy sun beds and made for easy friend-making with other guest families. There was also plenty of space to run around and play in a totally enclosed, safe environment (good for small children).
Ferrals itself as a village was pretty quiet and not at all touristy. But it did have a trustworthy shop and an exotic sounding restaurant that other guests tried on a number of occasions. Honor and her family were really helpful in helping us decide where to go and what to see and that arrival pack of bread, milk, cheese and wine was a god-send!
A highlight of our week was a wine tasting literally a few steps from the front door. Honor arranged for a local Master of Wine to take us through 8 local wines which resulted in chasing down 2 vineyards over the next few days!
All in all gorgeous accommodation in a perfect position to explore all that the Languedoc has to offer. I'm sure we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation
Liked least: Surrounding village
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie A
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Relaxing Break”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful holiday! We were absolutely exhausted after just moving house, not to mention a Summer of rain in England and really looking forward to our stay. We were not disappointed this place is heaven! We stayed in the secret garden gite which was gorgeous and equipped with absolutely everything needed and lots of litte extra touches. The gite is immaculate and the outdoor area with BBQ was fabulous for the evenings . The surrounding area is beautiful and we ate at fabulous restaurants recommended by Honor. Carcassonne Cite is amazing, so atmospheric, an absolute must! My daughters loved playing in the pool with Holly and we loved the massage arranged by Honor, Karen the masseur is brilliant really got our back's moving again! We will definitely be coming back, just wish it was next week!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisoneas...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything I expected of a French gite, just perfect.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I can thoroughly recommend this place. Situated in a lovely little village where the locals never passed you by without saying hello. We stayed in the secret garden gite which was beautifully presented and very well equipped. Also had own little outdoor sitting space, so idillic at night. The main courtyard and pool area also lovely. Felt very secure with the electric operated entrance gates. Then we get to the owners! Couldn't have asked for nicer family. Nothing was a problem and eager to organise events to make your stay even more enjoyable. Definitely hope to return sometime soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances S
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Honor and Simon were wonderful hosts and we were made to feel very welcome with our toddler daughter.
We stayed in the Secret Garden Cottage which has a lovely private terrace with a barbecue adjoining the Secret Garden, perfect for summer evenings. The cottage is extremely comfortable and clean with an amazing bathroom with a family sized shower! The main bedroom is a good size with a very comfortable bed as is the twin room. The building has been very sympathetically renovated and the furniture is comfortable as well as attractive.
If you are travelling with children the property is great in that there is a pool and trampoline for them. Once the main gates are closed you can also relax knowing that they can't escape! There are also lots of toys in the playroom for kids to use. If you have a toddler though the apartments available at Maison de la Roche would probably be more suitable as the stairs at the Secret Garden Cottage are very steep.
We really enjoyed the wine tasting which gave a great overview of local wines, just a shame I couldn't remember much the next morning...... It was a great opportunity to meet other guests as well.
The surrounding area is marvellous because there really is something for everyone; castles, beaches, cycling, walking, Canal du Midi, markets, medieval towns and villages, and great restaurants if all the sightseeing makes you hungry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: The lack of dishwasher - but I am quite lazy.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthersSe...
Sevenoaks
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kid (& parent) Heaven”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Lots has already been said....all I would add is....

1. My two year old son cried all the way to the airport about having to leave 'his' holiday home. My wife wasn't looking too happy either!
2. He has talked of nothing else for a week since.
3. We're booking again for next year.

Soooooooo much better idea than a Mark Warner style 'child friendly holiday' if your idea of fun is chasing minnows in a (warm) mountain stream rather than hitting golf balls while the kids are in a club! thanks to Simon, Honor, Holly & Bob for a memorable holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona P
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break Away (a little luxury away from home..)”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Having just returned from a week at Maison De La Roche, we would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family. The beautiful Gites are decorated and maintained to a high standard giving a little touch of luxury to your stay. The very warm welcome that greets you continues throughout your stay with recommendations tailored to your family… Honor has a great knowledge of the local area and can help plan your day - we took our 2 boys to some beautiful fishing areas (along with nets and buckets handily provided, not to mention the picnic basket), beaches and also to the Cite Medieval at Carcassonne. There is so much to explore in the area that for us a week was not long enough, will definitely revisit. After a days exploring we enjoyed nothing more than a dip in the lovely pool, catching up with the guests from the other 2 Gites & Honor (and family). Some nights we ventured to out to (quite rightly) recommended restaurants, some nights we stayed and had a BBQ in the 'Secret Garden' - couldn't ask for more. We had a lovely time & thank Honor, Simon & Holly for such a fabulous holiday and look forward to returning in the very near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KizzienMa...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gite, fantastic hosts, great area, jealous much!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Maison De La Roche in July last year. The pictures looked lovely on the website and when we arrived at our gite we were not disappointed.
It's the attention to detail that made this place special (as well as fantastic hosts on hand when needed, pool toys, shopping bags, a selection of books, games & toys, washing machine etc etc). We stayed in the secret garden gite which is decorated beautifully and is well equipped with everything you need for your stay. The courtyard are is a lovely place to sit with a glass of wine in the sunshine (purchased from the very handsome man at the local vineyard). The pool is lovely, the kids spent lots of time in it while we chilled on the sun loungers. Honor & Simon were really friendly and helpful and always on hand if we needed advice/suggestions on places to visit.
We had a truly lovely week at the gite and wished we could have stayed longer as there is so much to do in the area.
We loved it so much that we have booked to go back with friends this year and recommended some other friends too who have just returned from a lovely holiday at Maison De La Roche.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing